Dr. Carl F. Prutton, professor of chemical engineering at Western Reserve University, has been appointed general chairman of the meeting. Dr. Eric A. Arnold, associate professor of chemistry at the Case School of Applied Science, has been named general vice-chairman. Dr. Harold S. Booth, head of the department of physical science at Western Reserve, is honorary chairman.

Vice-chairmen to direct the work of local committees on arrangements for the convention are W. J. Bartlett, Mathew M. Braidech, G. H. McIntyre, A. S. Weygandt and F. M. Whitacre.

## AWARDS OF THE INSTITUTE OF THE AERONAUTICAL SCIENCES

THE Institute of the Aeronautical Sciences under the presidency of Major R. H. Fleet opened its twelfth annual meeting with the "honors night" dinner in the Waldorf-Astoria, New York City, on January 24. The following awards were made:

General Henry H. Arnold, commanding general of the Army Air Forces, an honorary fellowship, presented by Brigadier-General Frank P. Lahm, retired.

Sir Richard Fairey, director-general of the British Air Commission, an honorary fellowship, presented by T. P. Wright, of the War Production Board.

Sanford A. Moss, consulting engineer of General Electric, the Sylvanus Albert Reed award, presented by Charles L. Lawrence, head of Lawrence Engineering and Research.

Lieutenant-Colonel Joseph J. George, of the Army Air Forces Weather Division, the Robert M. Losey award, presented by F. W. Reichelderfer, chief of the United States Weather Bureau.

Brigadier-General Eugen G. Reinartz, commandant of the Army School of Aviation Medicine, the John Jeffries award, presented by Major-General D. N. W. Grant, air surgeon of the Army Air Forces.

William H. McAvoy, chief test pilot of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, the Octave Chanute award "for continuous service in the flight-testing of experimental airplanes under hazardous conditions."

William B. Bergen, chief flight test engineer of the Glenn L. Martin Company, the Lawrence Sperry award, presented by E. G. Sperry, Jr., vice-president of Sperry Products.

Colonel H. F. Gregory, of the Army Air Forces, the Thurman H. Bane award "for his contribution to the military and commercial development and use of the helicopter," presented by Igor I. Sikorsky, of the Vought-Sikorsky Aircraft Division of United Aircraft.

## THE GIBSON ISLAND RESEARCH CONFERENCES

THE seventh series of the Gibson Island special research conferences on chemistry of the American Association for the Advancement of Science will begin on June 12. There will be eleven conferences during the summer of 1944, each extending over a period of five days, from Monday to Friday, inclusive, on successive weeks. The final conference will open on Monday, August 21. The subjects of the eleven conferences are:

1. Petroleum Chemistry. June 12–16. Frederick D. Rossini, chairman; George Calingaert, vice-chairman.

2. Catalysis. June 19-23. Otto Beeck, chairman; P. H. Emmett, vice-chairman.

3. Organic Highpolymers. June 26-30. H. Mark, chairman; Emil Ott, vice-chairman.

4. Medicinal Chemistry. July 3-7. D. L. Tabern, chairman; W. G. Bywater, vice-chairman.

5. Textiles. July 10-14. Milton Harris, chairman; Warren F. Busse, vice-chairman.

6. Strategic Materials. July 17-21. Robert Calvert, chairman; Richard J. Block, vice-chairman.

7. Vitamins. July 24-28. Walter C. Russell, chairman; James Waddell, vice-chairman.

8. Cancer. July 31-August 4. Dean Burk, chairman; Ralph G. Meader, vice-chairman.

9. Corrosion. August 7-11. F. L. LaQue, chairman; G. H. Young, vice-chairman.

10. Instrumentation. August 14-18. W. G. Brombacker, chairman; J. G. Ziegler, vice-chairman.

11. X-ray and Electron Diffraction. August 21-25. Lester H. Germer, chairman; P. Debye, vice-chairman.

The island offers opportunities for golf, tennis, bathing in both salt and fresh water, fishing and swimming. Yacht races are held off the shore at various times during the summer.

The conference property was purchased and furnished by the association with gifts of \$1,000 each from industrial companies whose laboratories have been represented at the conferences, each company having the right to have one representative at each conference. Attendance is limited to 60 persons, distributed as widely as possible among representatives of industrial, foundation and university laboratories.

Registration for the coming summer should be made before February 20 with the director, Dr. Neil E. Gordon, Wayne University, Detroit, who is secretary of the Section on Chemistry of the association.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Distinguished Service to Geography Award of the National Council of Geography Teachers has been given to President Wallace W. Atwood, of Clark University, "for his persistent efforts to advance geography, especially for his headship, since 1920, of the Graduate School of Geography at Clark University and his establishment and editorship of *Economic Geography* since 1925."