## THE NATIONAL SCIENCE TEACHERS ASSOCIATION

The formation of The National Science Teachers Association, "to stimulate, improve and coordinate science teaching at elementary, secondary and collegiate levels of instruction" has been announced by Dr. Philip G. Johnson, assistant professor of rural education at Cornell University, president pro tem of the new organization.

The association has been formed as the first step in a merger of two national science teachers organizations—the American Science Teachers Association and the American Council of Science Teachers. It is expected ultimately to have more than twenty-five thousand members representing all teachers of science. It will be affiliated with the American Association for the Advancement of Science and with the National Education Association.

Its general aims are:

To make the influence of science teacher organizations a potent force through the unification of their efforts.

To initiate and maintain a national effort by scientists and educators to the end that the sciences may be given a just and reasonable opportunity to serve the needs of all youth and adults.

To plan a long range program for the improvement of the teaching of science.

To assist scientists and science teachers to work together and have a voice with other groups, such as teachers in other subject matter fields, supervisors and administrators, in defining plans and policies for public education.

To stimulate wide-spread and intelligent cooperative action on problems related to the teaching of science.

The preliminary organization, which is to hold office until the merger is completed, or until December 31, 1944, was developed at a recent meeting in Pittsburgh, participated in by leaders of eleven national and regional groups interested in the advancement and improvement of the teaching of science.

Participating were Norman R. D. Jones, of St. Louis, president of the American Council of Science Teachers; Dr. Morris Meister, of New York City, president of the American Science Teachers Association; Emil L. Massey, of Detroit, president of the Central Association of Science and Mathematics Teachers; Professor Hugh C. Muldoon, of Pittsburgh, of the Catholic Conference of Science Teachers; M. A. Russell, of Royal Oak, Mich., president of the Na-

tional Association of Biology Teachers; Dr. Reuben T. Shaw, of Philadelphia, of the Middle States Association of Science Teachers; W. H. Michener, of Pittsburgh, of the American Association of Physics Teachers; John C. Hogg, of Exeter, N. H., of the New England Association of Chemistry Teachers; Dr. Dwight E. Sollberger, of Indiana, Pa., of the American Nature Study Society; Laurence L. Quill, of Lexington, Ky., of the Division of Chemical Education of the American Chemical Society, and Dr. Johnson, of Cornell University and the Ithaca Public Schools, president pro tem.

Membership in the association will be open to all teachers of science, and to others interested. Provision is made for the affiliation of other groups. The headquarters of the association, for the present, will be at Cornell University.

## MEDAL DAY OF THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

The annual Medal Day ceremonies of the Franklin Institute of Philadelphia were held on April 19.

As already announced in SCIENCE, Franklin Medals were awarded to Dr. William David Coolidge, vice-president and director of research for the General Electric Company, and to Peter Kapitza, director of the Institute for Physical Problems of the Academy of Sciences, U. S. S. R.

The Francis J. Clamer Medal was awarded to Dr. Walther Emil Ludwig Mathesius, president of the Geneva Steel Company at Geneva, Utah, a former vice-president of the United States Steel Corporation, for "decidedly outstanding achievements in metallurgy and particularly for contributions in blast furnace practice."

Joseph Burroughs Ennis, senior vice-president of the American Locomotive Company, New York, received the George R. Henderson Medal for work in locomotive engineering and design.

Professor Stephen P. Timoshenko, of Stanford University, received the Louis E. Levy Medal for a paper entitled, "The Theory of Suspension Bridges," published in the journal of the institute.

Dr. Harvey Clayton Rentschler, director of research of the lamp division of the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company at Bloomfield, N. J., received the Frank P. Brown Medal "in consideration of his application of a source of bactericidal ultraviolet radiation in air conditioning systems."

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. E. V. McCollum, of the School of Hygiene and Public Health of the Johns Hopkins University, is the first recipient of the Borden Nutrition Award given by the American Institute of Nutrition. The citation reads: "In recognition of his long years of pioneering research in nutrition. His contributions