spective society; and such additional representatives of the six "organizing" societies as may be requested by the Executive Committee of the Engineers' Defense Board.

The activities of the Engineers' Defense Board will be administered by an Executive Committee consisting of (a) a chairman, a vice-chairman and a secretary, elected by the other members of the Executive Committee and (b) one representative of each of the six societies heretofore named, appointed by the governing body of their respective societies. The officers need not be representatives of any of the participating societies.

## THE MONTHLY SCIENCE NEWS OF THE BRITISH COUNCIL

THE British Council has formed a Science Committee under the chairmanship of Sir William Bragg, director of the Royal Institution, with the object of strengthening relations between British scientific men and those abroad, and to encourage mutual understanding of their problems and achievements.

The other members of the committee are Professor P. M. S. Blackett, the first to photograph the artificial disintegration of an atom; Professor J. D. Cockcroft, who first disintegrated atoms by machinery; Sir Robert Robinson, the eminent chemist who has contributed to the knowledge of natural coloring matters, among other groups of substances; Dr. C. F. A. Pantin, who has made studies of the movements of Amoeba; Sir Edward Mellanby, known for his work on vitamins A and D; Rear-Admiral Gordon Gordon-Taylor, a surgeon; Sir William Larke, a leading engineer; Sir Edward Appleton, an authority on radio waves and discoverer of new conducting layers in the higher atmosphere; Dr. A. P. M. Fleming, director of research of the Vickers Electrical Company; C. D. le Maistre, an authority on engineering standards, and Professor R. V. Southwell, a designer of aircraft structures and investigator of the theory of elasticity.

The committee has begun the publication of the Monthly Science News letter, giving a survey of current scientific developments under the editorship of J. G. Crowther, the secretary of the committee, science writer, author of "British Scientists of the Nineteenth Century," "The Social Relations of Science" and other books on general science.

## THE CONTRIBUTION OF HARVARD UNI-VERSITY TO NATIONAL DEFENSE

ACCORDING to *The Harvard Alumni Bulletin* President Conant has been spending two days a week in Washington during the summer as chairman of the National Defense Research Committee and expects to continue on approximately the same schedule during the winter. Many members of the faculty are engaged in part-time service on a variety of defense duties, and a number of others have been relieved from university duties to respond to the call of the government. A number of these, particularly from the scientific departments or the Schools of Medicine and Public Health, are engaged in laboratories in Cambridge, or elsewhere, on confidential work.

Among those on full-time duty on defense activities away from the university are: K. T. Bainbridge, associate professor of physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; R. H. Cole, instructor in physics, Navy Yard, Washington, D. C.; E. M. Purcell, faculty instructor in physics, Radiation Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; T. E. Sterne, lecturer on astrophysics, 1st Lieutenant, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland; J. C. Street, associate professor of physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; D. B. Dill, professor of industrial physiology and consulting physiologist to the Department of Hygiene, Major, Aero-Medical Research Unit, Wright Field, Dayton, Ohio; H. H. Aiken, associate professor of applied mathematics and faculty instructor in physics and communication engineering, Lieutenant Commander, U. S. N. R., Naval Mine Warfare School, Yorktown, Va.; J. P. Den Hartog, associate professor of applied mechanics; Lieutenant Commander, U. S. N. R., Bureau of Ships, Navy Department, Washington, D. C.

## THE HUNDRED AND SEVENTY-FIFTH ANNIVERSARY OF THE FOUNDING OF RUTGERS UNIVERSITY

THE hundred and seventy-fifth anniversary of the founding of Rutgers University was celebrated on October 8, 9 and 10. The celebration opened with an address by Dr. Roscoe Pound, from 1915 to 1936 dean of the Harvard Law School, who was from 1892 to 1903 director of the Nebraska Botanical Survey. He was followed by Dr. Karl T. Compton, president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

A number of symposia were held in the afternoon. Dr. Vannevar Bush, president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, and Robert W. Trullinger, of the U. S. Department of Agriculture, took part in the symposium on applied science. Governor Charles Edison was the principal speaker at the New Jersey dinner on October 9.

Dr. Hugh Stott Taylor, of Princeton University, presided on Friday when Dr. Irving Langmuir, of the General Electric Company, and Professor E. O. Lawrence, of the University of California, took part. President Clarence Dykstra, of the University of Wisconsin, made an address on Saturday.

Among the honorary degrees conferred at the anniversary convocation on October 11 were the following: