we can provide with test-tubes, centrifuges, microtomes and radiation analyzers.

May the new club have a continuing active career in the incitation of companionship in first-class scientific inquiry.

THE NATIONAL FOUNDATION FOR INFANTILE PARALYSIS

THE National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis has appropriated \$1,267,600 for the training of qualified physical therapists.

There are now only 2,500 qualified physical therapists, of whom more than half are in the Armed Forces. With earlier and more extensive use of such methods of treatment, twice the number already trained could be used for this disease alone. The program developed under the guidance of a special committee established in the field of physical therapy consists of three parts:

- \$1,107,000 for scholarships to train new physical therapists;
- (2) \$82,000 for fellowships to provide additional teachers, and
- (3) \$78,600 for general development of the field of physical therapy.

The National Foundation since it was organized in 1938 has spent more than a million dollars in the development of the fields of physical medicine and physical therapy. The new program is designed to provide urgently needed personnel.

Under the chairmanship of Dr. Irvin Abell, of Louisville, Ky., chairman of the Board of Regents of the American College of Surgeons, a special committee has been formed to assist in its development. Applications for scholarships should be made to The National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis, 120 Broadway, New York 5, N. Y.

THE PASSANO FOUNDATION AWARD

As the result of a nationwide poll among leaders in medical science, Dr. Edwin J. Cohn, professor of biochemistry at Harvard University, has been chosen as the first winner of the award of \$5,000 of the Passano Foundation. The presentation will be made on the night of May 16 at an appropriate ceremony in Osler Hall of the Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland, Baltimore.

The foundation, which was established in 1944 by the Williams and Wilkins Company, proposes to aid in any way possible the advancement of medical research, especially research that bears promise of clinical application. For the encouragement of such research the foundation has established the award as one of its activities.

Dr. Emil Novak, associate in gynecology in the Johns Hopkins University Medical School; Dr. Nicholson J. Eastman, professor of obstetrics, and Dr. George W. Corner, director of the Embryological Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, represent the medical profession on the board of directors of the foundation.

Following the presentation of the award by Edward B. Passano, chairman of the board of the Williams and Wilkins Company, Dr. Cohn will read a paper concerning the applications of his work on blood plasma to the field of clinical medicine.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. GEORGE H. SHULL, professor of botany and genetics, emeritus, of Princeton University, has received a citation of distinguished service from the New Jersey State Board of Agriculture. The award is in recognition of the discoveries which led to the development of hybrid corn and for his years of service in the science of genetics at Princeton.

THE Gold Medal of the Thomas A. Ldison Foundation for 1944 has been awarded to Dr. Murdock Equen, physician of Atlanta, for his development of the alnico magnet to remove metal objects from the stomach and lungs.

THE Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society for 1945 has been awarded to Professor Bengt Edlén, of the Observatory at Lund, Sweden, in recognition of his identification of the origin of the principal lines in the coronal spectrum.

DR. W. W. HANSEN, research engineer for the Sperry Gyroscope Company, has been awarded the Morris N. Liebmann Memorial Prize of the Institute of Radio Engineers for his work on "the application of magnetic theory to radiation, antennae, resonators and electronic bunching; and for the development of practical microwave equipment and technique."

A CERTIFICATE OF MERIT has been awarded by the U. S. Office of Censorship to Dr. M. A. Rosanoff, sometime postgraduate professor of chemistry in Clark University, "in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the nation's war effort."

PROFESSOR WILTON MARION KROGMAN, of the University of Chicago, has been elected president of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists for the coming year.

DR. J. R. DE LA TORRE-BUENO, of Tucson, Ariz., for the last thirty years editor of the publications of the Brooklyn Entomological Society, has been elected honorary president of the society. He succeeds the late William T. Davis, who was elected honorary