of Plant Pathology at Cornell University are raising a graduate student loan fund to be administered by the university. Professor Whetzel, who was always much interested in the welfare of the graduate student in science, was concerned over the inadequacy of funds for loans, and gave considerable time and thought to ways of correcting the situation. In more recent months before his death he was especially concerned with the problem of depleted ranks in both undergraduate and graduate students, as the result of the war, and saw in a graduate student loan fund the means of helping some promising students who otherwise could not finance their graduate work. He did not live to see any of his plans for obtaining money materialize, but it is believed that the Memorial Loan Fund may serve to fulfil his purpose in part. While solicitations are being restricted largely to former students and associates, and close friends, contributions from any one desiring to assist will be most welcome. Further information may be had from Professor L. M. Massey, of the Department of Plant Pathology, College of Agriculture, Cornell University, Ithaca, N. Y.

## THE CLEVELAND PHYSICS SOCIETY

PHYSICISTS, meeting at the Case School of Applied Science, have formed the Cleveland Physics Society, which is intended to serve the academic and industrial physicists of Greater Cleveland in a manner similar to that in which the engineering societies serve the engineers.

Over one hundred members attended the meeting (March 22) which was addressed by Professor P. M. Morse, of the department of physics of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His topic was "Recent Developments in Room and Auditorium Acoustics."

Officers elected were as follows: *President*, Leonard O. Olsen, assistant professor of physics, Case School of Applied Science; *Vice-president*, Clifton G. Found, director of physical research, General Electric Company, Nela Park; *Secretary*, John T. McCarthy, assistant professor of physics, Western Reserve University; *Treasurer*, W. Byron Brown, physicist, N.A.C.A. Engine Laboratory. Elmer Hutchisson, dean of the faculty of the Case School, was elected a member of the executive council.

It is planned to hold regular monthly meetings which will be addressed by prominent physicists who will speak on subjects of rather general interest. In addition informal seminars will be held occasionally on more specialized subjects.

Information concerning meetings or membership in the society may be obtained from the secretary, Professor John T. McCarthy, at Western Reserve University by mail or telephone.

## MEDALS OF THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

IN addition to the Medals of the Franklin Institute announced in SCIENCE last week the Franklin Medal has been awarded to Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory, "in consideration of his many valuable contributions to the science of astronomy, and especially of his work in the measurement of the vast distances necessary for the determination of the nature and extent of our galaxy, as well as those of other galaxies external to ours."

The Potts Gold Medal for 1945 has been awarded to Edwin A. Link in recognition of "valuable contributions in the field of training devices for aviators." The medal was established in 1906 by the bequest of Howard N. Potts to be given for distinguished work in science or the mechanic arts.

The Edward Longstreth Medal has been awarded to Sanford Lockwood Cluett, vice-president of Cluett, Peabody and Company, Troy, N. Y., "in view of the fundamental nature and mechanical ingenuity displayed in the development of the process for the preshrinking of woven fabrics, known as Sanforizing."

The Louis E. Levy Medal has been awarded to Dr. Rupen Eksergian, consulting engineer for the Edward G. Budd Manufacturing Company, Philadelphia, for his paper entitled "On the Reaction of Fluids and Fluid Jets," which appeared in the issue of the *Journal* of the institute for May, 1944.

## SCIENTIFIC, NOTES AND NEWS

THE Washington section of the American Chemical Society presented on March 8 the Hillebrand Prize for 1944 for an outstanding contribution to the science of chemistry during the three preceding years to Raymond M. Hann, of the National Institute of Health, in recognition of his work on the chemistry, structure and synthesis of methylene and benzylidene acetals of sugar alcohols.

AT the thirty-second annual meeting in Chicago of the American Social Hygiene Association, the William Freeman Snow Medal for distinguished service to humanity was presented to Major General Merritte W. Ireland, formerly surgeon general of the U. S. Army.

AT the seventh annual Forum on Allergy, meeting at Pittsburgh, the first Marcelle award was conferred on Dr. Mary Hewitt Loveless, of the New York Hospital, and the second award was presented to Dr. Charles F. Code, of the Mayo Foundation, Rochester, Minn.