Journal of Physical Chemistry: Dr. Leason H. Adams, director of the Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington; Professor R. S. Livingston, of the University of Minnesota.

Chemical Reviews: Norman D. Scott, of E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, Sanborn, N. Y.; Professor Warren C. Johnson, of the University of Chicago.

Dr. B. L. Clarke, of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, New York City, and Thomas R. Cunningham, of the Union Carbide and Carbon Company, Niagara Falls, N. Y., have been named to the advisory board of the analytical edition of *Industrial and Engineering Chemistry*.

THE SCIENTIFIC CONFERENCE IN LONDON

THE International Conference arranged by the British Association for the Advancement of Science opened in London on September 26, with a message from the Prime Minister, and there was read later a message from King George VI. John G. Winant, United States Ambassador, presided over the first session, and later sessions were presided over by the Soviet Ambassador, Ivan Maisky, and Dr. Eduard Beneš, president of the Czech Government in exile.

The meeting was opened by Sir Richard Gregory, president of the British Association, editor of *Nature* from 1919 to 1939, who at the concluding session presented a seven-point charter of scientific principles which was adopted. As cabled to *The New York Times*, it reads:

(1) Liberty to learn, the opportunity to teach and the power to understand are necessary for the extension of knowledge and we, as men of science, maintain that they can not be sacrificed without the degradation of human life.

(2) Communities depend for their existence, survival, knowledge and advancement on the knowledge of themselves and of the properties of things in the world around them.

(3) All nations and all classes of society have contributed to the knowledge and utilization of natural resources and to the understanding of the influence they exercise on human development.

(4) The basic principles of science depend on independence combined with cooperation and are influenced by the progressive needs of humanity.

(5) Men of science are among the trustees of each generation's inheritance of natural knowledge. They are bound, therefore, to foster and increase that heritage by faithful guardianship and service to high ideals.

(6) All groups of scientific workers are united in the fellowship of the commonwealth of science which has the

world for its province and the discovery of truth as the highest aim.

(7) The pursuit of scientific inquiry demands complete intellectual freedom and unrestricted international exchange of knowledge and can only flourish through the unfettered development of civilized life.

HONORARY DEGREES CONFERRED AT THE FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICAGO

THE scientific papers in the symposia on "New Frontiers in Education and Research," given on the occasion of the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the University of Chicago held in cooperation with the American Association for the Advancement of Science, were followed by a convocation on September 29 at which honorary degrees were conferred. Those in science, according to the advance announcement, were as follows:

Charles E. Allen, professor of botany, the University of Wisconsin, discoverer of sex chromosomes in plants.

Charles H. Best, professor and chairman of the physiology department at the University of Toronto, co-discoverer of insulin.

George D. Birkhoff, professor of mathematics at Harvard University, leading contributor to the fundamentals of dynamics.

Reginald A. Daly, professor of geology at Harvard University, authority on the origin of rocks and glaciers.

Edward A. Doisy, professor of biological chemistry at St. Louis University, noted for his identification of pure female hormone and two types of vitamin K.

Ernest W. Goodpasture, professor of pathology at Vanderbilt University, inventor of new methods of studying disease viruses.

Evarts A. Graham, professor of surgery at Washington University, St. Louis, nationally recognized for his contributions to the technique of modern surgery.

Libbie Hyman, member of the American Museum of Natural History in New York, noted for her contributions to the life processes of animals and internationally recognized as an authority on invertebrate zoology.

Herbert S. Jennings, professor emeritus of zoology at the Johns Hopkins University, authority on the behavior of simple forms of animal and plant life.

Karl S. Lashley, professor of neuropsychology at Harvard University, famous for his investigations of brain mechanisms.

Ernest O. Lawrence, professor of physics at the University of California, Nobel Laureate, inventor of the cyclotron, making possible sub-atomic chemistry.

Robert H. Lowie, professor of anthropology at the University of California, authority on the American Indian.

Robert A. Millikan, chairman of the executive council of the California Institute of Technology, Nobel Laureate, measurer of the electron and authority on cosmic rays.

Carlos A. Monge, dean and professor of medicine at the University of San Marcos, Lima, Peru, discoverer of