Ramiro Robles Ramos, Geológo de la Comisión Nacional de Irrigación. This committee has recently been allotted a substantial fund by the Mexican Government.

The support of the State Department's Interdepartmental Committee for the Cooperation with Latin American Republics has made possible two of the major projects which were submitted by the U. S. Geological Survey and the U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey. The Geological Survey has assigned Howel Williams to map the region with the assistance of Kenneth Segerstrom as topographer, and thus to supplement the record of Ordóñez, Foshag and others, while the Coast and Geodetic Survey is having seismic and magnetic observations made by their volcanological geophysicist, Austin E. Jones, who will have as a background the recently published report of the preliminary studies made by that governmental agency during 1943.

The Geological Society of America has generously allotted a grant from The Penrose Fund to Fuller, as chairman, for the accession, construction and maintenance of shelters, trails and other physical facilities at the volcano, and has very substantially earmarked additional funds for other projects that may be recommended by the Paricutin Committee and approved by the project and executive committees of the society. The physical improvements have been made increasingly necessary owing to the difficulties imposed by the continued activity of the volcano, which in recent months has erupted extensive flows in various directions. They are also required for the installation of instruments in a region where throughout the year one usually contends with either rain or dust, and, incidentally, with the depredations of tourists.

Through the cooperation of the Carnegie Institution, E. G. Zies, volcanological chemist of the Geophysical Laboratory, visited Parieutin during November and December in order to become better equipped to serve the committee as counselor and adviser. He was also helpful in defining feasible and potentially diagnostic geophysical projects. Although some of these phases of investigation have to be carried on during the course of the eruption, others can only be successfully pursued after the activity has largely subsided. The committee is also sponsoring studies of related biological problems in the hope of correlating all critical data concerning the eruption.

NOMINATION OF OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ELEC-TRICAL ENGINEERS

The National Nominating Committee of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, consisting of members from various parts of the country, has nominated the following official ticket of candidates for the offices becoming vacant on August 1, 1945:

For President: W. E. Wickenden, president, Case School of Applied Science, Cleveland, Ohio.

For Vice-Presidents (Middle Eastern District): Ernest S. Fields, vice-president, Cincinnati Gas and Electric Co. (Southern District): Herman B. Wolf, superintendent of maintenance, Duke Power Co., Charlotte. (North Central District): L. M. Robertson, transmission and station engineer, Public Service Co. of Colorado, Denver. (Pacific District): F. F. Evenson, consulting engineer, San Diego. (Canada District): F. L. Lawton, assistant chief engineer, Aluminum Company of Canada, Montreal.

For Directors: John M. Flanigen, distribution engineer, Plant Accounting, Georgia Power Co., Atlanta. J. R. North, assistant electrical engineer, Commonwealth and Southern Corporation, Jackson, Mich. W. C. Smith, Pacific district engineer, General Electric Co., San Francisco.

For National Treasurer: W. I. Slichter, professor emeritus of electrical engineering, Columbia University.

These official candidates, together with any independent nominees that may be proposed later in the manner specified by the Constitution and By-laws, will be voted upon by the membership at the coming election this spring.

AWARDS OF THE INSTITUTE OF THE AERONAUTICAL SCIENCES

A MEETING of the Institute of the Aeronautical Sciences was recently held in The Engineering Societies Building, New York City, under the presidency of R. H. Fleet.

Honorary fellowships were awarded to Dr. Edward P. Warner, vice-chairman of the Civil Aeronautics Board, and to Sir Frederick Handley Page. Colonel Sir Vivian Gabriel, of the British Air Commission to Washington, accepted for Sir Frederick.

Fred E. Weick, chief engineer of the Engineering and Research Company of Riverdale, Md., received the Sylvanus Albert Reed Award for a contribution to aeronautical science in recognition of his development of the two-control, non-spinnable Ercoups in the small plane field.

The John Jeffries Award for contributions to aeronautical medicine went to Air Marshal Sir Harold E. Wittingham, director general of medical sciences of the Royal Air Force.

The Octave Chanute Award was conferred on Colonel Benjamin S. Kelsey, of the Army Air Forces, for his work in testing high-speed aircraft.

The Robert M. Losey award was conferred on John Cary Bellamy, special consultant to the Weather Service of the Air Forces, who is now in the Pacific, for his contributions to meteorology during the year. The award was accepted for Mr. Bellamy by Dr. Horace R. Byers, of the University of Chicago.

The Lawrence Sperry Award for the best contributions of a young man to aeronautical science was given