already committed to teaching or research as a career were given fellowships for advanced medical study.

Aid for rural public health services was concentrated in four southern states: Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama and Oklahoma. In the first of these the fund has been active for seventeen years. In four counties in Tennessee, three in Mississippi and one in Oklahoma local health departments have been built up to a point where they illustrate the value of adequate staffing and a planned program, and, with direct and indirect aid from the fund, the technical and administrative services of the state health departments have been strengthened. The state health laboratory of Oklahoma, for example, did 50 per cent. more work in the first six months of 1941 than in all of 1938. Progress in the control of tuberculosis by artificial pneumothorax and of gonorrhea by sulfonamide therapy marked the work of the county health departments to which the fund gives financial or technical assistance.

No new hospital award was made this year, but a community hospital at Pittsfield, Ill., was completed and one at Mt. Pleasant, Mich., was begun. The capacity of a hospital at Kingsport, Tenn., was doubled, the cost being divided between the fund and the community. The twelve hospitals already in service under this program were used almost to normal working capacity and their earned income rose faster than their operating expenses. At several hospitals visiting instructors from leading medical schools stimulated staff education through long informal clinical institutes.

Mrs. Edward S. Harkness is honorary president of the Commonwealth Fund. Malcolm P. Aldrich is president; the board of directors now includes Mr. Aldrich, Phil W. Bunnell, Samuel H. Fisher, George Welwood Murray, Dean Sage and William E. Stevenson.

## STALIN PRIZES

In 1941, several outstanding Soviet scholars and mathematicians received Stalin Prizes for scientific contributions made during the last six or seven years.

The Stalin Prizes were established in honor of the sixtieth birthday of Joseph Stalin in 1939. They are divided into three classifications: 1st prize, 100,000 rubles; 2nd prize, 50,000 rubles; 3rd prize, 25,000 rubles.

The Soviet mathematicians receiving first prizes were:

Vinogradov, Ivan Metveyevich, member of the Academy of Science of the USSR, for his work published in 1937, entitled "A New Method in the Analytical Theory of Numbers."

Gelvich, Petr. Augustovich, Major General of Artillery, professor of the Artillery Academy of the Red Army, for his scientific works: "On Dispersion, Prob-

ability of Hits, and Mathematical Anticipation of the Number of Hits," published in 1934; "Theoretical Fundamentals for the Elaboration of Gunnery Rules," published in 1936; and "Firing at Rapidly Moving Targets," published in 1940.

Kapitza, Peter Leonidovich, member of the Academy of Science of the USSR, for his work "Turbodetander for Obtaining Low Temperatures and Its Application for Obtaining Liquid Air," published in 1939.

Muskhelishvili, Nikolai Ivanovich, member of the Academy of Science of the USSR, professor of the State University in the city of Tbilisi, for his work published in 1935, "Some Basic Problems in the Mathematical Theory of Elasticity."

Mathematicians receiving second prizes were:

Alikhanov, Abram Issaakovich, member correspondent of the Academy of Science of the USSR, and Alikhanian, Artem Issaakovich, scientific worker of the Physico-Technical Institute of the Academy of Science of the USSR, for their scientific work on radio published in 1936, 1938 and 1940.

Kholmogorov, Andrei Nicolayevich, member of the Academy of Science of the USSR, and Khinchin, Alexander Yakovlevich, member correspondent of the Academy of Science of the USSR, professors at the Moscow State University, for their scientific works on the theory of probability: "Asymptotic Laws of the Theory of Probability," published in 1936, "On Analytical Methods in the Theory of Probability," published in 1938, and "Limit Laws of the Sums of Independent Chance Quantities," published in 1938.

Pontriagin, Lev Semenovich, member correspondent of the Academy of Science of the USSR, professor of the Moscow State University, for his work published in 1938, "Topological Groups."

Sobolev, Sergei Ljvovich, member of the Academy of Science of the USSR, professor of the Moscow State University, for his works on the mathematical theory of elasticity: "Some Questions in the Theory of the Expansion of Vibrations," published in 1937, and "On the Theory of Non-Linear Hyperbolic Equations with Partial Derivatives," published in 1939.

## THE INTER-AMERICA BUREAU OF THE NEW YORK ACADEMY OF MEDICINE

The New York Academy of Medicine, realizing the responsibility of North American physicians in the advancement and dissemination of knowledge of the medical sciences in the Western Hemisphere, has organized an Inter-America Division whose purpose is to cultivate friendship, understanding and sympathy with the medical men in other countries of the Americas.

It is pointed out that the present war has dimmed the light of the medical sciences in many, if not all, of