in New York City from February 19 to 22, were cancelled in deference to the general request by the Government that meetings calling for extensive travel be cancelled when possible. However, the annual business meeting of the society and the meeting of its council were held on February 20 in New York City. After the dinner at the Harvard Club, attended by forty-five members and guests, announcement was made of the election of the following new officers:

President-elect (1946): W. O. Hotchkiss.

First vice-president-elect (1946): J. Terry Duce.

Councilors (1945-47): George M. Fowler, F. M. Cameron, T. G. Moore.

Regional vice-presidents (1945): Alfred Brammall (Europe); J. M. S. Krishnan (Asia); R. A. Pelletier (Africa); George Hanson (North America); O. H. Leonardos (South America); R. Lockhart Jack (Australia).

Fifteen new members were declared elected. A brief business session was followed by an address, entitled "Economic Geology," by the retiring president, John M. Boutwell.

THE AGRICULTURAL BOARD OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

ACTING upon the request of the Association of Land Grant Colleges and Universities, the National Research Council has set up an Agricultural Board, consisting of the following:

Chairman: W. C. Coffey, president, University of Minnesota.

Vice-chairman: C. H. Bailey, dean, Department of Agriculture, University of Minnesota.

Secretary: R. E. Buchanan, director, Agricultural Experiment Station, Ames, Iowa.

E. C. Auchter, director, Pineapple Research Institute of Hawaii.

Thomas Cooper, dean, College of Agriculture, University of Kentucky.

J. S. Davis, director, Food Research Institute, Stanford University.

M. J. Funchess, dean, School of Agriculture, Alabama Polytechnic Institute.

C. B. Hutchison, dean, College of Agriculture, University of California.

W. H. Martin, director, New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station.

L. A. Maynard, director, School of Nutrition, Cornell University.

W. I. Myers, dean, New York State College of Agriculture, Cornell.

H. P. Rusk, dean, College of Agriculture, University of Illinois.

Ex-officio: Frank B. Jewett, president, National Academy of Sciences; Ross G. Harrison, chairman, National Research Council; Robert F. Griggs, chairman, Division of Biology and Agriculture, National Research Council.

AWARDS OF THE WASHINGTON ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

THE three hundred and thirty-second meeting of the Washington Academy of Sciences was devoted to the presentation of awards for scientific achievement for the year 1944, as follows:

Biological sciences, to Dr. Norman H. Topping, National Institute of Health, in recognition of his distinguished service in identifying eastern and western types of Rocky Mountain spotted fever.

Engineering sciences, to Galen B. Schubauer, National Bureau of Standards, in recognition of his distinguished service in aeronautical engineering, particularly for fundamental measurements of turbulence.

Physical sciences, to Professor George A. Gamow, George Washington University, in recognition of his distinguished service in theoretical physics, particularly in the understanding of atomic nuclei and of stars.

The recipients gave a brief summary of the work for which the awards were made.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Arthur H. Compton, dean of the division of physical science and chairman of the department of physics of the University of Chicago, has received the Washington Award for devoted, unselfish and preeminent service in advancing human progress, in recognition of "his research and teaching in the physical sciences, increasing man's knowledge of the action of x-rays and cosmic rays." Members of the commission of award represent the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers, the American Institute of Electrical Engineers and the Western Society of Engineers.

The Elliott Cresson Gold Medals of the Franklin Institute of Philadelphia have been awarded for 1945 to Rear Admiral Stanford Caldwell Hooper, U.S.N., retired, for his work in radio for the U.S. Navy, and to Professor Lewis F. Moody, of Princeton University, for his work on the design and development of hydraulic turbines and pumps.

THE Legion of Merit has been conferred on Colonel Anthony J. Lanza, Medical Corps, U. S. Army, chief of the Occupational Hygiene Branch of the Office of the Surgeon General, for his share in the development of the health program of the Army for civilian workers in Army-owned and operated industrial plants.