Bliss, the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Père Artheme Dutilly, missionary-scientist of the Oblate Missions and the Catholic University of America; Dr. Edwin G. Conklin, president, American Philosophical Society, and also president of Science Service; Dr. H. L. Dryden, president, Institute of the Aeronautical Sciences, and Dr. Marshall H. Stone, president, American Mathematical Society.

The Science Talent Search is conducted annually by the Science Clubs of America, sponsored by Science Service, and the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company. The Westinghouse Company provides the scholarships as an inspiration to scientific achievement in America.

The eight young scholars who received \$400 Westinghouse Science Scholarships were: Charles Poultney Perot, 17, Lancaster, Pa.; Thomas Richard Quermann, 17, Clarksburg, W. Va.; Josiah Macy, Jr., 17, Warrenton, Va.; Donald Rosswell Harris, 17, Johnstown, Pa.; William Weidman Piper, 17, Columbus, Ohio; Henry Hiram Kohl, 16, Newburgh, N. Y.; Elizabeth Ann Lean, 17, Shorewood, Wis.; and Virginia Ellen March, 16, Madison, Wis.

THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

THE election of officers for 1943 was delayed because of cancellation of the New York meeting. By a mail ballot of the council, a procedure that is valid under the constitution of the association, the following were elected. It was necessary to take a second ballot for president, since no person received a majority vote.

VICE-PRESIDENTS OF SECTIONS

Mathematics (Section A): F. D. Murnaghan, the Johns Hopkins University.

Physics (Section B): J. W. Beams, the University of Virginia.

Chemistry (Section C): Arthur J. Hill, Yale University. Astronomy (Section D): Otto Struve, Yerkes Observa-

tory. Geology and Geography (Section E): John K. Wright,

American Geographical Society. Zoological Sciences (Section F): Carl R. Moore, the

Zoological Sciences (Section F): Carl R. Moore, the University of Chicago.

Botanical Sciences (Section G): W. J. Robbins, the New York Botanical Garden.

Anthropology (Section H): Robert H. Lowie, the University of California.

Psychology (Section I): Herbert Woodrow, the University of Illinois.

Social and Economic Sciences (Section K): F. Stuart Chapin, the University of Minnesota.

Historical and Philological Sciences (Section L): Henry E. Sigerist, the Johns Hopkins University.

Engineering (Section M): Thorndike Saville, New York University.

Medical Sciences (Section N): Paul D. Lamson, Vanderbilt University.

Agriculture (Section O): R. E. Buchanan, Iowa State College.

Education (Section Q): Harold F. Clark, Columbia University.

MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

J. McKeen Cattell, editor of SCIENCE, Lancaster, Pa.

Burton E. Livingston, professor emeritus, the Johns Hopkins University.

Kirtley F. Mather, Harvard University.

ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Lawrence K. Frank, National Resources Planning Board, Washington, D. C.

Paul C. Kitchin, the Ohio State University.

In accordance with the constitution, the following section committeemen were elected by the respective sections for a four-year term expiring at the close of the meeting of December-January, 1946–1947:

Mathematics: G. Baley Price, University of Kansas.

Physics: Elmer Hutchisson, 35 W. 57th St., New York, N. Y.

Chemistry: R. M. Burns, Bell Telephone Laboratories.

Astronomy: Jason J. Nassau, Case School of Applied Science.

Geology and Geography: Ralph H. Brown, University of Minnesota.

Zoological Sciences: Clarence L. Turner, Northwestern University.

Botanical Sciences: Walter F. Loehwing, University of Iowa.

Anthropology: Julian H. Steward, Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution.

Psychology: H. E. Burtt, the Ohio State University.

Social and Economic Sciences: Frederick F. Stephan, War Manpower Commission, Washington, D. C.

Historical and Philological Sciences: Conway Zirkle, University of Pennsylvania.

Medical Sciences: Dallas B. Phemister, University of Chicago.

Agriculture: Emil Truog, University of Wisconsin. Education: Edward S. Evenden, Columbia University.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Vaughan Research Award in Horticulture for the best paper presented before the American Society for Horticultural Science and published in its *Proceedings* in 1942 has been made in the field of vegetable crops to Dr. O. A. Lorenz and Dr. J. E. Knott, of the University of California at Davis, for their paper entitled "Studies of Graywall of Tomato," which appeared in Volume 40. This award of \$500