made for fellowships for young graduate students who are candidates for advanced degrees to permit them to continue their work in this field.

THE ALABAMA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The new officers for the Alabama Academy of Science for 1943-44 are: President, Dr. E. V. Jones, Birmingham-Southern College; President-Elect, Dr. James T. MacKenzie, American Cast Iron and Pipe Company; Secretary, Winnie McGlamery, Alabama Geological Survey, University; Councilor of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Dr. Septima C. Smith, University; Councilors of Junior Academy, Dr. Alvin V. Beatty, University: Miss Kathryn M. Boehmer, Birmingham; Section Chairmen: Biology and Medicine, Dr. J. M. Robinson, Alabama Polytechnic Institute; Chemistry, W. C. Frishe, Alabama Polytechnic Institute; Geology and Anthropology, Peter A. Brannon, Department of Archives and History, Montgomery; Geography and Conservation, Miss Lillian Worley, Alabama College, Montevallo; Physics and Mathematics, Dr. G. F. Barnes, Judson College, Marion; Industry and Economics, Roy Goslin, Alabama Polytechnic Institute; the Teaching of Science, Dr. J. L. Kassner, University.

The Alabama Academy of Science did not hold the usual spring meeting in 1943, which was scheduled at Auburn. Instead there was a called meeting of the executive committee during the latter part of April in Birmingham, at which time it was decided that the 1944 spring meeting of the academy would be held in Birmingham, the date to be determined later.

WINNIE McGLAMERY,
Secretary

AWARDS OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers conferred its 1943 honors and awards at the dinner program of its sixty-fourth annual meeting at the Hotel Pennsylvania on December 1. Harold V. Coes, retiring president of the society, and Ralph S. Damon, general manager of American Airlines, Inc., were the speakers.

The medal of the society was awarded to Lewis K. Sillcox, a fellow of the society, first vice-president of the New York Airbrake Company and vice-president of Hydraulic Controls, Inc., Chicago. Established in 1920, the medal is given for "distinguished service in engineering and science." The citation accompanying the award reads in part: "Eminent engineer executive, distinguished lecturer . . . a lover of wisdom . . . for his preeminent and permanent contribution to the art and science of engineering, of transportation, of education and the fine art of living."

Dr. Vannevar Bush, president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, D. C., and director of the Office of Scientific Research and Development, was awarded the Holley Medal as "engineering educator, inventor and leader in scientific research," for "machines used in easing applied mathematics from computational barriers." This medal, instituted and endowed in 1924 by George I. Rockwood, past president of the society, is given for engineering genius that has accomplished "a great and timely public benefit." Dr. Bush is the builder of the differential analyzer, a machine for solving differential equations.

Igor I. Sikorsky, of Vought-Sikorsky Aircraft, Stratford, Conn., a fellow of the society, inventor of the helicopter and the Sikorsky multi-motored amphibian, received the Worcester Reed Warner Medal, given for a paper dealing with progressive ideas in mechanical engineering or efficiency in management. The medal was awarded "for his stimulation of the engineer in those priceless attributes, imagination and creative ability" and for his inspiration to young engineers engaged in research and development.

Three awards were made which are presented jointly with other societies:

Dr. Charles F. Kettering, of Detroit, general manager of the Research Laboratories Division of General Motors, president of C. F. Kettering, Inc., and vice-president of General Motors, was presented with the John Fritz Medal for 1944. The citation reads: "For notable achievements in the field of industrial research which have contributed greatly to the welfare of mankind and of the nations." In addition to the John Fritz Medal, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Medal for 1940, which had never been formally conferred, was given to him for "outstanding invention and research."

The Alfred Noble Prize, a cash award given jointly by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and four other engineering societies, was presented to Dr. Benjamin J. Lazan, of Greenwich, Conn., chief engineer of the Sonntag Scientific Corporation, for his monograph: "Some Mechanical Properties of Plastics and Metals under Sustained Vibration."

Dexter Simpson Kimball, dean emeritus of the College of Engineering of Cornell University, was awarded the Henry Laurence Gantt Memorial Gold Medal for "outstanding attainment in the teaching and practice of industrial management and for distinguished contributions to its literature." He is a fellow, honorary member and past president of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and a Warner Medalist. This award is presented jointly with the American Management Association.