British Museum (Natural History), who is the foremost expert on the Ammonoidea and on the classification and evolution of the Cephalopoda; the Bigsby Medal to Professor L. R. Wager, of the University of Durham, for his outstanding researches, mainly in petrology, on East Greenland, the Sikkim Himalaya and the north of England; the Prestwich Medal to A. S. Kennard, for his studies of Pleistocene faunas, particularly of the nonmarine mollusca; the Wollaston Fund to Dr. D. R. Grantham, for his work on the Geological Surveys of Tanganyika and British Guiana, especially in the field of mining geology; the Murchison Fund to Dr. W. A. Deer, for his researches on rock-forming minerals and petrology, especially of Scottish rocks; and his contribution to the description of the layered intrusion at Kangerdlugssuak in Greenland; one moiety of the Lyell Fund to A. H. Taitt, of the Anglo-Iranian Oil Company, Ltd., for his work on the exploration for oil in Great Britain, especially on the Nottinghamshire oilfield; another moiety of the Lyell Fund to Dr. F. B. A. Welch, of the Geological Survey of Great Britain, for his additions to our knowledge of the geology of southwest England, both above and below the Mesozoic unconformity, especially in relation to the complicated structures of the Mendips.

THE ADVISORY COUNCIL ON MEDICAL EDUCATION

THE Advisory Council on Medical Education at its meeting in Chicago, on February 11, passed unanimously the following resolution:

- 1. The humane use of animals (including dogs) by qualified universities, medical schools and hospitals is essential for medical teaching and medical research.
- 2. The enactment into law of Bill H.R. 491 (prohibiting the humane use of dogs for medical teaching and medical research in the District of Columbia) will impede medical training and medical research, impair medical service to our fellow citizens, and retard the medical education and training which many of our returning veterans are entitled to under the law.

This resolution is sent to the chairmen of the Committees of the District of Columbia of the U. S. Senate and of the House of Representatives.

The Advisory Council represents the following national organizations:

Association of American Medical Colleges
American Hospital Association
Federation of State Medical Boards
Advisory Board for Medical Specialties
American College of Physicians
American College of Surgeons
Association of American Colleges
Association of American Universities
American Association for the Advancement of Science
American Protestant Hospital Association
American Public Health Association

Catholic Hospital Association National Board of Medical Examiners

A. J. CARLSON

UNIVERSITY OF CHICAGO

FELLOWSHIPS OF THE E. I. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND COMPANY

THIRTY-FIVE postgraduate fellowships at twentynine universities are offered by E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company for the academic year of 1945-46. This is an increase of thirteen over previous years and for the first time includes two fellowships in physics. Five of the fellowships are in chemical engineering and twenty-eight in chemistry. Two changes have been made in the fellowship plan this year. First, in order to equalize the value of fellowships among the various universities, where tuition rates differ, the company is paying the tuition in addition to the stipend. And second, the amount of the stipend has been increased from \$750 to \$1,000. Both women and men are eligible and selection of the recipients and the subject of research is left to the universities. Holders of these fellowships are not restricted in any way in their choice of position when the fellowship expires.

Eight universities were added to the fellowship list this year and fellowships in chemistry are offered at the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, Indiana University, the University of Iowa, the University of Nebraska, the University of Notre Dame, the University of Rochester, the University of Texas, and at the Carnegie Institute of Technology, in chemical engineering.

The other universities and the fellowships to be granted at each are as follows: Columbia University, one each in chemistry and chemical engineering; the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, one each in chemistry, chemical engineering and physics; the University of Chicago, one each in chemistry and physics; the University of Michigan, one each in chemistry and chemical engineering; the University of Wisconsin, one each in chemistry and chemical engineering.

One fellowship in chemistry is being offered at each of the following: the California Institute of Technology, Cornell University, Harvard University, the Johns Hopkins University, Northwestern University, the Ohio State University, the Pennsylvania State College, Princeton University, Purdue University, Stanford University, the University of California, the University of Illinois, the University of Minnesota, the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Virginia and Yale University.