of the National Research Council, studying aviation medicine, sound control in vehicles, aircraft pilot selection and training and night vision. He is chairman of its Emergency Committee in Psychology. He is also chairman of the National Research Council Committee on Problems of Neurotic Behavior.

Robert M. Yerkes, professor of psychobiology, is expert consultant to the War Department and a member of the National Research Council's Emergency Committee in Psychology.

Carl I. Hovland, assistant professor, is co-author of the intelligence tests used by the Navy Air Corps in selecting candidates. He is unofficial adviser and consultant in aviation testing both in this country and in Canada. In addition, under the auspices of the War Production Board, Hovland is statistician and industrial psychologist for a group studying working arrangements in war industries. He has recently been appointed expert consultant to the Secretary of War.

## THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF NATURALISTS

At the recent Dallas meeting of the American Society of Naturalists, officers were elected as follows: Dr. Ralph E. Cleland, professor of biology and chairman of the department, Indiana University, president; Dr. L. C. Dunn, professor of zoology, Columbia

University, vice-president for the next year, and Dr. Malcolm R. Irwin, professor of genetics, College of Agriculture, University of Wisconsin, treasurer for three years. Dr. A. C. Kinsey, Indiana University, continues as secretary for a period of three years.

At the same meeting, the following persons were elected members of the society on account of outstanding achievement in biological research:

B. G. Anderson, Western Reserve; P. B. Armstrong, Syracuse, L. G. Barth, Columbia; F. A. Beach, American Museum of Natural History; Charles M. Breder, Jr., New York Aquarium and American Museum; J. W. Buchanan, Northwestern; W. Burrows, Chicago; D. P. Costello, North Carolina; J. N. Couch, North Carolina; P. S. Galtsoff, U. S. Bureau of Fisheries; V. Hamburger, Washington; A. Hollaender, U. S. Public Health Service; Clay G. Huff, Chicago; Libbie H. Hyman, American Museum of Natural History; George W. Kidder, Brown; L. H. Leonian, West Virginia; Howard S. Liddell, Cornell; N. E. McIndoo, U. S. Bureau of Entomology; Clarence P. Oliver, Minnesota; Roberts Rugh, New York; F. O. Schmitt, Washington; G. L. Stebbins, Jr., California; Ivon R. Taylor, Brown; H. B. Tukey, Cornell; B. W. Wells, North Carolina State College; E. T. Wherry, Pennsylvania; D. M. Whitaker, Stanford; Truman G. Yuncker, De Pauw.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. WILLIAM J. GIES, professor emeritus of biochemistry at Columbia University, was the recipient on his seventieth birthday on February 21 of congratulatory messages from dental organizations throughout the nation. Dr. Gies was the organizer of the International Association for Dental Research, founder of the Journal of Dental Research, director of the Carnegie Foundation Study of Dental Education in the United States and Canada and a leader in the organization of the American Association of Dental Schools.

A LIFE fellowship in the Thomas A. Edison Foundation for the Advancement of Science and Education has been conferred upon Dr. Robert Gordon Sproul, president of the University of California. The award is given to "only a few outstanding Americans in the fields of medicine, science, art and education, who have made some real contribution to human welfare."

The 1942 Hillebrand Award of the Washington, D. C., Section of the American Chemical Society was presented to Dr. Michael X. Sullivan, director of the Chemo-Medical Research Institute of Georgetown University, in recognition of his work in measuring important chemical constituents in living organisms. The presentation ceremony was held on March 12 at the Cosmos Club, Washington, D. C.

THE three hundred and eleventh meeting of the

Washington Academy of Sciences was held on March 19 at the Cosmos Club. The meeting was devoted to the presentation by the academy of its awards for scientific achievement for 1941. These are: For the Biological Sciences, G. Arthur Cooper, U. S. National Museum, "in recognition of his distinguished service in invertebrate paleontology, notably for his discovery of anatomical structures hitherto unknown"; for the Engineering Sciences, Theodore R. Gilliland, National Bureau of Standards, "in recognition of his distinguished service in originating automatic ionosphere recordings of continuously variable radio frequencies"; for the Physical Sciences, Sterling B. Hendricks, U. S. Bureau of Plant Industry, "in recognition of his distinguished service in determining the constitution of micaceous and other complex minerals."

At the annual dinner in New York on March 13 of the Society of Automotive Engineers, the Wright Brothers Medal was awarded for last year's "outstanding contribution to aeronautical knowledge" to Samuel J. Loring, vibration engineer for the Vought-Sikorsky division of United Aircraft. Dr. J. C. Hunsaker, chairman of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, presented the award to Mr. Loring, whose paper on high-speed flutter in aircraft was read before the society a year ago.