Dr. S. C. Prescott, dean emeritus of science of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology at Cambridge and first president of the institute, was the recipient of the second award last year.

Announcement of the selection of Dr. Browne to receive the 1944 medal was made on February 15. The medalist is elected by a jury of nine distinguished technologists representing various divisions of the food processing industry and from as many different geographical areas. Eligibility for the award is based on preeminence in the field of food technology and on contributions to the progressive development of food manufacture and processing.

Dr. Browne's contributions to food technology began in his undergraduate years at Williams College when he began the study of carbohydrates. He received his doctorate at the University of Göttingen. Later he was successively chief of the Sugar Laboratory of the U. S. Bureau of Chemistry, chief chemist of the New York Sugar Trade Laboratory, chief of the Bureau of Chemistry and chief of chemical and technological research of the Bureau of Chemistry and Soils. The citation reads in part: "He has been an unfettered investigator who struggled to remain free of administrative burdens, finally culminating in his appointment as supervisor of chemical research. He is justly deserving of the honor of the Nicholas Appert Medal if only for his researches and contributions to sugar technology, constituting as they do to-day an imposing and vital section of the literature and technology of carbohydrates." Presentation of the award will be made to Dr. Browne by Dr. M. L. Laing, chairman of the Chicago Section.

A feature of the meeting again this year will be an industrial exhibit in the hotel. Space will be assigned for thirty exhibits, which will be free to the public.

THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

At the meeting of the Executive Committee of the American Association for the Advancement of Science on February 6, the following actions were taken:

Section committeemen for a four-year term ending December 31, 1947:

Mathematics, T. R. Hollcroft, Wells College.

Physics, Joseph C. Boyce, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.

Astronomy, Bart Jan Bok, 32 Scott Road, Belmont, Mass. Geology and Geography, Carey Croneis, University of Chicago.

Zoological Sciences, Charles W. Metz, University of Pennsylvania.

Botanical Sciences, J. W. Shive, New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station.

Anthropology, Ralph Beals, University of California at Los Angeles.

Psychology, Willard L. Valentine, 620 University Place, Evanston, Ill.

Social and Economic Sciences, Frederick C. Mills, Columbia University.

Historical and Philological Sciences, Arno B. Luckhardt, University of Chicago.

Medical Sciences, N. C. Foot, 340 East 72nd Street, New York, N. Y.

Agriculture, C. E. Kellogg, U. S. Agricultural Research Administration.

Education, S. R. Powers, Teachers College, Columbia University.

It was voted to hold the annual meeting of the association for 1944 in Cleveland, Ohio, during the week of September 11-16.

It was voted to bring to the attention of the association and of all the affiliated societies that in all programs of the September meeting emphasis be placed on the indispensability of science for the future of civilization, both in war and in peace.

Publication of the conference on hormones, presented at the Gibson Island Research Conferences in Chemistry in 1943, was authorized.

The Population Association of America and the Electron Microscope Society were accepted as associated societies of the association.

The election of Dr. Burton E. Livingston as chairman and of Dr. Roger Adams as a member of the committee and the election of vice-presidents of the sections were reported last week (Science, February 11, pp. 120–121).

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Irving Langmuir, associate director of the General Electric Research Laboratory, has been awarded the Faraday Medal of the Institution of Electrical Engineers, London. The medal was established in 1922 and is given for world-wide services to electric science and engineering. Among those who have received the award are Oliver Heaviside, Sir J. J. Thomson, Lord Rutherford and Sir Oliver Lodge. Dr. Langmuir is the fourth American to receive this medal. In 1927 it was given to Professor Elihu Thom-

son, one of the founders of the General Electric Company; in 1935 to Dr. Frank B. Jewett, president of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, and in 1939 to Dr. William D. Coolidge, vice-president in charge of research of the General Electric Company.

The Medal of Honor of the American Institute of Radio Engineers was presented at the annual dinner on January 28 to Haraden Pratt, chief engineer of the Mackay Radio and Telegraph Company, "in recog-