## THE PERUVIAN INSTITUTE OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERS

A MEETING of chemical engineers was held at the "Sociedad de Ingenieros del Perú" in September, 1944. At that meeting it was decided to constitute the Peruvian Institute of Chemical Engineers. The next three months were dedicated to the study of the constitution that was to guide the destinies of the institute; using wherever possible the constitution of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Finally in December the first regular meeting was held. At that meeting the constitution was approved and it was decided that the institute should be known as Instituto Peruano de Ingenieros Químicos. Officers were nominated for the 1945–1947 period as follows:

President, Alfonso Montero.
Vice-president, Carlos Díaz-Ufano.
Secretary, Joaquín Vargas.
Treasurer, Luis Macchiavello.
Librarian, José María Cancino.

Directors, Manuel Yábar and Juan Vicente Cabrerizo.

The institute has already been incorporated under the laws of Peru, and also has been officially approved by the Peruvian Government.

The objects of the institute are to promote friendship among members of the profession; to promote the application of chemical engineering principles in the national industry; to improve methods of teaching chemical engineering; to set forth rules to guide the acts of its members; and to maintain scientific and cultural interchange with technical institutions in foreign countries.

There are four different categories of membership: Active members are graduated chemical engineers from universities of recognized standing who have their degrees registered as established by the Peruvian laws. Pre-active members are those chemical engineers who have not yet officially received their degrees, but who have completed their period of learning; a member can not hold the pre-active membership over two years. Associate members are those individuals holding the degree of industrial engineer, highly specialized in a chemical engineering field. Student members are the students of the fifth year in the "Escuela Nacional de Ingenieros."

At present there are only thirty-two members. Election for membership is not only for Peruvian citizens, but also for foreign chemical engineers holding a degree from a university of recognized standing.

JOAQUÍN VARGAS,

Secretary

## THE WORCESTER FOUNDATION FOR EXPERIMENTAL BIOLOGY

The dedication of the Shrewsbury Laboratories of the Worcester Foundation for Experimental Biology will take place at Worcester, Mass., on June 9. The ground on which the institution stands, the buildings and the equipment were purchased through funds contributed by the community of Worcester and Worcester County.

Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory, is president of the foundation. The scientific work is under the direction of Dr. Hudson Hoagland and Dr. Gregory Pincus, who is director of the laboratories. Among the trustees are Dr. Roy G. Hoskins, director of the Memorial Foundation for Neuroendocrine Research of the Harvard Medical School; Dr. William J. Crozier, professor of general physiology at Harvard University, and Dr. Wendell M. Stanley, member of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research at Princeton, N. J.

The foundation was incorporated in February, 1944, as a non-profit research and educational institution under the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Its purpose is to make investigations at the discretion of its directors in the field of the biological sciences and publish the results of these investigations in scientific and medical journals so that they become freely available to the public.

Support of the foundation is provided for by grants from other philanthropic foundations, industry, government agencies and private individuals. Foundations which have contributed to the advancement of the work of the laboratory since 1930 to the present time include the National Research Council, the Rockefeller Foundation, the National Academy of Sciences (Bache Fund), the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Permanent Science Fund), the American Philosophical Society (Penrose Fund), Child Neurology Research, the Dazian Foundation for Medical Research, the Finney-Howell Cancer Research Foundation, the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation, the Applied Research Foundation and the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. Federal funds have been given both for cancer studies and for investigations of fatigue of airplane pilots. Contributions from industries in support of the fatigue investigations have been made by the Parker Manufacturing Company and the L. Farber Company, both of Worcester, the American Optical Company of Southbridge, the Schering Corporation of Bloomfield, New Jersey, and the G. D. Searle Company of Chicago, Illinois. The Searle Company has made extensive grants in support of a variety of the foundation's activities. Research work made possible by these industrial grants are published and thus made freely available to the public.

## THE SOUTHERN BRANCH OF THE TEXAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE annual meeting of the Southern Branch of the Texas Academy of Science was held at Corpus Christi