and senior consultant of the priorities division of the Office of Production Management, and on Edward R. Stettinius, Jr., director of the priorities division of the Office of Production Management.

AT the commencement exercises on June 8 of the Iowa State College, the degree of doctor of laws was awarded to Robert Emery Neff, superintendent of hospitals for the State University of Iowa, for "outstanding work in the field of hospital administration." Henry J. Brunnier, of San Francisco, received the Marston Medal in recognition of his contribution to the structural safety of buildings and bridges of the Pacific Coast—particularly the San Francisco-Oakland Bridge.

THE doctorate of science was conferred at the commencement of New York University on Dr. John Joseph Morehead, consulting surgeon of the New York Post-Graduate Medical Hospital, and on Dr. George Barclay Wallace, professor of pharmacology and therapeutics and director of the pharmacological laboratories of the New York University College of Medicine. The doctorate of public health was conferred on Dr. William Edgar Caldwell, professor of clinical obstetrics and gynecology at Columbia University, and on Dr. Frederick Clark Holden, professor emeritus of obstetrics and gynecology in the New York University College of Medicine.

DEATHS AND MEMORIALS

DR. OWEN LOUIS SHINN, professor of applied chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania, died on June 10 at the age of sixty-nine years. He had been associated with the university as a student and faculty member for more than fifty years.

DR. SIDNEY ARMOR REEVE, of New York City, con-

sulting engineer, retired, from 1898 to 1916 professor of steam and hydraulic engineering at the Worcester Polytechnic Institute, died on June 12 at the age of seventy-five years.

CHARLES WHITING BAKER, consulting engineer, retired, since 1911 commissioner of the Palisades Interstate Park, died on June 5 at the age of seventy-six years.

LORIN EVERETT IMLAY, electrical engineer, director of statistics of the Niagara Hudson Power Corporation, who was associated with the Pioneer Tunnel Power Development at Niagara, died on June 10. He was seventy-six years old.

DR. JULIUS FRIEDENWALD, professor emeritus of gastro-enterology at the Medical School of the University of Maryland, a member of the faculty for more than forty years, died on June 8 at the age of seventy-four years.

DR. WILBUR HARRINGTON NORCROSS, professor of psychology at Dickinson College, Carlisle, Pa., died on June 11. He was fifty-eight years old.

LELAND MASON WILLEY, purchasing agent and accountant for the General Electric Company, Schenectady, N. Y., died on May 21 at the age of fifty-eight years.

IN memory of Professor Louis H. Pammel, whose death in 1931 ended a period of forty years of service in Iowa State College, a tract of woodland in the college grounds was dedicated on June 7 as Pammel Park. Preserving the natural beauty of the land, it will especially commemorate Mr. Pammel's zeal and devotion in the cause of conservation throughout the state.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. FREDERICK WHARTON RANKIN, surgeon, of Lexington, Ky., was elected at the Cleveland meeting president of the American Medical Association.

DR. WALTER S. LANDIS, vice-president of the American Cyanamid Company, has been elected president of the Chemists' Club, New York. Dr. Edward A. Dieterle, consulting gas and chemical engineer, has been elected president of the Chemists' Club, Chicago.

NATIONAL officers of the American Association of Scientific Workers for 1941–1942 have been elected as follows: *President*, Professor Anton J. Carlson, University of Chicago; *Vice-presidents*, Professor C. Fayette Taylor, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Watson Davis, Science Service; Professor Ralph W. Gerard, University of Chicago; Professor Edward C. Tolman, University of California at Berkeley; Treasurer, Professor H. Burr Steinbach, Columbia University; Secretary, Dr. Harry Grundfest, Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research. In the Chicago branch, the new officers are: Professor R. W. Gerard, president; Professors R. S. Mulliken and E. S. G. Barron, vice-presidents; Professor B. F. Miller, president-elect; Dr. Zelma Baker, recording secretary; Dr. Albert Dorfman, corresponding secretary; M. Silver, treasurer. The new officers of the New York branch are: Professor Walter Rautenstrauch, chairman; Dr. Oscar Bodansky, treasurer; Miss Doris P. Flavelle, secretary.

THE Revere Award of \$5,000 has been given to Eugene Phillips in recognition of his invention of a blind-landing system for aeroplanes. The award was presented to him at a dinner given in his honor on