the meeting. The medal is bestowed each year "in recognition of eminent work in and original contributions to pure or applied chemistry." As reported in Science last week, it has been awarded this year to Dr. George Oliver Curme, Jr., vice-president and director of research of the Carbide and Carbon Chemicals Corporation of New York City.

THE KENTUCKY ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The thirty-first annual meeting of the Kentucky Academy of Science was held at the University of Kentucky, Lexington, on April 28 and 29. The divisions participating were biology, bacteriology, chemistry, geology, mathematics and psychology. Thirty-six papers were read at the meetings, which were well attended.

At a symposium on Post-War Planning for Science and Scientific Personnel, the speakers were:

Dr. D. B. Keyes, Office of Production Research and Development, W.P.B., Washington, D. C.

Lieutenant Colonel John D. Kenderdine, Morale Division, A.S.F., Washington, D. C.

H. C. Blankmeyer, Jos. E. Seagram and Sons, Louisville.

Henry T. Heald, president of the Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Ill.

Officers of the academy elected for 1944-45 are:

President, Paul J. Kolachov, Jos. E. Seagram and Sons, Louisville.

Vice-president, Ward C. Sumpter, Western Kentucky State Teachers College, Bowling Green.

Secretary, Alfred Brauer, University of Kentucky, Lexington.

Treasurer, Wm. J. Moore, Eastern Kentucky State Teachers College, Richmond.

Representative on the Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, A. R. Middleton, Louisville.

Councilor to Junior Academy, Anna A. Schnieb, Richmond.

THE VIRGINIA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

At the meeting on May 9 and 10 in Richmond of the Virginia Academy of Science, H. R. Hanmer, director of research for the American Tobacco Company, was elected the twenty-third president of the academy. This is the first time an industrialist has been named head of this organization. Dr. E. C. L. Miller, directing librarian at the Medical College of Virginia, and Dr. Sidney S. Negus, professor of chemistry at the same institution, were reelected secretary-treasurer and assistant secretary, respectively. Dr. Robert F. Smart, professor of biology at the University of Richmond and chairman of the Division of Sciences, was installed as president for the coming year.

A paper on the "Graphical Determination of Complex Roots of the Quadratic" by Clifton B. Cosby, of the United States Patent Office, Richmond, won the Jefferson Prize of \$50 for "a meritorious paper presented at the meeting."

Dr. J. Herbert Taylor, a former research fellow of the Blandy Experimental Farm of the University of Virginia, was awarded the Academy Prize, also \$50, for his paper on "Cyto-taxonomy and Phylogeny of the Oleaceae, Lindl."

There were three hundred and fifty-four in attendance and one hundred and fifteen papers presented.

THE VAUGHAN RESEARCH AWARDS IN HORTICULTURE

The American Society for Horticultural Science has established two awards of \$500 each for the best papers presented before the society. This was made possible through a gift made by L. H. Vaughan, of Vaughan's Seed Stores, Chicago. One of these awards will be made in the field of floriculture and one in vegetable crops. It is expected that they will be continued for at least three years. The following regulations have been adopted:

- 1. The winning papers must be presented by members of the society to the annual meeting or any one of the recognized sectional meetings and published in the *Proceedings*. Papers by two or more authors will be considered as units. Presentation need not be in person.
- 2. One award of \$500 will be made for a paper reporting research in floriculture and one of \$500 for one in vegetable crops, provided that if no worthy paper in one of these fields is presented, one of the awards may be made in some other field of horticulture. If no worthy paper appears, no award will be made.
- 3. Preference will be given to papers that present new discoveries in these fields, showing promise of commercial importance or practical applications.
- 4. All papers presented during a space of one year following December 1 of each year will be considered for the awards of that year. The winners will be announced at the annual meeting in the following year. (Awards were made at the 1942 meeting for two papers that had been presented and published in the *Proceedings* between December 1, 1941, and November 30, 1943).
- 5. In making the awards, due consideration will be given to the age, experience and record in research work of the authors. Preference will be given to papers by authors under thirty-five years of age.
- 6. Judging the papers will be on the basis of (1) originality, (2) soundness, (3) accuracy, (4) clearness and conciseness of presentation and (5) value of the work, especially in its practical applications.
- 7. These regulations and the committee procedure following are to be considered tentative. They will be adhered to, if possible, for this year.