REGISTRATION IN THE NATIONAL ROSTER

Dr. J. S. NICHOLAS, of Yale University, National Research Council representative on the National Roster of Scientific and Professional Personnel, has sent to Science further results of its questionnaire, giving registration as of September 2.

	$Number \\ mailed$	$Number\ returned$
Agronomy and soil sciences	manca	1,105
Anatomy	835	653
Animal husbandry		719
Bacteriology	3,763	2,243
Biology	80	25
Botany	2,200	1,449
Chemistry	100,741	68,918
Dairy science		1,196
Fish and wildlife research		318
Forestry and range management	5,463	4,147
Genetics	2,084	1,073
Geology	7,599	4,032
Geophysics	4,370	2,057
Horticulture		764
Mathematics	12,092	6,926
Mycology	·	19

Nutrition	513	301
Pharmacology	354	229
Physics and astronomy	13,712	9,831
Physiology	1,045	694
Plant pathology		909
Psychiatry	1,115	830
Tropical medicine	912	461
Veterinary bacteriology		149
Veterinary science		5,310
Zoology and entomology	7,916	4,639

In the previous month's report on the registration in the National Roster (Science, 96: 2486, 175), due to the system of main headings employed, the agricultural fields were not listed separately. They are still partly covered by other groups, but this is due to individual choice of the society members in filing their questionnaires. In recircularizations which are now taking place as speedily as possible, it is hoped that each individual will indicate his main field of endeavor and request the technical check list most applicable to his field. Accuracy in personal evaluation is a necessity for the correction of roster figures. The cooperation of scientific men is solicited.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

CHARLES EDWARD WILSON, president of the General Electric Company, has been named a vice-chairman of the War Production Board. Gerard Swope, president of the General Electric Company from 1922 to 1939, now director and honorary president, will resume the presidency.

The Caldwell Medal of the American Roentgen Ray Society for distinguished work in cancer research was presented on September 15 at the New York meeting to Dr. Cornelius Packard Rhoads, director of the Memorial Hospital for the Treatment of Cancer in New York City.

The Borden achievement award for distinguished contributions to poultry science has been given to Vigfus S. Asmundsen, associate professor of poultry husbandry at the University of California. The award, which is for accumulated research over a period of seven years, rather than for a single piece of work, carries with it a gold medal and \$1,000. Ordinarily the medal is conferred at the annual meeting of the Poultry Science Association, but since that meeting has been cancelled this year, the presentation has been arranged by Dean C. B. Hutchison, of the College of Agriculture at Davis. A representative of the Borden Milk Company will present the medal, at a time to be set later.

Dr. Karl F. Meyer, director of the Hooper Foundation of the University of California, San Francisco,

was chosen president-elect at the Seattle meeting of the Western Branch of the American Public Health Association. He succeeds Dr. Donald G. Evans, Seattle, who was installed as president.

DAVID T. POTTINGER, associate director of the Harvard University Press, has been elected an honorary vice-president of the American Institute of Graphic Arts.

Officers of the American Psychological Association have been elected as follows: President, John E. Anderson; Council of Directors, Sidney L. Pressey, Robert H. Seashore; Treasurer and Business Manager of Publicity, Willard L. Valentine; Nominees for Representatives on the National Research Council, John E. Anderson, Arthur G. Bills, Hadley Cantril; Representative on the Social Science Research Council, Walter S. Hunter.

LIEUTENANT COMMANDER C. M. LOUTTIT, U.S.N.R., was elected president of the American Association for Applied Psychology on September 4 at the sixth annual meeting held in New York City. Dr. Alice I. Bryan, Columbia University, was made executive secretary.

Paul M. Dunn, who has been since 1935 head of the work in forestry at Utah State College, has been elected dean of the School of Forestry of Oregon State College. He succeeds Acting Dean Earl G. Mason, who has served since the retirement of the