Professor Julian D. Boyd, department of pediatrics, University Hospital, State University of Iowa, for studies on the arrest by dietary control of dental caries in children.

Professor A. Leroy Johnson and F. J. Stare, Schools of Dental Medicine, Medicine and Public Health, Harvard University, to aid a comprehensive investigation of the etiology and control of dental caries.

Professor Melville L. Wolfrom, department of chemistry, The Ohio State University, for a study of the nonsugar constituents of molasses.

Professor Carl Neuberg, department of chemistry, Washington Square College, New York University, for studies of dry invertase preparations and glycerol production by modified fermentations.

AWARD OF THE ROEBLING MEDAL OF THE MINERALOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

AT a special luncheon meeting of the Mineralogical Society of America to be held at noon at the Hotel Pennsylvania in New York City, on Tuesday, February 20, the Roebling Medal of the Mineralogical Society of America will be awarded to Professor Edward H. Kraus, dean of the College of Literature, Science and Arts at the University of Michigan. This award is in recognition of meritorious achievements in the fields of crystallography and mineralogy. The meeting will also commemorate the twenty-fifth anniversary of the founding of the society.

Dean Kraus received his B.S. degree from Syracuse University in 1896 and his Ph.D. from the University of Munich, Germany, in 1901. He was called to the University of Michigan in 1904 to take charge of the instruction in crystallography and mineralogy. In addition to his professorship he has held many important executive university positions. Since 1933 he has served as dean of the college. He has published more than seventy-five scientific papers and is sole author of two and co-author of three texts on crystallography, general mineralogy, gems and gem materials and tables for the determination of minerals.

In November, 1944, he was appointed by the Research Club of the University of Michigan to the Henry Russel Lectureship for 1945 for his outstanding work in his special fields of interest.

This will be the fifth award of the Roebling Medal. The four previous recipients were Professor Charles Palache, of Harvard University; Dr. Waldemar T. Schaller, of the U. S. Geological Survey; Dr. Leonard J. Spencer, of the British Museum, and Professor Esper S. Larsen, of Harvard University.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE American Institute of Electrical Engineers gave on January 23 a dinner in honor of Dr. Ernst F. W. Alexanderson, of the General Electric Company, at which he was presented with the Edison Medal, awarded annually by the institute for achievements in the field of electricity, in recognition of his "outstanding inventions and developments in the radio, transportation, marine and power fields."

THE newly established Proctor Gold Medal Award of the Philadelphia Drug Exchange was presented at its eighty-fourth anniversary dinner in Philadelphia on January 23 to Dr. Ivor Griffith, president of the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science, for his "distinguished service in the pharmaceutical field."

Dr. E. O. ESSIG, professor of entomology at the University of California at Berkeley, has been awarded a bronze medal by the American Iris Society in recognition of his work in iris hybridization.

THOSE receiving Awards of Merit of the Alumni Society of the University of Pennsylvania include Colonel I. S. Ravdin, Harrison professor of surgery, who holds the Legion of Merit for outstanding services as commander of an Army hospital in India which was organized by the university, and Colonel William S. Middleton, professor of medicine and dean of the Medical School of the University of Wisconsin, who supervises all activities in internal medicine for the American forces in Europe.

DR. R. C. GIBBS, professor of physics at Cornell University, was elected president of the American Association of Physics Teachers at the recent New York meeting held in conjunction with the American Physical Society. The Oersted Medal, awarded annually "for notable contributions to the teaching of physics," was presented to Dr. Homer L. Dodge, president of Norwich University, Vermont. At this meeting Professor I. I. Rabi, of Columbia University, delivered the Richtmyer Memorial Lecture.

CHARLES H. COLVIN, engineering and management consultant of New York City, has been elected president of the Institute of the Aeronautical Sciences. He succeeds Major R. H. Fleet, of San Diego, Calif.

DR. JEAN BROADHURST, professor emeritus of bacteriology of Teachers College, Columbia University, has been elected an honorary member of the New York City Branch of the Society of American Bacteriologists.

AT the School of Medicine of the University of Minnesota, Dr. Gaylord W. Anderson, professor and head of the department of preventive medicine and