RECENT DEATHS

DR. EDWARD KREMERS, until his retirement with the title of emeritus in 1935 professor of pharmaceutical chemistry at the School of Pharmacy of the University of Wisconsin, died on July 9. He was seventy-six years old. Dr. Kremers was director of the courses in pharmacy at the university from 1899 to 1935 and was pharmaceutical chemist at the Experiment Station from 1912 to 1935.

Dr. Edgar Albert Burnett, chancellor emeritus of the University of Nebraska, died on June 28. He was seventy-five years old. Dr. Burnett was dean of the College of Agriculture and director of the Experiment Station until 1928 when he became chancellor of the university.

Dr. Carl Edward Magnusson, professor of electrical engineering and dean emeritus of the College of Engineering of the University of Washington, died on July 10 at the age of sixty-nine years.

HOWARD HACKEDORN, since 1918 professor and head of the department of animal husbandry at the

State College of Washington, died on June 30. He was fifty-six years old.

JOSEPHINE CURTIS FOSTER, professor in the Institute of Child Welfare at the University of Minnesota since 1926, died on July 3 at the age of fifty-two years.

Dr. Robert Robison, head of the department of biochemistry of the Lister Institute and professor of biochemistry at the University of London, died on June 18 at the age of fifty-seven years.

Dr. Victor Jollos, formerly of the Kaiser Wilhelm Institut für Biologie, Berlin-Dahlem, known for his work on heredity and genetics, died on July 5 at the age of fifty-three years. Dr. Jollos was visiting professor of zoology and genetics at the University of Wisconsin from 1934 to 1937. Before going to Madison he served on the faculties of the Universities of Berlin, Munich and Cairo.

The death on March 17 is announced of Professor W. Vogt, professor of anatomy in the University of Munich, known for his work on embryology of the Amphibia.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Professor Roswell P. Angier retired on June 30 as chairman of the department of psychology and associate dean of the Graduate School, Yale University. A portrait of Professor Angier was presented to the university on June 10 by a group of present and past colleagues and students. The portrait was painted by Professor Deane Keller, of the Yale School of Fine Arts, and has been hung in the reception hall-way of the department of psychology.

M. L. Wilson, director of extension service in the U. S. Department of Agriculture, has been appointed director of nutrition by Paul V. McNutt, Federal Security Administrator. Mr. Wilson will aid Mr. McNutt in his work as coordinator of health, welfare and related defense activities and will be in charge of nutrition activities.

The College of Physicians of Philadelphia has awarded the Alvarenga Prize to Dr. John J. Bittner, of the Roscoe B. Jackson Memorial Laboratory, Bar Harbor, Maine, "in recognition of his distinguished studies on cancer." This prize was established by the will of Pedro Francisco DaCosta Alvarenga, of Lisbon, Portugal, an associate fellow of the College of Physicians, to be awarded annually by the college on each anniversary of the death of the testator, July 14, 1883, "to the author of the best memorial upon any branch of medicine, which may be deemed worthy of the prize."

THE University of Königsberg has awarded to Professor Otto Hahn, director of the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute for Chemistry, Berlin-Dahlem, the Copernicus Prize for 1941 for his work on radioactivity.

Dr. Allan Palmer, instructor in obstetrics and gynecology at the School of Medicine of the University of California, has been elected a foreign associate of the Physiological Society of Great Britain.

Nature reports that Dr. Max Nonne, professor of neurology at the University of Hamburg, on the occasion of his eightieth birthday was awarded the Goethe Medal for Art and Science.

Townes R. Leigh, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, University of Florida, received the honorary degree of doctor of science at the recent commencement exercises of the John B. Stetson University. The degree was awarded in recognition of his "long and distinguished service as professor of chemistry."

The University of Arkansas conferred recently the honorary degree of doctor of science on Dean E. J. Kyle, of the School of Agriculture of the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas at College Station.

Nominations for officers of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers for 1942 include for *President*, James W. Parker, vice-president in charge of engineering, Detroit Edison Company; for *Vice-pres-*