council of the society, acting in response to a petition signed by thirty-one fellows and members.

The field of this division is defined as the advancement and diffusion of knowledge of the physics of high-polymeric materials such as rubbers, textiles and plastics. Meetings of the division may be held (if the council so authorizes) in conjunction with or separately from meetings of the society.

The council has appointed an "organizing committee" to take charge of the organization and the affairs of the division until by-laws are formulated and adopted by the council and a mechanism is set up for electing an executive committee. The organizing committee consists of F. G. Brickwedde, K. K. Darrow, G. B. Pegram and A. E. Ruark, selected from the council; and R. B. Barnes, W. F. Busse, P. Debye, J. H. Dillon, W. J. Lyons and L. A. Wood, selected from the members sponsoring the division. W. J. Lyons (Southern Regional Research Laboratory, 2100 Robert E. Lee Boulevard, New Orleans 19, La.) is serving as secretary of this committee.

According to Article IX of the constitution of the society:

- 1. The council may, upon petition by members of the society, form a division within the society charged with the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of a specified subject or subjects in physics.
- 2. Each division shall elect an executive committee, the chairman of which shall report its activities and needs to the council.
- 3. Any division may be dissolved at the discretion of the council.

## THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF MINNESOTA

The Geological Society of Minnesota has just ended its most successful year. The society is unique in that most of its members are amateur geologists whose purpose is to study geology and mineralogy for their cultural value. It is an incorporated organization with approximately one hundred and sixty-five active members who, during the months from October to May, meet once a week for a lecture or talk on some geologic subject. The meetings are held in the Science Museum Auditorium of the Minneapolis Public Library. From May until October members endeavor to have a field trip every two weeks. During the year just closed there has been an average attendance of seventy-six members at the weekly lectures.

During each of the last two years a course of sixteen lectures, given by Professor George A. Thiel, of the department of geology of the University of Minnesota, has been sponsored. As a part of the program a bulletin entitled *The Minnesota Geologist*, with items of interest for members, is issued eight times a year.

The society consists of business and professional men and women interested in earth sciences. Officers of the society are Edward P. Burch, Founder and Counselor; Charles H. Preston, President, and Loretta E. Koppen, Secretary.

## THE SOCIETY OF THE SIGMA XI

Newly elected officers of the Northwestern University Chapter of the Society of the Sigma Xi are: President, Professor W. F. Windle, of the School of Medicine; Vice-president, Professor F. A. Brown, Jr., of the department of zoology; Secretary, Professor Wallace Givens, of the department of mathematics; Treasurer, Dr. I. M. Klotz, of the department of chemistry, and Member of the Nominating Committee, Professor M. J. Herskovits, of the department of anthropology.

At a recent meeting of the Rochester Chapter, the following new officers were elected: President, Professor R. W. Helmkamp; Vice-president, Dr. W. L. Bradford; Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. Charles D. Kochakian; Member of the Executive Committee, Professor Curt Stern; Members of the Nominating Committee, Dr. Harry Blair and Dr. Nolan Kaltreider. At the same meeting the late Professor-Emeritus Herman L. Fairchild, Professor-Emeritus Victor J. Chambers and Professor John R. Murlin were elected honorary members "in recognition of their meritorious service to the local chapter." The induction ceremonies were held on May 2.

The annual meeting of the Tufts College Chapter was held on May 11. Following the initiation of newly elected members and associate members, the officers for the academic year 1944–1945 were installed: President, Dr. Paul A. Warren, biology; President-elect, Dr. David Rapport, medicine; Vicepresident, Dr. Alvin H. Howell, electrical engineering; Secretary, Dr. Nils Y. Wessell, psychology; Treasurer, Dr. Herman R. Sweet, biology. The address of the evening was presented by Professor Kenneth Roeder, assistant professor of biology. He spoke on "The Physiology of Nerve Conduction."

A CHAPTER of the Society of the Sigma Xi was installed recently at Wayne University. The ceremonies were conducted by Dr. Harlow Shapley, president of the society, and Dr. George A. Baitsell, executive secretary. Dr. Shapley gave the installation address entitled "On Cooperation in Research." He also spoke later in the program on "Star Clusters." The officers of the chapter are as follows: President, William H. Pyle; President-elect, Arthur H. Smith; Secretary, Helen I. Miner; Treasurer, Ralph G. Janes, and Member of Executive Committee, Charles W. Creaser.

## THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

AT the annual meeting of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, held on May 10 at its house at 28 Newbury Street, Boston, the election of thirty-nine