research and related educational purposes, was announced on January 21 by Dr. Harvey N. Davis, president of the Stevens Institute of Technology, at the forty-first annual dinner of the Alumni Association. The foundation, which will carry on its work in cooperation with the college, aims to help to meet the new demands of the reconstruction era, including new products, new uses for old products and new and improved manufacturing processes.

In a statement made by Dr. Davis, he said:

The research activities of Stevens have grown to such proportions that they merit an administrative set-up separate from that of the undergraduate college. All our present special research laboratories will be conducted by the new foundation. Close relationships will be maintained between the college and the foundation and their faculty and staffs—between the teaching and investigative functions.

He said that the first concrete projects to be undertaken will include powder metallurgy, towing tank and sound research, all already existing or in process of planning.

Dr. Davis, who is director of the Office of Production Research and Development of the War Production Board and who recently returned from a war mission to England, has been elected president of the trustees of the foundation.

The other trustees are Dr. Robert Crooks Stanley, president of the International Nickel Company of Canada, Ltd., and chairman of the board of trustees of Stevens Institute; Robert Cox Post, president of Post and McCord, Inc., and chairman of the executive committee of the trustees of the college; Willis Horr Taylor, Jr., member of the law firm of Pennie, Davis, Marvin and Edmonds; Charles Engelhard, president of Baker and Company, Inc.; George L. Morrison, president of the General Baking Company of New York, and James Creese, vice-president of Stevens Institute. All are trustees of the college. Mr. Post will serve as vice-president of the foundation, Mr. Taylor as secretary and Mr. Creese as treasurer.

## THE WASHINGTON ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

OFFICERS of the Washington Academy of Sciences for 1944 have been elected as follows:

President, Clement L. Garner.

Secretary, F. G. Brickwedde.

Treasurer, Howard S. Rappleye.

Vice-presidents representing the affiliated societies:

Philosophical Society of Washington, Harold F. Stimson.

Anthropological Society of Washington, T. Dale Stewart. Biological Society of Washington, Harry B. Humphrey. Chemical Society of Washington, Edgar R. Smith. Entomological Society of Washington, Austin H. Clark. National Geographic Society, Alexander Wetmore. Geological Society of Washington, Herbert Insley. Medical Society of the District of Columbia, Fred O.

Coe.

Columbia Historical Society, Gilbert H. Grosvenor. Botanical Society of Washington, L. Edwin Yocum. Washington Section of the Society of American Foresters, William A. Dayton.

Washington Society of Engineers, Frank B. Scheetz.

Washington Section of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, Francis B. Silsbee.

Washington Section of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Walter Ramberg.

Helminthological Society of Washington, Emmett W. Price.

Washington Branch of the Society of American Bacteriologists, Ralph P. Tittsler.

Washington Post of the Society of American Military Engineers, William N. Corse.

Washington Section of the Institute of Radio Engineers, Herbert G. Dorsey.

Washington Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers, Owen B. French.

Elected members of the Board of Managers for a term of three years, Henry G. Avers and Francis M. Defandorf.

Elected member of the Board of Managers for a term of one year, William A. Dayton.

## THE BOTANICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

AT a business meeting of the Botanical Society of America, Inc., held at the New York Botanical Garden on January 8, new officers were elected and general business transacted. The newly elected president is Dr. Gilbert M. Smith, of Stanford University. Dr. Paul Weatherwax, of Indiana University, was elected vice-president, and the new treasurer is Dr. George S. Avery, of Connecticut College. Dr. Edmund W. Sinnott, of Yale University, was elected to the editorial board of the *American Journal of Botany*, Dr. A. J. Eames, of Cornell University, is the new representative to the National Research Council, and Dr. E. J. Kraus, of the University of Chicago, is alternate representative.

The question of annual meetings during wartime was discussed, and it was voted that if sections F and G of the American Association for the Advancement of Science should organize national meetings, the Botanical Society of America would cooperate by participation in these meetings. It was further voted that if national meetings are not held for the duration of the war, then the society favors the organization of regional meetings for botanists, and recommends that such meetings shall be held when not in conflict with instructions from the Office of Defense Transportation.