It possesses broad significance as another link in the chain of accumulating evidence indicating general similarity of many metabolic processes in diverse forms of life.

Dr. Wood's first contribution to this field was made in 1935, and he is one of the pioneers in opening a new avenue of study in bacterial physiology. Throughout these investigations Dr. Wood has shown himself to be a skilful and versatile investigator bringing to the solution of his problem methods and technics from several fields of scientific endeavor.

COMMITTEE ON APPLIED MATHEMATICAL STATISTICS OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

THE Committee on Applied Mathematical Statistics of the National Research Council and its subcommittees will be concerned with problems involving personnel and organization, research and production. The services which it is prepared to render are consultation, assistance in the organization and direction of special research projects and the preparation of necessary manuals on statistical techniques.

At present, the committee is particularly interested in the use that industries and government agencies may make of statistical quality control in production. Those industries and government agencies that have been making use of statistical quality control find that it has been possible to reduce the quantity of defective material, the amount of necessary inspection, reduce the tolerance range where necessary in order to save material, and attain assurance that the quality of material that can not be inspected one hundred per cent. because of the destructive nature of the test will meet the standard specified. The general oversight of this phase of the work of the committee is in charge of Dr. Walter Shewhart.

The membership of the committee and subcommittees is as follows:

Committee on Applied Mathematical Statistics:

Luther P. Eisenhart, Chairman. (Chairman of the Division of Physical Sciences.)

Edward U. Condon, Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company.

Lowell J. Reed, School of Hygiene and Public Health, the Johns Hopkins University.

C. F. Roos, Institute of Applied Econometrics, Inc., 500 Fifth Avenue, New York City.

W. A. Shewhart, Bell Telephone Laboratories, Incorporated.

Hugh M. Smallwood, United States Rubber Company, Eau Claire, Wisconsin.

John M. Stalnaker, Princeton University.

S. S. Wilks, Princeton University.

Sewall Wright, Department of Genetics, the University of Chicago.

Liaison members:

Victor Perlo, Office of Price Administration.

Commander Lybrand Smith (retired), Navy Department

Herbert Stein, War Production Board.

Lieutenant Colonel John D. Witten, War Department.

Subcommittee on Mathematical Statistics:

S. S. Wilks, Chairman.

Churchill Eisenhart, University of Wisconsin.

W. Edwards Deming, Bureau of the Census.

Subcommittee on Biology:

Sewall Wright, Chairman.

Chester I. Bliss, Yale University.

John W. Gowen, Iowa State College.

George W. Snedecor, Iowa State College.

Subcommittee on Chemistry:

Hugh M. Smallwood, Chairman.

Warren F. Busse, B. F. Goodrich Company, Akron, Ohio.

Henry Eyring, Princeton University.

Oscar K. Rice, University of North Carolina.

Felix L. Yerzley, Pioneer Instrument Division, Bendix Aviation Corporation, Bendix, N. J.

Subcommittee on Medicine:

Lowell J. Reed, Chairman.

John W. Fertig, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University.

Hugo Muench, Rockefeller Foundation.

Margaret Merrell, School of Hygiene and Public Health, the Johns Hopkins University.

Alan E. Treloar, School of Medicine, University of Minnesota.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Ray Lyman Wilbur, chancellor of Stanford University, received on February 1 at the annual national dinner meeting of the American Social Hygiene Association, of which he is president, the William Freeman Snow Medal "for distinguished service to humanity." The medal was awarded "in recognition of the outstanding work he has done to protect American youth from the ravages of social disease."

Dr. M. E. Weeks and Jack Todd, of the Kentucky Agricultural Experiment Station, will receive the King Award for the most meritorious paper presented for 1942 by the Kentucky Academy of Science for their paper, "The Determination of Magnesium as the Quinolate Using the Colorimetric Ferric Chloride Method."

STANLEY FIELD has been reelected president of Field Museum of Natural History and has begun his thirtyfifth consecutive year of service in that office.

Professor W. D. Cairns, of Oberlin College, has been elected president of the Mathematical Association of America. Professor C. C. MacDuffee, of