Members of the associated societies are urged to submit their titles and abstracts to their secretary at once to meet the requirements of the Joint Program Committee.

## AWARD OF THE WILLIAM H. NICHOLS MEDAL

DR. DUNCAN A. MACINNES, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, has been awarded the 1942 William H. Nichols Medal of the New York Section of the American Chemical Society in recognition of his "outstanding investigations on electrolytes and the development of techniques which have immeasurably enriched both the theory and practice of modern electrochemistry." His researches have contributed to the development of the glass electrode, widely used in industry. He has also made important investigations in the field of biological chemistry.

According to the statement given out by the jury of award

For many years Dr. MacInnes has been engaged in fundamental researches on the theory of solutions, and his precise studies have furnished much of the information which we now possess on the behavior of electrolytic solutions. He was one of the pioneers in studying the properties of the glass electrode and in establishing the conditions under which this very useful device may be used for the precise measurement of hydrogen ion concentration.

On the basis of these studies the electrode is now a recognized and dependable device which finds wide industrial use. More recently, Dr. MacInnes and his associates at the institute have turned their interest to the motion of biologically important solutions in an electric field and their experimental investigations in electrophoretic phenomena have greatly increased our knowledge of the protein content of the blood serum. These more recent investigations and the successful results are largely based on Dr. MacInnes's earlier studies on simpler inorganic systems.

The presentation will be made at a meeting of the New York Section on March 6. Founded in 1902 by the late Dr. William H. Nichols, a charter member of the American Chemical Society and chairman of the board of the Allied Chemical and Dye Corporation, the medal is awarded annually to "stimulate original research in chemistry."

Previous recipients of the award were: John M. Nelson, Phoebus A. Levene, Joel H. Hildebrand, Irving Langmuir, James Bryant Conant, Frank C. Whitmore, William M. Clark, Charles A. Kraus, Hugh S. Taylor, Julius A. Nieuwland, Gilbert N. Lewis, Charles L. Parsons, Claude S. Hudson, Marston T. Bogert, Henry C. Sherman, Roger Adams, William A. Noyes, Thomas Midgley, Samuel C. Lind, Leo H. Baekeland, H. C. P. Weber, Edward C. Franklin, M. A. Rosanoff, C. W. Easley, T. B. Johnson, Charles James, M. H. Walker, M. B. Bishop, E. B. Voorhees, William L. Evans, Moses Gomberg, Samuel E. Sheppard, John A. Wilson and Dr. Linus Pauling, head of the division of chemistry and chemical engineering at California Institute of Technology.

Members of the 1942 medal jury in addition to Professor MacTavish were Professor Louis P. Hammett, of Columbia University; Dr. Robert Calvert, consulting chemist and chemical patent attorney; Professor Ralph H. Muller, of New York University, chairman of the section, and Dr. Cornelia T. Snell, secretary.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

At the thirty-second annual dinner of the Radio Club of America on November 1, the fourth award of the Armstrong Medal for "outstanding contributions to the radio art" was made to Harry William Houck. The citation reads: "After assisting at the birth of the superheterodyne in Armstrong's (Major Edwin H. Armstrong, of Columbia University, inventor of the superheterodyne receiver and father of the current FM system) wartime laboratory in Paris he designed the second-harmonic superheterodyne, first type to be placed in large commercial production. Radio receivers operating from alternating current power lines leaned heavily on the technique, designs and inventions of the medalist."

A TESTIMONIAL dinner in honor of Dr. George H. Meeker, dean emeritus of the Graduate School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania, was given on September 29, marking his retirement as dean. Dr. George M. Coates was chairman, and Dr. George Morris Piersol, toastmaster. Dr. Thomas S. Gates, president, and Dr. Alfred N. Richards, vicepresident for medical affairs, spoke for the university; Dr. William R. Nicholson for the Graduate School, and Dr. George E. Pfahler for the Medico-Chirurgical College of Philadelphia, where Dr. Meeker taught before the school was taken over by the university.

DR. GILBERT H. CADY, senior geologist and head of the Coal Division of the Illinois State Geological Survey, was honored at a testimonial dinner in Urbana on the evening of September 27, immediately following the close of the fiftieth anniversary celebration of the University of Chicago, in which Dr. Cady had led the symposium on coal geology. The occasion was in recognition of his thirty-five years of service