on "Corrosion," in charge of Dr. R. M. Burns, of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, New York City. In addition to technical papers presented at the various sections, one morning session was devoted to "Electrochemical Research."

At the banquet on Thursday, President Raymond R. Ridgway spoke on "Crystal Gazing with War Time Illumination." The award of the Weston fellowship to William E. Roake was announced at the dinner. Mr. Roake will work on the glass electrode under Professor Malcolm Dole at Northwestern University. There was also announced the award of the "Young Authors" prize to Dr. Edward Adler, of the College of the City of New York, who recently received the doctorate of philosophy at Columbia University, for two papers that were presented at the Cleveland convention a year ago on "Photovoltaic Effect" and "Semi-Conductor Photocells and Rectifiers."

Officers of the society elected for the coming year are: President, E. M. Baker, University of Michigan; Vice-presidents, R. B. Mears, Aluminum Company of America, New Kensington, Pa.; J. A. Lee, Chemical and Metallurgical Engineering, New York City; and C. L. Mantell, United Merchants and Manufacturers' Management Corporation, New York City. Dr. Colin G. Fink, of Columbia University, is secretary of the society.

The next meeting will be held in Detroit from October 7 to 10.

THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

THE National Academy of Sciences held its regular annual meeting at Washington in the building of the

academy and the National Research Council on April 27 and 28.

The meeting was devoted entirely to matters concerning the present work of the academy, consideration of possible changes in its structure and operation, and with the election of officers and new members. There were no sessions for the presentation of scientific papers and no social functions, except a smoker for members on Monday evening.

Officers and new members of the academy were elected as follows:

Foreign Secretary (to succeed L. J. Henderson, deceased): Walter B. Cannon, Harvard Medical School.

Members of the Council: A. N. Richards to succeed himself; G. W. Corner to succeed C. A. Kraus.

Foreign associate: Robert K. S. Lim, Peiping Union

Medical College.

Members of the academy:
Homer Burton Adkins, University of Wisconsin.
Lyman James Briggs, National Bureau of Standards.
Hans Thacher Clarke, Columbia University.
Ralph Erskine Cleland, Indiana University.
Charles Haskell Danforth, Stanford University.
Albert Einstein, Princeton, N. J., foreign associate of the academy since 1922.
Conrad Arnold Elvehjem, University of Wisconsin.
Michael Heidelberger, Columbia University.
John Gamble Kirkwood, Cornell University.
Paul Dyer Merica, 67 Wall Street, New York, N. Y.
Thomas Midgley, Jr., Worthington, Ohio.
Francis Dominic Murnaghan, the Johns Hopkins University.

John Torrence Tate, University of Minnesota.

Alfred Marston Tozzer, Harvard University.

Ernest Edward Tyzzer, Harvard Medical School.

Selman Abraham Waksman, Agricultural Experiment Station, New Brunswick.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Herty Medal of the department of chemistry of the Georgia State College for Women at Milledge-ville has been awarded to Dr. Townes R. Leigh, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences of the University of Florida, in recognition of "distinguished services as a teacher and of his research in plants and soil." At the presentation of the medal Dr. Leigh will make an address, entitled "The Spirit of Science."

Dr. Rudolph Matas, professor of general and chemical surgery emeritus at the Tulane University of Louisiana, has been presented with the Medal of Havana, the highest distinction conferred by that city, in commemoration of the anniversary of the birth of Dr. Carlos I. Finlay, of Havana, Cuba.

At a recent meeting of the Cleveland Medical Library Association a portrait of Dr. William E. Bruner, professor emeritus of ophthalmology at Western Reserve University, was presented to the association, and an alcove in the library was named for him.

Former students of Professor Arthur S. Watts, chairman of the department of ceramic engineering of the Ohio State University, honored him at the Ohio State Ceramic Alumni dinner in Cincinnati on April 22. At the dinner, which is held each year during the annual meeting of the American Ceramic Society, the establishment of the Arthur S. Watts Fund was announced. This fund, for which \$1,400 has so far been received, will when completed be used as a scholarship or loan fund for students in the department of ceramic engineering at the Ohio State. Professor Watts was presented with a book containing letters of greetings, congratulations and appreciation from more than two hundred of his former students.

Among the recipients of honorary degrees conferred