entirely upon the physical geography and climate of the time of their deposition." Contemporary deposits thus may have different facies. The recognition of the contemporarity of such different facies is the supreme test of the stratigrapher. He not only must know his fossils and lithology but also the fundamental facts of sedimentation and of the historical geology of the area as well.

For those who have worked in the area and know something of its difficulties, it is heartening to note Dr. Butts's recognition of many such contemporaneous facies: for example, in the Cambrian the transi-

THE INDIANA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE Indiana Academy of Science held its fiftyeighth annual meeting on October 29–31, at the University of Notre Dame near South Bend, Indiana. Sectional meetings in botany, chemistry, geology and geography, psychology and zoology were scheduled and a total of 54 scientific papers were presented. Following the annual dinner on Friday evening, Dr. Melvin G. Mellon, of Purdue University, delivered an address as retiring president entitled "Science, Scientists and Society." He emphasized the responsibility of the scientist to society not only in his special field of work but in all his contacts with others.

The officers of the academy, elected to serve for the year 1943, are: President, Theodor Just, University of Notre Dame; Vice-president, Charles L. Porter, Purdue University; Secretary, Winona Welch, DePauw University; Treasurer, William P. Morgan, Indiana Central College; Editor, Prentice D. Edwards, Ball State Teachers College; Press Secretary, C. Mervin Palmer, Butler University. As chairmen of the various technical sections: Anthropology, G. K. Neumann, Indiana University; Bacteriology, L. S. McClung, Indiana University; Botany, Arthur T. Guard, Purdue University; Chemistry, Edward Hughes, Eli Lilly and Company; Geology and Geography, Wallace T. Buckley, Indiana University; Mathematics, Will E. Edington, DePauw University; Physics, O. H. Smith, DePauw University; Psychology, W. A. Kerr, R.C.A., Indianapolis; Zoology, Raymond M. Cable, Purdue University. It was decided to hold the 1943 meeting at Indianapolis.

The Junior Academy of Science held its twelfth annual meeting on Saturday, with high-school students and teachers in charge of exhibits, reports and business meetings. James Sarasien, a student of Elmhurst High School, Fort Wayne, Ind., presided as president.

C. M. PALMER, Press Secretary tional equivalents of the Copper Ridge and of the Elbrook dolomites; the varying facies of the Blount group of the Ordovician; and the changing facies of the Devonian and Mississippian beds.

In this day of highly mechanized style it is worthy of note that the bulletin is written in beautiful English, printed in well-chosen type, on semi-gloss paper and illustrated by superb photography and reproduction. The two volumes are models for scientific publications in geology.

Ellis W. Shuler

SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

## SOCIETIES AND MEETINGS

## THE TEXAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE annual meeting of the Texas Academy of Science was held at A. and M. College, College Station, on November 12 to 14.

Fifty-two papers were read before the five sections of the Senior Academy. In addition to these sectional programs two symposia of five papers each were held. L. W. Blau was chairman of a symposium on "Conservation and Utilization of the Natural Physical Resources of Texas." Walter P. Taylor led a symposium on "Conservation and Use of Natural Biological Resources in Time of War." Both the Collegiate and the Junior divisions held business meetings and conducted programs on November 14.

Three special addresses were delivered before the Academy at this meeting. Following a luncheon on Friday, Captain H. A. Hammer, Chemical Warfare Service, U. S. Army, spoke on "Science in Relation to our Armed Forces." On the same occasion Dean Chauncey Leake, of the University of Texas Medical School, discussed "Mechanism of Action of Ordinary War Gases." Professor Henry B. Ward, of the University of Illinois, spoke, following the annual banquet on Friday evening, on "Utilization and Conservation of Biological Resources."

The following officers were elected for the coming year: President, Frederick A. Burt; Executive Vicepresident, W. R. Woolrich; Vice-president of Section I, Paul C. Witt; Vice-president of Section II, C. S. Smith; Vice-president of Section III, C. A. Nichols; Vice-president of Section IV, Frederick B. Plummer; Vice-president of Section V, Gordon Gunter; Treasurer, Father James E. Norton; Editor, L. W. Blau. The assistant secretary, G. E. Potter, and the secretary are serving the second year of two-year terms.

The executive council voted to hold the next annual meeting at the University of Texas in Austin.

LEO T. MURRAY, Secretary