THE AMERICAN PHYSICAL SOCIETY

THE two hundred and sixty-fifth meeting of the American Physical Society, which is the "1944 annual meeting," as already announced, will be held at Columbia University, New York City, on January 19 and 20. The American Association of Physics Teachers holds concurrent meetings. The registration desks for the two societies will be in the Pupin Physics Laboratories, where all the sessions will be held, except the session on Saturday morning. The council will meet at 8 P.M. on Thursday in the Men's Faculty Club. The business meeting will be held at 10 A.M. on Saturday.

The retiring address of the president, Professor A. J. Dempster, of the University of Chicago, entitled "Twenty-Five Years of Mass-Spectroscopy," will be delivered after the business meeting and will be followed by the two formal annual events of the American Association of Physics Teachers—the award of the Oersted Medal to a distinguished teacher of physics and the delivery of the fourth Richtmyer Lecture.

At the invitation of the council, a symposium on "The Physics of the Solid State" has been arranged. Six members of the society—S. Dushman, T. A. Read, F. Seitz, W. Shockley, S. Siegel and R. Smoluchowski, will take part. The fourteen papers are distributed among three sessions on the morning and afternoon of Friday and on the afternoon of Saturday. This symposium may be the prelude to the establishment in the society of a Division of the Physics of the Solid State. Time for a discussion of this step has been provided in the schedule of the symposium, beginning at 5 P.M. on Friday.

Sessions for other invited papers and for contributed papers will be held on Friday morning, beginning at 9:30, and in the afternoon.

The dinner of the two societies, advance reserva-

tions for which are requested, will be held on Friday evening at six o'clock at the Men's Faculty Club.

COLE PRIZE OF THE AMERICAN MATHE-MATICAL SOCIETY

AT the 1944 annual meeting of the American Mathematical Society, which was held in Chicago on November 24 and 25, the Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra was awarded to Dr. Oscar Zariski, professor of mathematics at the Johns Hopkins University, for his "brilliant research in the field of algebraic geometry." The award was made on the basis of the following four papers published during the period 1939–1943:

"Some Results in the Arithmetic Theory of Algebraic Varieties," American Journal of Mathematics, Vol. 61, pp. 249-294.

"Algebraic Varieties over Ground Fields of Characteristic Zero," American Journal of Mathematics, Vol. 62, pp. 187-221.

"The Reduction of the Singularities of an Algebraic Surface," Annals of Mathematics, Vol. 40, pp. 639-689. "Local Uniformization on Algebraic Varieties," Annals of Mathematics, Vol. 41, pp. 852-896.

The Cole Prizes were founded in honor of Professor Frank Nelson Cole, of Columbia University, on the occasion of his retirement as secretary of the American Mathematical Society, and editor of the *Bulletin*. Professor Cole was the secretary of the society for twenty-five years, from 1896–1920. The awards are in algebra and the theory of numbers and are made every five years. The recipient must be a member of the society and not more than fifty years of age at the time of the publication of the memoir for which the prize is awarded. Winners of the Cole Prize in Algebra have been Professors L. E. Dickson and A. A. Albert, both of the University of Chicago.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. ISAIAH BOWMAN, president of the Johns Hopkins University, has been elected a corresponding member of the Sociedad Chilena de Historia y Geografia.

DR. HARLOW SHAPLEY, director of Harvard College Observatory, has been reelected to the presidency of the Society of the Sigma Xi. Dr. Frank B. Jewett, president of the National Academy of Sciences, has been elected a member of the national executive committee, and Dr. M. C. K. Jones, of the Esso Research Laboratories, Elizabeth, N. J., has become a member of the national membership committee.

THE National Aeronautics Association has awarded

the Frank G. Brewer Trophy to Dr. Edgar Fuller, assistant director of the Civil Aeronautics Administration Aviation Education Program in recognition of his work in assisting state governments to develop programs in aviation education, including actual flight training. Special record certificates have been given to Igor Sikorski for helicopter performance and to Colonel C. A. Peterson and Lieutenant Colonel Jack H. Carter, of the Army Air Forces, for west-east transcontinental speed records.

THE Remington Honor Medal was presented to Dr. Harvey Evert Kendig, dean of the School of Pharmacy of Temple University, Philadelphia, at a dinner