search organizations in this country and abroad, and special cooperative arrangements will be made with scholarly institutions. Columbia University and the laboratory will engage in a joint program of research and instruction, utilizing for this end the personnel and facilities of both institutions.

In addition to the regular members of the scientific staffs of the university and the corporation, special consultants include Dr. Harvey N. Davis, president of Stevens Institute; Dr. William P. Tolley, president of Syracuse University; Dr. William Mather Lewis, president of Lafayette College, and Dr. T. E. Brown, of the Harvard Business School.

Columbia University has assigned a building at 612 West 116th Street on Morningside Heights to the laboratory.

The work will start as soon as the necessary alterations in the building and the installation of equipment have been completed.

REORGANIZATION OF THE SHEFFIELD SCIENTIFIC SCHOOL OF YALE UNIVERSITY

By vote of the Corporation of Yale University, recently announced by President Charles Seymour, a reorganization of the Sheffield Scientific School will take effect on July 1.

Undergraduate courses in the sciences leading to the degree of Bachelor of Science, heretofore under the administration of the dean and faculty of the school, will be transferred to Yale College, thus consolidating under a single faculty all undergraduate education in the liberal arts and sciences.

As a result of this reorganization, the function of the Sheffield Scientific School in the future will be two-fold.

(1) The Board of Permanent Officers of the school will constitute the committees of the Graduate School on the graduate degrees in the sciences and mathematics and will recommend candidates for these degrees to the faculty of the Graduate School. Candidates for these degrees will be registered as students in the Sheffield Scientific School. (2) The director and the Board of Permanent Officers of the school will constitute the Division of Science and Mathematics of the university and as such be responsible for maintaining and promoting, with the approval of the president and the corporation, programs of study and research in the natural and physical sciences and mathematics. This division will include the following departments of study: anatomy, astronomy, bacteriology, botany, chemistry, clinical medicine, forestry, geological sciences, mathematics, pharmacology, physics, physiological chemistry, physiology, psychology, public health, zoology, and such other departments or organizations for scientific study and research as may from time to time be appropriately included within the division.

It will be the function of the division to maintain and promote study and research in the several fields included within the division, and in performing this function the Board of Permanent Officers is authorized to appoint annually, upon nomination of the director, an Executive Committee in the Physical Sciences and Mathematics and an Executive Committee in the Biological Sciences.

It will be the duty of the director with the advice, assistance and approval of these executive committees to review all proposals for appointment and promotion in the departments of the division or when it appears to be necessary, to initiate such proposals, and to transmit to the schools concerned and the president its recommendations on such proposals. The director shall in like manner make recommendations to the appropriate schools designed to improve courses and subjects of instruction in the sciences and assist the departments in their plans for research.

Departmental budgets in this division will be reviewed by the dean or any school served by a particular department. The director and the deans concerned shall act as members of the committees making final budgetary recommendations to the president in the fields of study included in the division.

Dr. Edmund W. Sinnott, Sterling professor of botany and chairman of the department of botany, has been appointed director of the school.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Cedergren Gold Medal of the Royal Institute of Technology of Sweden was presented on February 9 at a ceremony held in New York City to Dr. E. F. W. Alexanderson, consulting engineer of the General Electric Company. The award, which was established by the late Henrik Tore Cedergren, is given once in every five years. It was presented by Martin Kastengren, Swedish Consul General. REAR ADMIRAL EDWARD R. STITT (retired), from 1920 to 1928 Surgeon General of the United States Navy, was presented on February 5 with the gold medal of the American Foundation for Tropical Medicine in recognition of "outstanding service" in that field. The award carried with it a gift of \$500. The presentation was made at a dinner at the University Club, New York City. Colonel Richard P. Strong,