to William H. Phillips, head of the stability and control flight section at Langley Field.

A number of fellowships and honorary memberships in the institute were conferred.

AWARD OF THE GOLD MEDAL OF THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF CHEMISTS

THE gold medal of the American Institute of Chemists, presented annually for "noteworthy and outstanding service to the science of chemistry or the profession of chemist in America," was awarded on February 2 to John W. Thomas, chairman and director of the Firestone Tire and Rubber Company. The medal was given in recognition of his leadership in rubber research for four decades and for achievements under his direction in the development and production of synthetic rubber.

Former recipients of the medal include Dr. Willard H. Dow, president of the Dow Chemical Company; Andrew W. Mellon, the late Secretary of the Treasury, and his brother, the late Richard B. Mellon, of Pittsburgh; James Bryant Conant, president of Harvard University, and the late George Eastman, founder of the Eastman Kodak Company.

Formal presentation of the medal will be made on May 11 at Columbus, Ohio, during the twenty-third annual meeting of the institute. The chairman of the committee arranging the conference is E. L. Luáces, president of the Chemical Developments Corporation, Dayton, Ohio, and chairman of the Miami Valley Chapter of the institute. Dr. James R. Withrow, head of the department of chemical engineering of the Ohio State University, is honorary chairman.

During the last year, Mr. Thomas has supervised the designing and construction of a \$2,000,000 rubber research laboratory which is one of the most modern and complete in the world. This laboratory will be dedicated within the next few months.

The jury of chemists making the award was composed of Dr. Gustav Egloff, petroleum technologist of the Universal Oil Products Company; Dr. Harry L. Fisher, director of research for U. S. Industrial Chemicals, Inc.; Dr. Robert J. Moore, manager of the Development Laboratory of the Bakelite Corporation; Dr. Maximilian Toch, president of Toch Brothers, Inc., and chairman of Standard Varnish Works, and Howard S. Neiman, secretary of the institute.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Thomas M. Rivers, director of the Hospital of the Rockefeller Institute, has been elected to honorary membership in the Royal Medical Society of Edinburgh.

THE twenty-first Duddell Medal of the Physical Society, London, has been awarded to Dr. F. W. Aston, fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, in recognition of his invention and development of the mass spectrograph.

THE Alfred Noble Prize of \$500, awarded for an "outstanding paper in electrical engineering," was presented on January 27 at a joint meeting of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers and the Institute of Radio Engineers to W. R. Wilson, engineer with the General Electric Laboratories at Pittsfield, Mass.

THE Medalla Oficial, National Order of Merit, Carlos Manuel de Cespedes, has been conferred on Dr. J. C. Geiger, director of public health of the City and County of San Francisco. The citation refers to Dr. Geiger as "a talented physician and scientist, humanitarian and loyal friend of Cuba and other Spanish American countries."

THE 1944 awards of the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, \$500 in cash with a plaque and scroll, were presented, on January 24, to Dr. John MacLeod, of the department of anatomy of the Cornell Univer-

sity Medical College, and to Dr. Felix J. Underwood, executive officer of the Mississippi State Board of Health, at a dinner in New York City given at the annual meeting of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America.

The Mineralogical Society of America has elected the following officers: President, K. K. Landes, University of Michigan; Vice-president, George Tunell, Geophysical Laboratory, Washington, D. C.; Secretary, C. S. Hurlbut, Jr., Harvard University; Treasurer, Earl Ingerson, Geophysical Laboratory, Washington, D. C.; Editor, Walter F. Hunt, University of Michigan; Councilors, R. E. Grim, Illinois Geological Survey, Urbana, and Michael Fleischer, U. S. Geological Survey, Washington, D. C.

Dr. Edwin B. Fred, since 1943 professor of bacteriology and dean of the College of Agriculture of the University of Wisconsin, dean of the Graduate School, has been named president of the university. He succeeds Clarence A. Dykstra, who has become the provost of the University of California at Los Angeles.

Dr. WILLIAM H. TALIAFERRO, Eliakim Hastings Moore distinguished service professor of parasitology and dean of the Division of the Biological Sciences of the University of Chicago, has been made adviser to the president in the biological sciences. Dr. Roland W. Harrison, professor of bacteriology,