ing at 10:45. The annual luncheon for members and guests of the Sigma Pi Sigma, held in conjunction with the spring meeting of the society, will be given at 12:15 o'clock on Friday, April 30.

FIRST CHARLES L. MAYER AWARD OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE FUND

Dr. Charles B. Huggins, professor of surgery at the University of Chicago, has been selected as the recipient of the prize of \$2,000 given by Dr. Charles L. Mayer and administered by the National Science Fund of the National Academy of Sciences. The award was offered for the most outstanding contribution made during 1942 to present-day knowledge of factors affecting the growth of animal cells with particular reference to human cancer, and as a new type of prize for the advancement of fundamental scientific research administered under a new type of philanthropic foundation.

The advisory committee assisting the National Science Fund in selection of the prize winner consisted of Dr. George H. Whipple, dean of the School of Medicine and Dentistry of the University of Rochester, Nobel prize winner in medicine (joint award) in 1934; Dr. R. R. Williams, chemical director of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, discoverer of Vitamin B₁; Dr. Alan Gregg, director for the medical sciences of the Rockefeller Foundation, and Elihu Root, Jr. The committee decided that the 1942 award should go to Dr. Huggins for his studies of the human prostate, with special relation to the cancers taking origin from this gland. Dr. Huggins has shown that certain hormones ("chemical messengers" produced by the body), which regulate the normal activities of prostatic cells, have a marked influence as well on many of the cancers that derive from them. By the utilization of this knowledge he has been enabled to control the growth of the cancers and of such secondary tumors as may already have formed in distant organs. These discoveries have large theoretical as well as practical implications.

Dr. William J. Robbins, chairman of the National Science Fund and director of the New York Botanical Garden, said that formal presentation of the award will be made to Dr. Huggins later this spring at the annual dinner meeting of the board of directors of the fund. Dr. Robbins also announced that a second Charles L. Mayer award of \$2,000 for an outstanding study made in the same field in 1943 will be given and that entries and recommendations for consideration for this award should be in the office of the National Science Fund, 515 Madison Avenue, New York City, by January 15, 1944. He also emphasized that the advisory committee is interested primarily in fundamental studies on the factors influencing growth of

animal cells rather than applications to any particular aspect of normal or abnormal growth.

ELECTION OF FELLOWS OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY

THE Royal Society, London, on March 18 elected the following scientific men into the Fellowship:

Bhatnagar, Shanti Swarupa, Kt. Director of scientific and industrial research, India. Distinguished for his numerous contributions to physical chemistry, more especially to magneto-chemistry. As professor of chemistry in the University of the Punjab he built up a flourishing school of research. Since the outbreak of war he has organized a new scientific department of the Government of India.

Buxton, Patrick Alfred. Director of the department of entomology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. Distinguished for his researches in medical entomology with special reference to the conditions under which insects responsible for the transmission of diseases multiply and the measures which must accordingly be adopted for their control.

Daly, Ivan de Burgh. Professor of physiology, Edinburgh. Distinguished as an originator of essential items of modern physiological technique and for his important contributions to the physiology of the circulation in the lungs and the bronchial tubes.

Edgell, John Augustine, K.B.E. Vice-Admiral R.N. Hydrographer of the Royal Navy. Distinguished for the organization and encouragement of work in tidal research, in determining gravity at sea and in magnetic and electric survey of the oceans.

Ewins, Arthur James. Director of research, May and Baker Ltd. Distinguished for his chemical and biochemical researches. His work in organizing an industrial research laboratory has led to the production of some of the most important synthetic remedies in recent years.

Felix, Arthur. Bacteriologist, Lister Institute. Distinguished for his contributions to serology and bacteriology. He is particularly associated with the Weil-Felix reaction for the diagnosis of typhus fever and with the antigenic analysis of bacteria.

Fleming, Alexander. Professor of bacteriology, St. Mary's Hospital. Distinguished for his contributions to bacteriology, immunology and chemotherapy. His work includes the very important discoveries of lysozyme and penicillin.

Fox, John Jacob. Government chemist. Distinguished for his application of physical methods to the discovery of the structure of chemical substances and for his work on new analytical methods and chemical processes.

Greaves, William Michael Herbert. Astronomer Royal for Scotland. Distinguished for his contributions to stellar spectro-photometry and for the discussion of the color temperatures of early type stars.

Harland, Sidney Cross. Plant breeder. Distinguished for his contributions to the study of genetics and especially of the cotton plants. His researches have not only been of practical value for tropical agriculture but have led to