the work of the Department of Inter-American Affairs in Latin America with especial reference to Venezuela.

The attendance at all sessions of the thirty-ninth annual meeting was the largest in the history of the society.

THE NEW YORK ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

The one hundred and twenty-sixth annual meeting of the New York Academy of Sciences was held on December 15. Dr. Horace W. Stunkard, of New York University, delivered the address of the retiring president. His subject was "How do Tapeworms of Herbivorous Animals Complete Their Life Cycles?" Vilhjalmur Stefansson spoke on "The Arctic Mediterranean." As already announced in Science, Dr. Duncan A. MacInnes, a member of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, was elected president of the academy.

Honorary life members were elected as follows: Professor Alexander Fleming, of the University of London and the Royal College of Surgeons, discoverer of penicillin; Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins, of the University of Cambridge; Professor The Svedberg, head of the Institute of Physical Chemistry, and Professor Arne Tiselius, biochemist, both of the University of Uppsala; Dr. Oswald T. Avery, bacteriologist, a member of the Rockefeller Institute, and Dr. Alfred L. Kroeber, director of the Museum of Anthropology of the University of California.

A. Cressy Morrison prizes of \$200 each for papers selected from eight submitted in competition were awarded to Dr. William Augustus Ritchie, archeologist of the Museum of Arts and Sciences at Rochester, N. Y., for his study of "aboriginal cultures in New York State prior to the dominion of the Iroquois tribes"; and to Dr. Arnold Grobman, of the University of Rochester, for his paper on the "Distribution of Salamanders of the Genus Plethodon in the Eastern United States and Canada."

THE INSTITUTE OF RADIO ENGINEERS

THE Institute of Radio Engineers will hold its 1944 winter technical meeting at the Hotel Commodore, New York City, on Friday and Saturday, January 28 and 29.

Hubert M. Turner, associate professor of electrical engineering at Yale University, has been elected president of the institute. He succeeds Dr. Lynde P. Wheeler, of the Federal Communications Commission.

The meeting will be devoted to the domestic, international and war aspects of radio and electronic engineering. In addition to technical papers, the program will contain several features, including participating activities by the Federal Communications Commission, a display of captured enemy radio equipment and a

discussion on the newly formed Radio Technical Planning Board.

Arrangements have been made with the American Institute of Electrical Engineers for a joint evening meeting on Thursday, January 27, to be held in the auditorium of the Engineering Societies Building. Major General R. B. Colton, of the Signal Corps, will talk about enemy communication equipment and will display some of the captured apparatus. This equipment will be at the Hotel Commodore on Friday afternoon, January 28.

The American Institute of Electrical Engineers is holding its technical meeting during the week of January 24, and, for the convenience of members of the Institute of Radio Engineers who desire to attend, their papers will be concentrated during the afternoon session of January 27.

Each year the Institute of Radio Engineers recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of radio communication by the bestowal of two awards. One recognizes, in general, an extensive service over a period of years, while the other is usually conferred for a more recent contribution.

The Institute Medal of Honor is given in recognition of distinguished service in radio communication. It is awarded to one who has been responsible for an important advance in the science or art of radio communication. This advancement may be a single development or it may be a series of developments which in the aggregate have resulted in substantial improvements in radio communication.

The Morris Liebmann Memorial Prize, to perpetuate the memory of the late Colonel Morris N. Liebmann, is made possible through the generosity of E. J. Simon, a fellow of the institute. The award consists of the income from a gift of \$10,000, and is not a stated amount, as it is the interest from the securities in which the principal is invested. The recipient is a member of the institute and has made public during the recent past an important contribution to radio communications.

At this meeting the 1943 Medal of Honor will be presented to Haraden Pratt and the 1943 Morris Liebmann Memorial Prize to W. L. Barrow.

THE FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY OF THE ARMY MEDICAL SCHOOL

The Army Medical School, founded in 1893 by Surgeon General George M. Sternberg, marked its fiftieth anniversary at the graduation exercises of the sixteenth class in military and tropical medicine on December 18. Major General Shelley U. Marietta introduced Major General Norman T. Kirk, the Surgeon General of the Army, who gave the address. Certificates were presented to the class of one hundred and