GRANTS OF THE SUGAR RESEARCH FOUNDATION

GRANTS have been made by the Sugar Research Foundation, New York City, to the following:

Dr. L. Emmett Holt, Jr., department of pediatrics, the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, for studies relating to synthesis of B vitamins by bacteria in the human intestinal tract, with special reference to the influence of various carbohydrates.

Dr. Andrew P. van Hook, department of physical chemistry, Lafayette College, for study of the kinetics of sucrose crystallization.

Dr. James M. Neill, department of bacteriology and immunology, Cornell University Medical College, New York, for investigation of traces of serologically active polysaccharides in sugar.

Dr. Curt P. Richter, psychobiologic laboratory, the Johns Hopkins University, for investigation of nutritive values of soft and raw sugars and of the carbohydrate-thiamine ratios taken by rats allowed free selection of all required nutrients.

Dr. John Haldi, department of physiology, School of Medicine, Emory University, for study of blood sugar levels in human subjects following high protein and high carbohydrate meals of isocaloric value.

Dr. William V. Cruess, chief, Fruit Products Division, Agricultural Experiment Station, University of California at Berkeley, for study of sugar in the quick freezing of fruit products.

Dr. Carl W. Borgmann, Engineering Experiment Station, University of Colorado, for pilot plant production of d-fructose (levulose) from sucrose and investigation of methods for separating dextrose and levulose.

These grants bring to more than a quarter of a million dollars the amount appropriated by the foundation during the year 1944.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE presentation of the Perkin Medal¹ of the Society of Chemical Industry to Dr. Elmer K. Bolton, chemical director of E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, in recognition of "his outstanding accomplishments in the field of industrial research," took place on the evening of January 5. The medal was presented to him by Dr. Marston T. Bogert, professor emeritus of chemistry of Columbia University and senior past president of the society. In accepting the medal Dr. Bolton said: "I am deeply conscious of the fact that any credit for research accomplishments with which I have been connected belongs to the organizations of able research chemists with whom it has been my privilege to be associated. As their representative, I am happy to accept this award because, in honoring me, you honor them." Dr. Norman A. Shepard, chairman of the American section of the society, presided at the dinner. Dr. C. M. A. Stine, a vice-president of the du Pont Company, who was awarded the Perkin Medal in 1940, discussed Dr. Bolton's professional accomplishments, and Lammot du Pont, chairman of the board, spoke of the personal side of Dr. Bolton's career.

THE presidents of the Royal Society and of the Royal College of Physicians have awarded the Conway Evans Prize to Sir Thomas Lewis, F.R.S., "for his great contributions to medical knowledge on the working of the heart and circulation." This prize is given from time to time for scientific work of outstanding distinction and this is only the fourth occasion of its award since it was endowed in 1925 in accordance with the will of the late Dr. Conway

¹ SCIENCE, December 1, 1944, p. 491.

Evans. Previous recipients of the prize are Sir Charles Sherrington (1927), the late Dr. J. B. S. Haldane (1933) and Sir Gowland Hopkins (1938).

THE Buckston-Browne Prize for 1944 of the Harveian Society of London, for an essay on the uses and abuse of sulphonamides, has been awarded to Dr. A. C. Frazer, professor of pharmacology at the University of Birmingham.

DR. EDWARD W. BERRY, professor emeritus of paleontology of the Johns Hopkins University, has been elected for 1945 president of the Geological Society of America.

DR. J. SHELTON HORSLEY, surgeon-in-charge of St. Elizabeth's Hospital, Richmond, Va., has been elected a corresponding fellow of the Medical Society of London. This society was founded by John Coakley Lettsom in 1773. It is the oldest institution of its kind in England. Dr. Horsley, who last May was awarded an honorary degree of doctor of science from the Medical College of Virginia, has been president of the Virginia Academy of Science, the Southern Medical Association, the Medical Society of Virginia and the Richmond Academy of Medicine.

OFFICERS for the current year of the Oregon Academy of Science are J. S. McGrath, President; Stanley Jewett, President-elect; A. L. Strand, Past-president; R. R. Huestis, Treasurer, and F. A. Gilfillan, Secretary. Other members of the council are J. A. Macnab and G. V. Copson, biology; E. G. Locke and Joseph Schulein, chemistry, and Warren D. Smith and I. S. Allison, geology and geography. The third annual meeting of the academy will be held in the Public