H. C. Clark, M. F. Boyd, E. C. Faust and N. P. Hudson. Dr. J. T. Culbertson represented the American Society of Parasitologists. Brigadier N. H. Fairley, director of medicine, A. I. F., an honorary member, was present at the council dinner as well as at the other sessions.

At the scientific session on Tuesday afternoon the presentation to Brigadier General James S. Simmons of the Walter Reed Medal<sup>1</sup> was made.

At the third scientific session the ninth Charles Franklin Craig Lecture entitled "Malaria in the Returning Serviceman" was delivered by Commander L. T. Coggeshall, U. S. Naval Reserve. This lecture will appear in a future issue of *The American Journal of Tropical Medicine*.

Informal talks were made at hospitality group sessions by Dr. W. A. Sawyer, who spoke on the United Nations Rehabilitation and Relief Administration; by Dr. N. H. Fairley, who spoke on certain aspects of malaria, and by Dr. H. C. Clark, who spoke on personal hygiene in the tropics. At the annual luncheon held on November 15, the address of the president, entitled "The Place of Tropical Medicine in International Health," was delivered.

Officers of the society were elected as follows: President, R. E. Dyer; President-Elect, J. S. Simmons; Vice-president, P. F. Russell; Secretary-Treasurer, J. S. D'Antoni; Editor of the American Journal of Tropical Medicine, C. F. Craig; Councilors, L. T. Coggeshall, G. R. Callender, J. F. Kessel, E. G. Hakansson, A. J. Warren, R. B. Watson, O. R. McCoy and E. I. Salisbury.

## THE OKLAHOMA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE thirty-third annual meeting of the Oklahoma Academy of Science was held at the Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical College, Stillwater, on December 2. There was an attendance of one hundred and thirty members. During the morning the biological, geological, physical and social sciences met in separate. sections for the reading of scientific papers. Fortyfive papers were presented before the various meetings. Following the noon luncheon, the retiring president, Dr. V. G. Heller, of the Agricultural and Mechanical College, gave an address entitled "Where Do We Stand in Nutrition?" A short business meeting preceded the address, during which officers for the following year were elected. During the afternoon, the Geological, Physical and Social Science Sections met together for a symposium dealing with the natural resources of the state. The section for the biological sciences met in separate session for a panel discussion on conservation.

<sup>1</sup> See Science, December 1, 1944, p. 490.

The new officers elected for the year 1945 are as follows:

President, J. Rud Nielsen (Physics), University of Oklahoma.

Vice-president, Section A, Biological Sciences, Dixie Young (Zoology), University of Oklahoma.

Vice-president, Section B, Geological Sciences, Ray L. Six (Geology), Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical College.

Vice-president, Section C, Physical Sciences, Edith Hammond (Chemistry), Oklahoma College for Women, Chickasha.

Vice-president, Section D, Social Sciences, T. H. Reynolds (History), Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical College.

Secretary-Treasurer, J. Teague Self (Zoology), University of Oklahoma.

Assistant Secretary-Treasurer, R. Chester Hughes (Zoology), Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical College.

# AWARDS OF THE TELEVISION BROAD-CASTERS ASSOCIATION

At the banquet on December 11 of the first annual meeting of the Television Broadcasters Association awards were presented as follows:

#### FOR TECHNICAL PIONEERING IN TELEVISION

First Award—Dr. Vladimir K. Zworykin, R. C. A. Laboratories, Princeton, N. J., in recognition of his "development of the iconoscope and the storage principle of picture pick-up, resulting in the first practical television pick-up equipment."

#### PROGRAM AWARDS FOR 1944

As the economic problem at present overshadows the artistic one these awards are made for contributions to the solution of the economic problems of programming.

First Award—Station WABD—Allen B. DuMont Laboratories, New York City, "for making its facilities available to all for study of the correlation of the economic and artistic problems of television production." Recipient, Sam Cuff, Station Manager.

### FOR GENERAL CONTRIBUTION TO TELEVISION

This award is made for the summation of the efforts of many years.

First Award—General David Sarnoff, on leave from the presidency of the Radio Corporation of America, "for his initial vision of television as a social force, and the steadfastness of his leadership in the face of natural and human obstacles in bringing television to its present state of perfection."