important advances in fundamental aspects of evolutionary theory.

Kon, George Armand Robert. Research professor of chemistry at the Royal Cancer Hospital. Distinguished for his researches in organic chemistry. During recent years his work on the polyterpenes has provided the basis for a number of important developments.

McCance, Andrew. Director and general manager, Messrs. Colville's Ltd., Motherwell. Distinguished for his work in the steel industry and particularly for his applications of physical chemistry to the processes of steel making.

Penfield, Wilder. Director of the Montreal Neurological Institute. Distinguished for his researches in neuro-histology and as a neuro-surgeon.

Pilgrim, Guy Ellcock. Formerly superintendent of the Geological Survey of India. Distinguished for his contributions to the geology of India, particularly in the field of Tertiary stratigraphy, and for his researches in vertebrate paleontology.

Stradling, Reginald Edward. Chief adviser, research and experiments department, Ministry of Home Security. Distinguished for his researches on the properties of building materials and for his direction of the Building and Road Research Stations and of the researches relating to civil defense.

Sykes, Charles. Superintendent of the metallurgy department of the National Physical Laboratory. Distinguished for his fundamental scientific research.

Synge, John Lighton. Professor of applied mathematics, Toronto. Distinguished for his contributions to mathematics, particularly to the geometry of dynamics, the theory of relativity, hydro-dynamics and electricity.

Temple, George Frederick James. Professor of mathematics, Kings College, London. Distinguished for his contributions to mathematical physics, particularly to quantum theory, relativity and mechanics.

Du Toit, Alexander Logie. Lately consulting geologist to the De Beers Consolidated Mines. Distinguished for his contributions to the geology and petrology of South Africa, particularly his work on the Karroo system and his comparative study of the equivalent succession of South America.

Zuckerman, Solly. Professor of anatomy, University of

Birmingham. Distinguished for his studies on the morphology and relationship of the primates and on their reproductive physiology. He has also made outstanding contributions to the study of social behavior in the lower primates.

MEDAL DAY OF THE FRANKLIN INSTI-TUTE, PHILADELPHIA

MEDAL DAY ceremonies of the Franklin Institute will be held on Wednesday evening, April 21, at half past five o'clock and will open with a reception to the medalists at which a portrait of Past-president P. C. Staples will be unveiled. A dinner and the presentation of awards will follow.

Certificate of Merit to Carl S. Hornberger, Central Scientific Company, Chicago. The Longstreth Medals jointly to Robert Griffin De La Mater and William Schwemlein, the Parkersburg Rig and Reel Company, W. Va. The Wetherill Medal to Robert Howland Leach, Vice-president, Handy and Harman, Bridgeport, Conn. The Brown Medal (posthumously) to Albert Kahn, Albert Kahn Associated Architects and Engineers, Inc., Detroit. Received by Mrs. Kahn. The Henderson Medal to Harry Miller Pflager, senior vice-president, General Steel Castings Corporation, Illinois. The Levy Medal to Anders Henrik Bull, assistant engineer, Board of Transportation of the City of New York. The Potts Medals to Francisco Ballén, director, National Guano Administration, Lima, Peru, and Paul Renno Heyl, National Bureau of Standards. The Cresson Medal to Charles Metcalf Allen, professor of hydraulic engineering, Worcester Polytechnic Institute. The Franklin Medal and Certificate of Honorary Membership to George Washington Pierce, Rumford professor of physics, emeritus, and Gordon McKay professor of communication engineering, emeritus, Harvard University, and to Harold Clayton Urey, professor of chemistry and executive officer, department of chemistry, Columbia University.

Following the presentation of the awards Dr. Pierce will make an address entitled "Songs of Insects" and Dr. Urey will speak on "The First Ten Years of Heavy Hydrogen."

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. KARL T. COMPTON, president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will deliver the Pilgrim Trust lecture at Burlington House, London, on May 6. The Pilgrim Trust sponsors an exchange of lectures on alternate years between the National Academy of Sciences and the Royal Society.

THE Charles Frederick Chandler Medal, awarded annually by Columbia University for noted achievements in the field of chemistry, has been given this year to Willard H. Dow, of Midland, Mich., president of the Dow Chemical Company. The Chandler Medal was established in 1910 in honor of Professor Chandler, a pioneer in industrial chemistry. The presentation to Mr. Dow will take place on May 20 in Havemeyer Hall, when he will deliver the Chandler lecture.

THE Egleston Medal of the Columbia University Engineering Schools Alumni Association has been awarded to Thomas H. Chilton, director of the technical division of the engineering department of E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, Wilmington, Del., for "distinguished engineering achievement." The award is made in recognition of "outstanding achievements in the discovery and formulation of principles underlying the unit operations of chemical engineer-