Massachusetts; Dr. Oscar Haleski, formerly professor of history at the University of Warsaw, at present director of the Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences in New York, and Dr. Edward Rosen, Copernican scholar and instructor in history at the College of the City of New York.

Musical features will include the traditional Polish "Hejnal" or "The Broken Note Signal," dating from the legendary trumpeter of Krakow in the thirteenth century, whose warning saved the city from the Tartar invasion; the national anthems of the United States and Poland, and the Gaude Mater Polonia, Alma Mater song of the University of Krakow, sung by the Schola Cantorum of New York, and solo selections by Wanda Landowska, Polish harpsichordist, and by Bronislaw Huberman, Polish violinist.

THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

AT the annual general meeting of the American Philosophical Society, held in the hall of the society at Independence Square, Philadelphia, on April 22, 23 and 24, the following officers were elected:

President, Edwin G. Conklin.

- Vice-presidents, Frederick P. Keppel, Edward P. Chevney, Thomas H. Morgan.
- Secretaries, W. F. G. Swann, Ernest M. Patterson.

Curator, John Story Jenks.

Treasurer, Fidelity-Philadelphia Trust Company.

Councillors, Arthur B. Coble, Class I; Herbert S. Gasser, Class II; Edmund E. Day, Class III, and Frank Aydelotte, Class IV.

The following twenty-seven resident and five foreign residents were elected :

MATHEMATICAL AND PHYSICAL SCIENCES

- Raymond Thayer Birge, professor of physics, University of California
- Samuel Colville Lind, dean, Institute of Technology, University of Minnesota
- Donald Howard Menzel, associate professor of astrophysics, Harvard University
- Marshall Harvey Stone, professor of mathematics, Harvard University
- Merle Antony Tuve, chief physicist, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution of Washington

Frank Clifford Whitmore, dean, School of Chemistry and Physics, Pennsylvania State College

Foreign

Sir William Lawrence Bragg, Cavendish professor of experimental physics, University of Cambridge

Luitzen Egbertus Jan v. Brouwer, professor of mathematics, University of Amsterdam

Godofredo García Díaz, professor in the faculty of sciences of the University of San Marcos, Lima

GEOLOGICAL AND BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Rollin Thomas Chamberlin, professor of geology, University of Chicago

- Ralph Works Chaney, professor of paleontology and chairman of the department of paleontology, University of California
- Hans Thacher Clarke, professor of biochemistry, Columbia University
- Leslie Clarence Dunn, professor of zoology, Columbia University
- Ernest William Goodpasture, professor of pathology, Vanderbilt University
- Warren Harmon Lewis, member, Wistar Institute of Anatomy and Biology
- George Linius Streeter, director, department of embryology, Carnegie Institution of Washington (retired)

SOCIAL SCIENCES

- Julian Parks Boyd, librarian, Princeton University
- Douglas Southall Freeman, editor, Richmond News-Leader
- Owen Lattimore, lecturer, director, Walter Hines Page School of International Relations, the Johns Hopkins University
- Henry Allen Moe, secretary-general, Guggenheim Memorial Foundation
- Walter W. Stewart, professor, School of Economics and Politics, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N. J.
- Quincy Wright, professor of international law, University of Chicago

HUMANITIES

- William Ernest Hocking, Alford professor of philosophy, Harvard University
- Fiske Kimball, director, Philadelphia Museum of Art
- Charles Grosvenor Osgood, professor emeritus of English, Princeton University
- Erwin Panofsky, professor of the history of art, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N. J.
- Mary Hamilton Swindler, professor of classical archeology, Bryn Mawr College
- George Clapp Vaillant, director, University Museum, University of Pennsylvania

Foreign

- John Davidson Beazley, professor of classical archeology, University of Oxford
- Alan Henderson Gardiner, editor, Journal of Egyptian Archeology, London

COUNCIL NOMINEES

- Chester Irving Barnard, president, New Jersey Bell Telephone Company
- Henry Agard Wallace, Vice-president of the United States

THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

ELECTIONS at the spring meeting of the National Academy of Sciences, held in Washington on April 26 and 27, are:

President, Dr. Frank B. Jewett, New York City, reelected for a further term of four years, ending June 30, 1947.

Home Secretary, Dr. F. E. Wright, 2134 Wyoming Avenue, Washington, D. C., reelected for a further term of four years, ending June 30, 1947.

Members of the Council (terms, three years ending June 30, 1946), W. Mansfield Clark, Johns Hopkins