presidents have been Canadians; and Canada and Latin America have been continuously represented on the council. Occasional articles in Spanish have been published in the *Bulletin*, and there are local branches of the society in Latin America.

In large measure the continued functioning and development of the society during these first twenty-five years have been due to the efforts of its secretary, Charles F. Brooks.—R. W. B.

AWARDS OF THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF MINING AND METALLURGICAL ENGINEERS

THE James Douglas Gold Medal of the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers was awarded on February 20 at the New York meeting to Dr. Robert Franklin Mehl, director of the metals research laboratory of the Carnegie Institute of Technology, Pittsburgh, and head of its department of metallurgical engineering, in recognition of "distin-

guished achievement in physics and physical metallurgy and especially for his development of gammaray radiography and for conspicuous success in his metallurgical investigations involving diffusion and crystal structures."

The Robert W. Hunt Silver Medal and Certificate for 1945 was awarded to E. Chester Wright, chief metallurgist of the National Tube Company, Pittsburgh, for improving the process of making Bessemer steel.

The J. E. Johnson, Jr., award was conferred on Carl Gustav Hogberg; assistant to the chairman of the Blast Furnace Committee of the U. S. Steel Corporation, in recognition of "his contributions to the science and art of smelting iron ores in the blast furnaces."

William Marsh Baldwin, Jr., chief metallurgist of the Chase Brass and Copper Company, Euclid, Ohio, received the 1945 award of the Institute of Metals Division for research work leading to the improvement of methods of production of brass cartridge cases.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

BRIGADIER GENERAL DAVID SARNOFF, president of the Radio Corporation of America, made the principal address at a dinner in New York City on February 18 in honor of Wendell Willkie. On this occasion he was presented with the "One World" award in recognition of his "expansion of radio as a medium for popular education and entertainment, his work on the final reparations settlement in 1929, his contributions to television and his overseas services as special consultant to the Communications Branch of the Public Relations Office, Supreme Headquarters of the Allied Expeditionary Force."

Dr. CLIFFORD COPLAND PATERSON, F.R.S., has been awarded the Faraday Medal by the British Institution of Electrical Engineers, in recognition of conspicuous services in the advancement of electrical science.

The award for outstanding service to chemistry of the Pittsburgh Section of the American Chemical Society "for work worthy of note toward increasing chemical knowledge, promoting industry, benefiting humanity or advancing the Pittsburgh Section" was presented on February 15 to Dr. Leonard Harrison Cretcher, assistant director of the Mellon Institute and head of the department of research in pure chemistry.

THE St. Louis Section of the American Chemical Society has awarded its gold medallion to Dr. Lucas P. Kyrides, research director of the Division of Organic Chemicals of the Monsanto Chemical Company. The medallion is awarded annually for the most "meritorious contribution to the advancement of pure or applied chemistry or of chemical education." The

presentation will take place at a dinner to be given on March 5.

Dr. Thomas A. Jaggar has been awarded the Franklin L. Burr Prize of \$1,000 of the National Geographic Society. This prize was established under a bequest of the late Mary C. Burr, of Hartford, Conn., who bequeathed a fund to the society in memory of her father. It provides for eash prizes to members of the expeditions of the society considered by its Board of Trustees to have accomplished especially meritorious work in the field of geographic science. The award was made to Dr. Jaggar, now a resident of Honolulu, Hawaiian Islands, for his part in the development of the first "Duck" or amphibian mobile boat in 1927, which was used by him in 1927 and 1928 to carry on researches in Alaska in the region of the Pavlof Volcano.

Professor Marston Taylor Bogert, emeritus professor of organic chemistry of Columbia University, president of the International Union of Chemistry, has been elected to honorary membership in the American Institute of Chemists.

Dr. Francis Carter Wood, professor emeritus of pathology at Columbia University, director of pathological laboratories and of radiotherapy at St. Luke's Hospital, in recognition of his fifty years of service as a member of the hospital staff was the guest of honor at a tea given at the hospital on February 14. On this occasion his portrait, painted by Leonibel Jacobs, was unveiled by Lincoln Cromwell, president of the hospital.