Medical School, Baltimore (reelected); Walter R. Miles, Yale University School of Medicine (succeeding Oswald Veblen).

New Foreign Associates:

Alfonso Caso, Instituto Nacional de Antropologia e Historia, Mexico City

- Harold Spencer Jones, Royal Observatory, Greenwich, England
- Richard Vynne Southwell, Brasenose College, University of Oxford
- Charles Edward Spearman, University of London
- Sir D'Arcy Wentworth Thompson, University of St. Andrews
- Hendrik Johannes van der Bijl, University of Pretoria, South Africa

New Members:

Leason Heberling Adams, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington

Abraham Adrian Albert, University of Chicago

Jesse Wakefield Beams, University of Virginia

Arthur Francis Buddington, Princeton University

Leonard Carmichael, Tufts College, Medford, Mass.

- William Henry Chandler, University of California at Los Angeles
- Edwin Joseph Cohn, Harvard Medical School
- John Nathaniel Couch, University of North Carolina
- Theodosius Dobzhansky, Columbia University

Lee Alvin DuBridge, University of Rochester

Leslie Clarence Dunn, Columbia University

Wallace Osgood Fenn, University of Rochester

Paul Darwin Foote, Gulf Research and Development Company, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Louis Plack Hammett, Columbia University

William Vermillion Houston, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena

- Walter Pearson Kelley, Citrus Experiment Station, Riverside, Calif.
- Warfield Theobald Longcope, the Johns Hopkins University
- Eli Kennerly Marshall, Jr., the Johns Hopkins Medical School
- Leonor Michaelis, Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, New York City

William Albert Noyes, Jr., University of Rochester

- Oswald Hope Robertson, University of Chicago
- Carl-Gustaf Arvid Rossby, University of Chicago
- Calvin Perry Stone, Stanford University
- Charles Vincent Taylor, Stanford University
- Hubert Bradford Vickery, Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, New Haven
- Vladimir Kosma Zworykin, RCA Manufacturing Company, Camden, N. J.

RECENT DEATHS

DR. H. GIDEON WELLS, professor emeritus of pathology of the University of Chicago, died on April 26 at the age of sixty-seven years.

DR. GEORGE MCPHAIL SMITH, professor of inorganic chemistry at the University of Washington, died on April 6 at the age of sixty-four years.

DR. LOUIS AGASSIZ TEST, until his retirement in 1941 for twenty-three years professor of chemistry at Purdue University, died on April 23. He was sixtyeight years old.

DR. ALBERT P. BRUBAKER, professor of physiology and medical jurisprudence at Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, from 1909 to 1927, a member of the faculty for fifty-three years, died on April 29 at the age of ninety years.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Theobald Smith Award of \$1,000 and a bronze medal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, established by Eli Lilly and Company in 1935, has been given to Dr. Sidney C. Madden, assistant professor of pathology at the School of Medicine and Dentistry of the University of Rochester, in recognition of his work on "Plasma Proteins."

THE Civic Medal, awarded annually by the Rochester Museum Association, will be presented on May 13 to Dr. George H. Whipple, dean of the School of Medicine and Dentistry of the University of Rochester.

THE Board of Directors of the Sociedad de Agricultores de Colombia has named the following as corresponding members: Dr. Alexander Wetmore, assistant secretary, Smithsonian Institution; Dr. Edward A. Chapin, curator of insects, U. S. National Museum; Dr. Ellsworth P. Killip, associate curator, Division of Plants, U. S. National Museum; Dr. C. P. Clausen, principal entomologist, in charge of Importation of Natural Enemies used to Control Insect Pests, Bureau of Entomology and Plant Quarantine, U. S. Department of Agriculture; Dr. H. Atherton Lee, director, Insular Experiment Station, Mayaguëz, Puerto Rico.

ALFRED C. WEED, for the past twenty-two years curator of fishes at Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, retired on April 30. A farewell reception was held in his honor by fellow workers, who presented him with bound volumes of his writings in both the scientific and popular fields.

THE Executive Committee of the American Society of Zoologists, by mail ballot, have elected the following officers proposed by the nominating committee: *President*, Professor T. S. Painter, University of Texas; *Vice-president*, Professor L. H. Snyder, the Ohio State University; *Secretary*, Dr. L. V. Domm,