Training and will be administered in the U. S. Office of Education by the same staff that has been handling the Engineering Defense Training, except that specialists in the new fields are being added.

The Advisory Committee has been enlarged by the addition of Dr. Homer L. Dodge, head of the department of physics and dean of the Graduate School of the University of Oklahoma; Dr. Clare E. Griffin, dean of the School of Business Administration of the University of Michigan, and Dr. N. W. Rakestraw, professor of chemistry at Brown University. No change is contemplated in the regional advisers. One institutional representative will, as heretofore, be named by each participating institution.

RESEARCH IN INDUSTRY

THERE was published in the last issue of SCIENCE a statement concerning the report of the survey of industrial research transmitted to the Congress by the National Resources Planning Board. The Committee on Survey of Research in Industry was composed of the following:

F. W. Willard, chairman, president, Nassau Smelting and Refining Company; C. L. Alsberg, director, Giannini Foundation of Agricultural Economics, University of California; C. H. Bailey, professor of agricultural chemistry and vice-director, Agricultural Experiment Station, University of Minnesota; Herbert A. Baker, president, American Can Company; Henry A. Barton, director, American Institute of Physics; L. W. Bass, assistant director, Mellon Institute of Industrial Research; Carl Breer, director of research, Chrysler Corporation; O. E. Buckley, president, Bell Telephone Laboratories, Incorporated; G. H. A. Clowes, research director, Eli Lilly and Company; W. D. Coolidge, director of research, General Electric Company; F. G. Cottrell; M. H. Eisenhart, president, Bausch and Lomb Optical Company; Charles N. Frey, director, Fleischmann Laboratories; George R. Harrison, professor and director of the research laboratory of experimental physics, Massachusettts Institute of Technology; Maurice Holland, director, Division of Engineering and Industrial Research, National Research Council; Harrison E. Howe, editor, Industrial and Engineering Chemistry; Jerome C. Hunsaker, professor of aeronautical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Martin Ittner, research director, Colgate-Palmolive-Peet Company; Frank B. Jewett, vice-president, American Telephone and Telegraph Company; John Johnston, director of research, United States Steel Corporation; Virgil Jordan, president, National Industrial Conference Board; F. T. Litchfield, consulting engineer and assistant vice-president, Wells Fargo Bank and Union Trust Company; L. W. Wallace, director, Division of Engineering and Research, Crane Company; E. R. Weidlein, director, Mellon Institute of Industrial Research; Frank C. Whitmore, dean of the School of Chemistry and Physics, Pennsylvania State College; R. R. Williams, chemical director, Bell Telephone Laboratories, Incorporated.

Members of the Science Committee of the National Resources Planning Board are:

Edwin B. Wilson, chairman, professor of vital statistics, School of Public Health, Harvard University; Arthur L. Day, vice-president, National Academy of Sciences; David L. Edsall, dean of Harvard School of Public Health, emeritus; Edward C. Elliott, president, Purdue University; Ross G. Harrison, chairman, National Research Council, and professor of biology, Yale University, emeritus; Dugald C. Jackson, professor of electrical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, emeritus; Charles H. Judd, dean of the Division of Education, University of Chicago, emeritus; Dexter M. Keezer, president, Reed College; Waldo G. Leland, director, American Council of Learned Societies; Charles R. Morey, Marquand professor of art and archeology, Princeton University; William F. Ogburn, professor of sociology, University of Chicago.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. GILBERT N. LEWIS has retired from the administrative duties of dean of the College of Chemistry and chairman of the department of chemistry of the University of California. He will continue as professor of chemistry. Professor Wendell M. Latimer has been appointed dean of the college; Professor Joel H. Hildebrand, chairman of the department, and Professor C. W. Porter, director of the laboratory.

DR. CLYDE FISHER, curator-in-chief of astronomy and director of the Hayden Planetarium of the American Museum of Natural History, who has been a member of the scientific staff for twenty-eight years, retired on August 1 and will become honorary curator of astronomy and honorary director of the planetarium. He will be succeeded by William H. Barton, Jr., who has been executive curator of the plane-tarium.

DR. JAMES B. HERRICK, professor of medicine emeritus of Rush Medical College, has been elected an honorary member of the Cardiac Society of Great Britain and Ireland.

DR. NORMAN R. STOLL, associate member of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, Princeton, N. J., received recently the degree of doctor of science from Mount Union College, Alliance, Ohio.

PROFESSOR J. L. MYRES and Professor R. M. Dawkins, formerly presidents of the Society for the Promotion of Hellenic Studies, went from Oxford to Boar's Hill, the home of Sir Arthur Evans, to present