twenty-four by Colonel Richard P. Strong, director of tropical medicine of the school, assisted by Lieutenant Colonel Thomas T. Mackie, the executive officer of the course. Graduates of this class included officers of the United States, Canadian and Peruvian armies and officers of state health departments.

Colonel G. R. Callender, director of the Army Medical School, presided. A simple ceremony commemorating the fiftieth anniversary honored Colonel Deane C. Howard, U. S. A., retired, who ranked No. 1 in the first class to graduate. Members of the faculty signing this diploma were Assistant Surgeon General G. H. Alden, first officer to command the school; W. H. Forwood and John S. Billings, deputy surgeons general; Charles Smart and Walter Reed, surgeons, and J. M. Cabell, assistant surgeon. Colonel Howard has had a distinguished career in the Medical Corps of the Army and was the chief of the Division of Sanitation in the Office of the Surgeon General in World War I. It was announced that a brochure covering the history of the school is being prepared.

OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

Dr. Carl Shipp Marvel, professor of organic chemistry at the University of Illinois, has been elected president of the American Chemical Society for 1945. He will take office as president-elect on January 1, when Dr. Thomas Midgley, Jr., vice-president of the Ethyl Corporation, becomes president, succeeding Dr. Per K. Frolich, director of the Chemical Division of the Esso Laboratories of the Standard Oil Development Company, Elizabeth, N. J. The new president-elect was chosen by the council from four nominees receiving the largest number of votes in a national mail ballot of the approximately 40,000 members of the society.

Dr. Robert E. Wilson, of New York, president of the Pan American Petroleum and Transport Company, and Professor Roger Adams, head of the department of chemistry of the University of Illinois, were elected directors of the society. Dr. Ernest H. Volwiler, of Abbott Laboratories, Chicago, was named director at large.

The following councilors at large were chosen: Dr. Henry B. Hass, Purdue University; Dr. Joel H. Hildebrand, University of California; Dr. Gustav E. F. Lundell, National Bureau of Standards, Washington, D. C.; Dr. Linus C. Pauling, California Institute of Technology.

Dr. Marvel was recently awarded the 1944 William H. Nichols Medal of the New York Section of the American Chemical Society, one of the highest distinctions in chemical science. It is conferred annually to stimulate original research in chemistry.

The presentation will be made at a meeting of the New York Section on March 10.

Dr. Marvel was cited for outstanding organic chemical contributions to the structure of vinyl polymers, used as synthetic plastics, particularly in the production of transparent aircraft pieces; as rubber substitutes and as thickening and blending agents in the chemical manufacturing industry. The citation also stressed the importance of his research in the structure of polymers of sulphur dioxide and olefines.

Dr. Marvel has carried out notable investigations in the fields of synthetic and structural organic chemistry, including the development of practical methods for preparing amino-acids, which are becoming increasingly important in the preparation of synthetic diets for intravenous feeding. Other studies have dealt with the relationship of hydrogen bonding and solubility behaviors, which forms the basis for one method of electrical refrigeration operating at low pressure, minimizing explosion hazards; the identification of organic compounds; the effect of structure in hexaarylethanes; the synthesis and rearrangement of polyines and polyynes and the organo-metallic compounds.

AWARD OF THE EDISON MEDAL TO DR. VANNEVAR BUSH

Dr. Vannevar Bush, president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington and director of the Office of Scientific Research and Development of the Office of Emergency Management, Washington, D. C., has been awarded the Edison Medal for 1943 of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers. The award goes to Dr. Bush "for his contribution to the advancement of electrical engineering, particularly through the development of new applications of mathematics to engineering problems, and for his eminent service to the Nation in guiding the war research program." The medal will be presented on January 26 at a general session of the winter technical meeting of the institute in the Engineering Societies Building, New York, N. Y.

The Edison Medal was founded by associates and friends of Thomas A. Edison and is awarded annually for "meritorious achievement in electrical science, electrical engineering or the electrical arts" by a committee of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers.

Dr. Bush joined the faculty of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1919 as associate professor of electric power transmission, and became professor in 1923. He was appointed vice-president and dean of the school of engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, in 1932. He has been president of