tific session on this date at which the following officers were elected for the ensuing year:

Honorary President, J. A. Le Prince, Memphis, Tenn. President, H. A. Johnson, Memphis, Tenn.

President-elect, Dr. Mark F. Boyd, Tallahassee, Fla.

Vice-president, Dr. Clay G. Huff, Chicago, Ill.

Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. Mark F. Boyd, Tallahassee, Fla.

## THE BERNAYS RADIO AWARD

THE Institute for Education by Radio of the Ohio State University announces that the Edward L. Bernays Radio Award of one thousand dollars will be conferred on the individual responsible for the radio program or series doing most to further democracy in America in the year ending on March 1. The award will be presented at the annual dinner of the institute in Columbus, Ohio, on May 6.

Of the programs nominated and described briefly

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Legion of Merit was conferred on January 11 by President Roosevelt on Rear Admiral Richard Byrd, the polar explorer, in recognition of "exceptionally meritorious conduct" and "outstanding services" on a naval aviation mission in the Pacific.

DR. GANO DUNN, president of the J. G. White Engineering Corporation and president of Cooper Union, and Dr. Frank B. Jewett, chairman of the National Defense Research Committee, who recently retired as vice-president of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company, were elected, in recognition of their "outstanding contributions to the advancement of science, engineering and industry in this country and for their outstanding work in behalf of the New York Electrical Society," honorary members of the society at a ceremony held on January 10 at a dinner meeting at the Engineers Club.

BRIGADIER GENERAL LEON A. Fox, U.S.A., has been awarded the Typhus Commission Medal for "exceptionally meritorious service rendered first as director and later as field director of the United States of America Typhus Commission." He directed the Typhus Control Project of Naples in December, 1943, which within a month brought the epidemic of that disease in southern Italy under control.

THE 1945 Gold Medal of the Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry has been awarded to Bourdon W. Scribner, chief of the Paper Section, National Bureau of Standards, Washington, D. C. The medal is given in recognition of "an outstanding contribution to the technical advancement of the pulp and by the radio editors, those of most promise will be selected for further consideration. Producers of these programs will be asked to supply (1), information about purposes and planning procedures; (2), information concerning the extent to which audience and community become involved in the total project with which the radio program is connected; (3) a recording of a typical program in the series; and (4) the name of the person primarily responsible for the inauguration of the program or program series.

The radio editors of American newspapers are being asked to assist in this enterprise by making the nominations of the programs to be considered for the award. This will ensure that local and regional programs as well as nationwide broadcasts are included. The stations, networks and organizations will keep the radio editors informed of worthy programs so that the editors may listen to the programs and observe the extent of participation by the audience.

paper industry." The presentation will be made on February 22 at the annual meeting of the association.

DR. ARTHUR BEVAN, State Geologist of Virginia, was named "Man of the Year in Science" in Virginia for 1944, in an Associated Press poll of the editors of the state. The citation reads: "The honor was voted to Dr. Arthur Bevan who, although engaged in certain phases of war work, has done outstanding work in educating Virginians on the mineral resources of the Commonwealth."

PROFESSOR SIR D'ARCY THOMPSON celebrated on December 2 the sixtieth anniversary of his appointment in 1884 to the chair of natural history at University College, now part of the University of St. Andrews.

THE officers of the American Society of Zoologists elected for the year 1945 are: *President*, Dr. A. S. Pearse, Duke University; *Vice-president*, Dr. J. W. Gowen, Iowa State College; *Treasurer*, Dr. A. C. Kinsey, Indiana University; *Secretary*, Dr. L. V. Domm, the University of Chicago (continuing); *Member of the Executive Committee*, Dr. Sewall Wright, the University of Chicago.

THE Botanical Society of Washington, D. C., announces the election of the following officers for 1945: *President*, Dr. A. G. Johnson, U. S. Bureau of Plant Industry, Soils and Agricultural Engineering, Beltsville, Md.; *Vice-president*, Dr. F. V. Rand, U. S. Office of Experiment Stations, Washington, D. C.; *Recording Secretary*, Dr. N. W. Stuart, U. S. Bureau at Belts-