## THE ARGENTINE CITIZENS DECLARATION

MEMBERS of the Council of the American Physiological Society have signed a statement in appreciation of the declaration recently made by one hundred and fifty distinguished citizens of Argentina. This action caused the dismissal of Bernard A. Houssay, professor of physiology at the University of Buenos Aires, and of other well-known teachers of Argentina. The letter follows:

The undersigned, members of the Council of the American Physiological Society, deplore the action of the Argentine government in dismissing from public service those persons who signed the so-called Argentine Citizens Declaration (SCIENCE, 98: 467, 1943). The one hundred and fifty men who signed that manifesto were all men of distinction in many walks of life, and included in their number the professors of physiology in the three leading medical schools of the country. By their action, they have spoken valiantly and fearlessly for the cause of democracy and intellectual freedom. We admire their spirit and congratulate them for their self-sacrificing devotion to the cause of human liberty.

As free citizens of a sister American state, we desire to express publicly our sympathy for them in their present dilemma and our concern over this implied threat to the freedom of speech in the Americas. We are confident that these views are freely shared, almost without exception, by other members of the American Physiological Society to say nothing of the one hundred and thirty million other citizens of this country.

We hope that this letter may bring to our Argentine colleagues some well-deserved moral support and encouragement in their continuing championship of the cause of democracy and freedom for the sake of which, in this instance, they have been so cruelly victimized.

PHILIP BARD
C. H. BEST
HALLOWELL DAVIS
H. E. ESSEX
WALLACE O. FENN
W. F. HAMILTON
MAURICE B. VISSCHER

## AWARD OF THE WILLARD GIBBS MEDAL

Dr. George O. Curme, Jr., vice-president and director of research of the Carbide and Carbon Chemicals Corporation, New York, has been awarded the Willard

Gibbs Medal for 1944 of the Chicago Section of the American Chemical Society. The award is bestowed annually "in recognition of eminent work in and original contributions to pure or applied chemistry."

The citation reads in part: "More than any other individual Dr. Curme is responsible for the development of the Carbide and Carbon Chemicals Corporation and for its outstanding advances in the field of aliphatic chemistry. He may well head the list of those who have brought leadership in organic chemistry from Germany to the United States, particularly in the field of aliphatic chemistry."

Dr. Curme was born in Mount Vernon, Iowa, on September 24, 1888. He received the B.S. degree from Northwestern University in 1909 and the Ph.D. from the University of Chicago in 1913. He continued his graduate studies in Berlin, and from 1914 to 1920 he was a fellow at the Mellon Institute for Industrial Research, Pittsburgh. He became chief chemist of the Carbide and Carbon Chemicals Corporation in 1920, and since 1927 has been vice-president and director of research. He received the Chandler Medal in 1933, the Perkin Medal in 1935 and the Elliott Cresson Medal in 1936. He holds the honorary degree of doctor of science from Northwestern University.

The Willard Gibbs Medal, of which Dr. Curme is the thirty-third recipient, was founded in 1911 by William A. Converse, secretary of the Chicago Section from 1901 to 1909. It was named for Josiah Willard Gibbs, from 1871 to 1903 professor of mathematical physics at Yale University. The presentation will be made at a meeting of the Chicago Section on May 24.

Previous recipients of the medal include Dr. Vladimir N. Ipatieff, Svante Arrhenius, Mme. Marie Curie, Sir James Irvine, Dr. Richard Willstätter, Theodore W. Richards, Leo H. Baekeland, Ira Remsen, Arthur A. Noyes, Willis R. Whitney, Edward W. Morley, William H. Burton, William A. Noyes, F. G. Cottrell, Julius Stieglitz, Gilbert N. Lewis, Moses Gomberg, John Jacob Abel, William D. Harkins, Claude S. Hudson, Irving Langmuir, Phoebus A. Levene, Edward C. Franklin, Harold C. Urey, Charles A. Kraus, Roger Adams, Herbert N. McCoy, Donald Dexter Van Slyke, Robert R. Williams, Edward A. Doisy, Thomas Midgley, Jr., and Conrad Arnold Elvehjem.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Yandell Henderson, professor emeritus of applied physiology at Yale University, died on February 18 in his seventy-first year.

Dr. Charles B. Davenport, until his retirement in 1934 for thirty years director of the Station for Experimental Evolution of the Carnegie Institution at Cold Spring Harbor, N. Y., died on February 18 in his seventy-eighth year.

THE William Freeman Snow Medal was presented at the annual dinner meeting of the American Social Hygiene Association to Dr. Hugh S. Cumming, director of the Pan American Sanitary Bureau, previously