## SOCIETIES AND MEETINGS

## THE VIRGINIA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The twentieth annual meeting of the Virginia Academy of Science was held in Roanoke on May 7, 8 and 9, with Dr. George W. Jeffers, Farmville State Teachers College, presiding. There were 483 registered and 192 papers presented in the 10 sections, a new one for bacteriologists having been organized this year.

Dr. J. D. Schumacher, co-chairman of the local committee, presided as toastmaster at the annual banquet and Dr. W. H. Sebrell, of the National Institute of Health, was the principal speaker. Dr. R. N. Jefferson, of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute, was awarded the Jefferson Prize for an outstanding paper, "The Influence of Carbon Tetrachloride on the Toxic Efficiency of Certain Volatile Compounds." An engrossed scroll was presented to Dr. Roy J. Holden for long and constructive service as professor of geology at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute. The scroll was presented to Dr. Holden on behalf of his many friends by Dr. E. C. L. Miller, secretary of the academy since its organization.

The following officers were elected for the coming year: Dr. Marcellus H. Stow, of Washington and Lee, president; Dr. E. C. L. Miller and Dr. Sidney S. Negus, of the Medical College of Virginia, secretary-treasurer and assistant secretary, respectively; Dr. Arthur Bevan, state geologist, and Dr. John H. Yoe, new members of the council; W. Catesby Jones, chief chemist for the state department of agriculture, president-elect.

While the senior academy members were meeting at the Hotel Roanoke, 192 members of the junior academy met at the Jefferson Senior High School. The theme for this meeting was "Science in National Defense" and was developed through a science exhibit, two radio broadcasts, motion pictures, a lecture on chemical warfare and talks by members of the senior academy.

Of the fifteen exhibits, one on "Photomicrography" by students of the Andrew Lewis High School, Salem, was awarded first prize. Science club members of Jefferson Senior High School won second prize with an exhibit of minerals and Arlington High School pupils took third prize with an exhibit, "Fun with Trees." Newly elected officers of the Junior Academy are William Garth, Jefferson High School, president; Hope Christian, Appomattox High School, vice-president; Byron Stokes, Warren County High School, Front Royal, secretary.

SIDNEY S. NEGUS

## THE SOUTHEASTERN SECTION OF THE BOTANICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

THE third annual summer meeting of the South-

eastern Section of the Botanical Society of America was held on June 12, 13 and 14 at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, with 44 members and visitors participating.

The program, arranged by Dr. Samuel L. Meyer and Dr. Stanley A. Cain, of the University of Tennessee, featured the botanical attractions and activities of the Knoxville region. First the party toured the T. V. A. forestry laboratories and tree crop nurseries at Norris. After luncheon at the Norris Dam, the group returned to Knoxville for an inspection of the Tennessee Agricultural Experiment Station. For the evening program, Dr. Cain presented "The Tertiary Nature of the Southern Appalachian Forests," and Dr. A. J. Sharp, of the University of Tennessee, showed "Highlights of the Southern Appalachian Flora" with Kodaslides.

The second day was spent in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. One party hiked through virgin hardwood forests to Ramsey Falls, while others climbed Brushy Mountain, a part of Mt. LeConte. The botanists' dinner was held that evening at the Mountain View Hotel, Gatlinburg. Dr. W. H. Camp, of the New York Botanical Garden, delivered the invitational lecture, "The Origin and Genetic Structure of Species, with Special Reference to the Flora of the Southeastern States."

The program for the last day was an auto excursion through the Smokies. The botanists were welcomed at the park headquarters by Mr. Arthur Stupka, park naturalist, and were shown the park herbarium. The party then continued past New Found Gap to Clingman's Dome.

Dr. Julian H. Miller, of the University of Georgia, chairman of the section, presided at the business meeting on Friday evening. A set of proposed by-laws for the section was worked into suitable form and adopted, pending approval by the council of the society. The question of the place of botanists in the war effort, both civilian and military, was discussed. It was suggested that all helpful information on the subject be turned over to the secretary for distribution to the membership of the section.

The following officers for the section were elected for the coming year: Chairman, Dr. O. E. White, University of Virginia; Secretary, Dr. K. W. Hunt, College of Charleston; Committee on Activities, Dr. S. L. Meyer, University of Tennessee, chairman, Dr. F. A. Wolf, Duke University, and Dr. G. T. Weber, University of Florida.

Kenneth W. Hunt, Secretary