he was active in the affairs of the International Astronomical Union from its very beginning. He was a fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society of England and a member of the Astronomische Gesellschaft and of the Société Astronomique de France. At home he had served as vice-president of the American Astronomical Society and as vice-president of Section D of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and for three years he had been a member of the National Research Council. He was a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was a member of Phi Beta Kappa and of Sigma Xi, but his membership in these fraternities did not consist solely in having his name on the list; he was an active participant in the affairs of their Wesleyan chapters.

As a quiet but effective advocate of good-will and cooperation both at home and abroad, as an inspiring teacher and congenial colleague, Professor Slocum will long be remembered by a world-wide circle of friends and acquaintances.

CARL L. STEARNS

RECENT DEATHS

WILLIAM BENJAMIN GREGORY, professor emeritus of experimental engineering and hydraulics of Tulane University, died on January 29. He was in his seventy-fourth year.

DR. EDWARD E. REINKE, professor of biology at Vanderbilt University, chairman of the division of natural science and mathematics, died on January 25. He was fifty-seven years old.

SCIENTIFIC EVENTS

THE UNITED STATES COMMITTEE FOR THE STUDY OF PARICUTIN VOLCANO

LAST June at the annual meeting of the Section of Volcanology of the American Geophysical Union, a symposium on the current activity of the infant Mexican volcano, Paricutin, caused the retiring officers to recommend to the National Research Council that a committee be formed under its auspices to integrate the study of the eruption and its effect before the opportunity was lost. The chairman of the Division of Geology and Geography then invited Richard E. Fuller, the newly elected president of the section, to assume the responsibility of serving as chairman.

By the end of July, the U.S. Committee for the Study of Paricutin Volcano was organized and approved with the stated objective: "The purpose of the committee is to coordinate with Mexican scientists the research on the Paricutin volcano and to encourage and facilitate studies in various scientific fields related to the problem. It intends thereby to avoid useless repetition and especially to save from neglect important aspects which depend on the collection of accurate data before activity subsides and the record of eruption is obscured by time. The scope of the proposed investigation includes geological, geophysical, chemical, meteorological and other scientific studies. The committee would endeavor to stimulate the interest and the support of scientific organizations and governmental agencies in these various projects." The initial members were Richard E. Fuller, chairman, research professor of geology, University of Washington; Fred M. Bullard, professor of geology and mineralogy, University of Texas; W. F. Foshag, curator of mineralogy, U. S. National Museum; L. C.

Graton, professor of mining geology, Harvard University; D. F. Hewett, special staff scientist, U. S. Geological Survey; A. G. McNish, magnetician, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution; Paul A. Smith, chief, Aeronautic Chart Branch, U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey; O. W. Swainson, chief, Division of Geomagnetism and Seismology, U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey; C. Warren Thornthwaite, chief, Climatic and Physiographic Division, Soil Conservation Service, U. S. Department of Agriculture; Howel Williams, professor of geology, University of California; E. G. Zies, chemist, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution; William W. Rubey, exofficio, chairman, Division of Geology and Geography, National Research Council. Subsequently, the committee was enlarged to include O. O. Fisher, of Detroit; Robert T. Hatt, director of the Cranbrook Institute of Science, and Ezequiel Ordóñez, chairman of the corresponding Mexican committee, and Vocal Geológo de la Comisión Impulsora y Coordinadora de la Investigación Científica.

Under the sponsorship of the Comisión Impulsora, Ordóñez, who has been principally responsible for recording the activity of the volcano, formed the Comite Mexicano para el Estudio del Volcan de Paricutin, with the following membership: Teodoro Flores, director del Instituto de Geología; Ricardo Monges López, director de la Facultad de Ciencias; Pedro C. Sánchez, director del Instituto Panamericano de Geografía e Historia; Manuel Medina, Jefe del Departamento de Geografía y Meteorología de la Secretaria de Agricultura; Alfonso de la O Carreño, Jefe del Departamento de Geología de la Comisión Nacional de Irrigación; Hermión Larios, Departamento de Exploraciones de Petróleos Mexicanos;