SCIENTIFIC EVENTS

THE FACULTY OF SCIENCE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF ANKARA

Nature gives an account of the opening, in the presence of President Inönü, on November 8, 1943, of a new Faculty of Science in the University of Ankara. The president, accompanied by the Prime Minister, Sükrü Saracoglu, was welcomed at the inauguration ceremony by the chairman of the National Assembly, B. B. Abdülhalik Renda. All the members of the Cabinet were present; R. F. Lucas, of the British Council, was also invited to attend the ceremony.

The Minister of Education, Hasan Ali Yücel, in his opening address, referred to Turkish progress during the twenty years since the establishment of the Republic. The consequent changes in the national outlook have developed a need for scientific and technical training which is now enhanced by the mechanization of armed forces in a world at war. Hitherto Turkish educational institutions have lacked equipment for practical training; but Turkey has now an established policy of education based on positive knowledge to reinforce the earlier practice of theoretical training only. The nation needs mechanical engineers, mining and civil engineers, and the great problem of Turkey to-day is to find the means for training students in large enough numbers to satisfy the national requirements without reducing the educational standard. The Government is keenly aware of these needs and has sanctioned the establishment of this faculty as a step to meet them. The assembly was later addressed by the rector of the faculty, by a student and by Professor Kerim Erin, of the Faculty of Science, University of Istanbul.

The new faculty is temporarily installed in the Gazi Teachers' Training Institute. The dean of the faculty, Bay Hayri Dener, is also professor of physics and a member of the Board of Education. The chair of chemistry and the presidency of the new Chemistry Institute of the faculty is held by Dr. Avni Refik Bekman. The Ministry of Education has invited the British Council to nominate British candidates for a professorship in each of the existing departments of chemistry, physics and mathematics. The establishment of this faculty thus implements the approval of the bill recently presented by the Turkish Cabinet to the Chamber of Deputies.

THE MAY CONVENTION OF THE SOCIETY OF AMERICAN BACTERIOLOGISTS

The Society of American Bacteriologists will convene in New York City at the Hotel Pennsylvania on May 3, 4 and 5 for the first time since December, 1941. The 1942 convention, scheduled for Columbus, Ohio, was cancelled by the society at the request of the Office of Defense Transportation and no attempt was made to plan a meeting during 1943. The present officers of the society include: President, I. L. Baldwin, University of Wisconsin; Past-president, Rebecca C. Lancefield, Rockefeller Institute; Vice-president,

Stuart Mudd, University of Pennsylvania; Secretary-Treasurer, W. C. Frazier, University of Wisconsin, and Councilors-at-Large, Martin Frobisher, Jr., the Johns Hopkins University; W. J. Nungester, the University of Michigan; N. Paul Hudson, the Ohio State University, and L. S. McClung, Indiana University.

The program will feature wartime topics and recent research in bacteriology and will include: "Recent Advances in Our Knowledge of the Physiology of Microorganisms," C. B. van Niel; "Electron Microscopy in the Field of Bacteriology," V. K. Zworykin, James Hillier and Perry C. Smith; "Antibiotic Activity as Viewed by a Mycologist," Charles Thom; "Mode of Action of Antibiotic Substances," Selman A. Waksman; "Standardization of Assay of Penicillin," Albert C. Hunter; and "An Analysis of the Therapeutic Action of Penicillin Based on the Clinical Response of Patients and Correlated Laboratory Findings," W. S. Tillett; a series of six papers in a general symposium on "Rickettsial Diseases"; a series of six papers prepared for the committee on teaching; round-table discussions on (a) "Taxonomy," A. P. Hitchens, convener; (b) "Atypical Pneumonia," Frank L. Horsfall, Jr., convener; (c) "Anaerobic Bacteria," Ivan C. Hall, convener; (d) "Airborne Infections," Alexander Hollaender, convener, and (e) "History of Bacteriology in New York City," Augustus B. Wadsworth, convener; showing of programs of films by the committee on visual instruction in microbiology, and an exhibit of a new console model of the electron microscope by the Radio Corporation of America.

In addition to the above, the program will include approximately 130 other papers on various topics as well as 25 or more exhibits by sustaining members, committees or members of the society. The Eli Lilly Award of \$1,000 and a medallion will be presented to a young bacteriologist in recognition of outstanding research accomplishment. The name of the recipient will not be announced until the annual dinner. The program will open at 10:00 a.m. on May 3. All sessions will be held in the Hotel Pennsylvania. Consistent with wartime conditions, all entertainment features have been eliminated from the program except the president's reception and dinner.

Members of the society will receive copies of the program from the secretary-treasurer; others may obtain information concerning the program from the chairman of the program committee, Dr. L. S. McClung, Indiana University, Bloomington.

THE PENNSYLVANIA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The twentieth annual meeting of the Pennsylvania Academy of Science will open at York on Friday