Committees, Bulletin, Saunders MacLane and E. B. Stouffer; Transactions, Oscar Zariski; Colloquium Publications, C. C. MacDuffee; Mathematical Reviews, Oswald Veblen; Mathematical Surveys, A. A. Albert, Nelson Dunford, J. D. Tamarkin; American Journal of Mathematics, Richard Brauer; Members-at-large of the Council, H. F. Bohnenblust, S. S. Cairns, H. B. Curry, M. H. Ingraham, I. S. Sokolnikoff; Board of Trustees, W. R. Longley, Marston Morse, G. W. Mullins, R. G. D. Richardson and Warren Weaver.

The council voted to hold the 1945 summer meeting of the society at Macdonald College, McGill University, Montreal, June 24-25, 1945, at the conclusion of the Canadian Mathematical Congress.

T. R. Hollcroft,

Associate Secretary

## GRANTS OF THE CARNEGIE CORPORATION

A GRANT of \$5,000,000 by the Carnegie Corporation of New York to increase the endowment of the Carnegie Institution of Washington was announced in the 1944 annual report of the president of the corporation, the late Walter A. Jessup. President Jessup, it will be recalled, died in July, 1944, but had previously finished the writing of his annual report. The large gift to the institution was the largest grant of the year, and serves to make the institution probably the most heavily endowed scientific research agency in the United States, if not in the world. Its endowment now amounts to some \$32,000,000, two thirds of which came from gifts by Mr. Carnegie and the remainder primarily from the corporation.

Other grants amounting to \$890,000 were made to various agencies including national emergency organizations such as the American Red Cross, \$225,000 for war service activities; and the National War Fund, \$150,000 to help to support the war work of its constituent agencies.

The corporation also voted various amounts to organizations working in the field of foreign affairs such as the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, \$75,000, for its work in the United States; the Council on Foreign Relations, \$40,000; the Institute of Pacific Relations, \$34,000; and the Foreign Policy Association, \$10,000.

Colleges and universities for the past few years have been preoccupied with emergency projects and accordingly did not receive so large or so numerous gifts as in other years. Included in the list of academic recipients are the Polytechnic Institute of Puerto Rico, which in recent years has shown marked educational progress in that island, receiving \$20,000; the Johns Hopkins University, \$12,000; Princeton University, the School of Public and International Affairs, \$10,000; and the University of Rochester, \$10,000.

President Jessup, commenting on the decrease in sums granted to colleges and universities by the corporation during the past two decades, said that in 1912 when the corporation first began to make grants, roughly \$6,000,000 was appropriated each year, representing a sum equal to one fifteenth of the annual income of institutions of higher education in America at that time. The scale of expenditure in American colleges has increased at such a rate that now the total amount of the grants, if all were expended in this field, would be one one hundred and fortieth of the total receipts of the colleges.

## AWARD OF THE WILLIAM H. NICHOLS MEDAL

Professor Vincent du Vigneaud, head of the department of biochemistry of the Cornell University Medical College, has been awarded the William H. Nichols Medal of the New York Section of the American Chemical Society in recognition of his researches on biotin. His discovery of the chemical architecture of biotin was announced at a meeting of the section on October 9, 1942. In 1943 the synthesis of biotin was achieved in the laboratories of Merck and Company.

The award also recognizes Professor du Vigneaud's researches on transmethylation, the mechanism of the conversion of methionine to cystine, the use of isotopes in certain problems in intermediary metabolism and researches on the chemistry of insulin, on the posterior pituitary hormones, on glutathione and on carnosine.

Previous recipients of the medal were John M. Nelson, Phoebus A. Levene, Joel H. Hildebrand, Irving Langmuir, James Bryant Conant, Frank C. Whitmore, William M. Clark, Charles A. Kraus, Hugh S. Taylor, Julius A. Nieuwland, Gilbert N. Lewis, Charles L. Parsons, Claude S. Hudson, Marston T. Bogert, Henry C. Sherman, Roger Adams, William A. Noyes, Thomas Midgley, Samuel C. Lind, Leo H. Baekeland, H. C. P. Weber, Edward C. Franklin, M. A. Rosanoff, C. W. Easley, T. B. Johnson, Charles James, M. H. Walker, M. B. Bishop, E. B. Voorhees, William L. Evans, Moses Gomberg, Samuel E. Sheppard, John A. Wilson, Linus Pauling, Duncan A. MacInnes, Arthur B. Lamb and Carl Shipp Marvel.

The Nichols Medal award was founded by the late Dr. William H. Nichols, a charter member of the American Chemical Society, chairman of the board of the Allied Chemical and Dye Corporation. It is conferred annually to stimulate original research in chemistry. The presentation will be made at a meeting of the New York Section and of the Society of Chemical Industry at the Hotel Pennsylvania on March 9, 1945.