enjoyment the outstanding example of Sonoran desert in the United States;

· WHEREAS, The area has been prospected for generations, without producing important mines and no mines are being operated therein to-day;

WHEREAS, The enactment of legislation opening this national monument to prospecting and mining under these circumstances would be a negative approach to the problems of an important and unique public reservation, which, by virtue of its situation on the international boundary between Mexico and the United States, has scientific and cultural possibilities of international importance;

Therefore, be it Resolved, That the American Society of Mammalogists, comprising a membership of about 1,000 scientists and educators, at its annual conference, June 12, 1941, petitions the Congress of the United States not to enact the Murdock and Hayden bills, which would result in impairment of this great public reservation, but petitions the Congress to appropriate sufficient funds to, provide the protection and facilities required to put the Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument to its highest public use.

OFFICERS OF THE SOCIETY FOR RESEARCH ON METEORITES

THE council of the Society for Research on Meteorites, an affiliated organization of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, as elected for the 1941–45 term at the eighth meeting of the society held in Flagstaff, Ariz., on June 23, 24 and 25, is as follows:

President: Dr. Lincoln La Paz, Ohio State University. Vice-presidents: Dr. F. R. Moulton, Smithsonian Institution Building, Washington, D. C.; Dr. Charles P. Olivier, Flower Observatory, University of Pennsylvania; Dr. L. J. Spencer, London.

Secretary: Dr. C. H. Cleminshaw, Griffith Observatory and the University of Southern California, Los Angeles. *Treasurer*: Major L. F. Brady, Mesa Ranch School,

Mesa, and the Museum of Northern Arizona, Flagstaff.

Editor: Dr. Frederick C. Leonard, University of California at Los Angeles.

Councilors: Professor Earle G. Linsley, Chabot Observatory and Mills College, Oakland, Calif.; Dr. Howard A. Meyerhoff, Smith College; Oscar E. Monnig, Texas Observers, Fort Worth, Texas; Dr. F. A. Paneth, University of Durham, England; Stuart H. Perry, Adrian Telegram, Michigan; Professor J. Hugh Pruett, University of Oregon; Dr. Fred L. Whipple, Harvard College Observatory.

The president during the 1937-41 term, Dr. H. H. Nininger, Colorado Museum of Natural History and the American Meteorite Laboratory, Denver, is *ex* officio a councilor during the 1941-45 term.

THE BIRTHDAY HONORS CONFERRED BY THE KING OF ENGLAND

Nature prints the names of scientific men and others

associated with scientific work that appear in the King's Birthday Honors List. These include:

Baron: F. A. Lindemann, personal assistant to the Prime Minister, professor of experimental philosophy, Oxford.

G.B.E.: Viscount Nuffield.

K.C.B.: Sir George Gater, permanent Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies and secretary, Ministry of Home Security, formerly clerk and education officer to the London County Council.

K.C.M.G.: Frank Gill, for services in development of the telephone industry and of international telephony; Dr. H. H. Scott, director of the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases, London.

Knights Bachelor: Colonel A. S. Angwin, engineerin-chief, General Post Office; R. W. Gillespie, a founder of the Fairbridge Farm Schools in Australia; Professor J. P. V. Madsen, professor of electrical engineering, University of Sydney, and chairman of the Radio Research Board, Australia; Dr. P. H. Manson-Bahr, for services to tropical medicine and as consulting physician to the Colonial Office; K. G. Mitchell, consulting engineer (roads), India; E. B. Pratt, managing director, Imperial Chemical Industries (India), Ltd.; Professor J. B. S. Stopford, vice-chancellor, University of Manchester.

C.B.: C. A. Taylor, regional director, London Telecommunications, General Post Office; F. A. Whitaker, civil engineer in chief, Admiralty.

C.M.G.: The Honorable F. E. Harris, Minister of Agriculture and Lands, Minister of Supply, Industry and Post-war Development, Southern Rhodesia; Dr. S. A. Neave, assistant director, Imperial Institute of Entomology; Dr. H. A. Tempany, agricultural adviser to the Secretary of State for the Colonies.

C.I.E.: W. Meiklejohn, senior conservator of forests, Bengal; C. F. C. Beeson, forest entomologist and conservator, Government of India.

C.B.E.: Professor F. C. Bartlett, professor of experimental psychology at the University of Cambridge and a member of the Flying Personnel Research Committee; Major G. P. Bulman, director of engine development and production, Ministry of Aircraft Production; W. Deacon, president of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; W. A. Elder, principal veterinary and agricultural officer, Swaziland; R. H. Franklin, assistant secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries; Dr. J. A. Glover, lately senior medical officer, Board of Education; P. Good, deputy director, British Standards Institution; M. T. Tudsbery, civil engineer to the British Broadcasting Corporation; Dr. R. Wilson, Commonwealth statistician and economic adviser to the Treasury, Australia.