Dr. R. R. Spencer, chief of the National Cancer Institute, presented a report on the work of the institute since the last council meeting. Two new council members, Dr. Frank E. Adair, president of the American Cancer Society, Inc., and a staff member of the Memorial Hospital for the Treatment of Cancer and Allied Diseases, and Dr. A. C. Ivy, professor of physiology at the Medical School of Northwestern University, were present for the first time in their official capacities.

Other members present were Dr. James B. Murphy, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, New York; Dr. George M. Smith, of the School of Medicine of Yale University, and Dr. Sherwood Moore, director of the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology at St. Louis.

## THE SUGAR RESEARCH FOUNDATION

THE following grants are announced by the Sugar Research Foundation, an association of growers and processors of cane and beet sugar, which is sponsoring research into new industrial and nutritional uses for sugar. Dr. Robert C. Hockett is the scientific director. The awards amount to \$45,400, bringing to the sum of more than \$300,000 the funds that the foundation has made available to science for this purpose. Those to whom the grants are made are:

Dr. Pauline B. Mack and associates of the Ellen H. Richards Institute, Pennsylvania State College, \$20,000 for one year, to measure the effect of high and low sugarcontaining diets upon the health, growth and physical condition of children.

Dr. Rachmiel Levine, director of metabolic and endocrine research at the Michael Reese Hospital, Chicago, \$7,500 for one year, to study the physiological behavior of levulose, a sugar produced by the inversion of ordinary sugar.

Professor I. L. Chaikoff, associate professor of physiology at the University of California, \$7,400 for two years, to study the protective action of sugar against cirrhosis of the liver.

The Natural Resources Research Institute of the University of Wyoming, \$4,000 for one year, to investigate utilization of pectin from the pulp of sugar beets and to study derivatives of beet pectin.

Dr. Dora Stern, literature consultant, \$4,000 for one year, to devise a system for classifying sugar derivatives, and to compile a list of new derivatives discovered since 1930.

Dr. I. M. Rabinowitch, of the Medical School of McGill University, Montreal, \$2,500 for one year, to study further the body's relative rate of absorption of sucrose, dextrose and levulose.

Members of the foundation include growers and processors of beet and cane sugar from the continental United States, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Canada and Haiti. Joseph F. Abbott, of New York, is president.

## THE EIGHTH ANNUAL AMERICAN DESIGN AWARDS LUNCHEON

AT the eighth annual American Design Awards luncheon on April 19, tribute was paid to the thousands of civilian scientific men who were mobilized for war and without whose achievements the war could not have been waged. An award of \$25,000 was presented by Walter Hoving, president of Lord and Taylor, to the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Frank B. Jewett, president of the academy, accepted the award.

Six distinguished men of science were honored individually for the great contributions they and the organizations under their leadership have made to the war effort. It was at the request of these men that the entire sum of \$25,000 was presented to the academy as the body which represents all scientific endeavor in America. They are:

Dr. Vannevar Bush, director of the Office of Scientific Research and Development.

Dr. James B. Conant, chairman of the National Defense Research Committee.

Dr. Karl T. Compton, chief of the field service for the National Defense Committee.

Dr. A. Newton Richards, chairman of the Committee for Medical Research.

Dr. Jerome C. Hunsaker, chairman of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics.

Dr. Ross G. Harrison, chairman of the National Research Council.

Tribute was also paid to Major General William F. Tompkins, director of the Special Planning Division of the War Department, and Rear Admiral Julius A. Furer, co-ordinator of research and development of the Navy Department, who insured the unbroken flow of the materials of war from the laboratories to the front lines.

Speakers at the luncheon included Undersecretary of War Robert P. Patterson, who expressed the deepfelt gratitude of the armed forces to the civilian scientists who aided in the prosecution of the war; and Dr. Karl T. Compton, president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and chairman of the Research Board for National Security, who asserted that scientific research into new weapons of warfare must continue after the war in order that American liberty shall remain secure.

Guests of honor at the luncheon included Brigadier General Georges F. Doriot, Vice Admiral Leary, Gerard Swope, Mrs. Lytle Hull, the former Nobel prize winner, Dr. Clinton J. Davisson, Harvey N. Davis, Robert J. McKim, Mrs. George B. St. George, Mrs. George F. Baker, Lieutenant General George Grunert, Mrs. Winthrop Aldrich, Thomas J. Watson, Miss Anne Morgan and William Church Osborn.