Vice-president for Class II	S Burt Wolbach
Vice-president for Class III	Sidney B. Fay
Vice-president for Class IV	Fred N. Robinson
Corresponding Secretary	Abbott P. Usher
Recording Secretary	Hudson Hoagland
Treasurer	Horace S. Ford
Librarian	Frederick H. Pratt
Editor	Robert P. Blake

Thirty-five fellows and two foreign honorary members were elected as follows:

Fellows

Mathematical and Physical Sciences: Edward Lindley Bowles, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology-George Whiteley Coggeshall, Cambridge; Charles Stark Draper, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Charles Edward Kenneth Mees, Eastman Kodak Company, Rochester, N. Y.; Isidor Isaac Rabi, Columbia University; Reinhold Rüdenberg, Harvard University; Harry Boyer Weiser, Rice Institute, Houston, Texas; Fred Lawrence Whipple, Harvard College Observatory; Ralph Chillingworth Young, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Vladimir Kosma Zworykin, R. C. A. Manufacturing Company, Camden, N. J.

Natural and Physiological Sciences: Fuller Albright, Harvard Medical School; Alan Mara Bateman, Yale University; Walter Bauer, Harvard Medical School; Arthur Johnson Eames, Cornell University; Alan Richards Moritz, Harvard Medical School; Francis Otto Schmitt, Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.; Chester Stock, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena.

Social Sciences (including Administration and Affairs): Godfrey Lowell Cabot, Boston; Frederic Adrian Delano, Washington, D. C.; Carl Rupp Doering, Harvard School of Public Health; Erwin Nathaniel Griswold, Harvard Law School; Earl Jefferson Hamilton, Duke University; Hajo Holborn, Yale University; Edward Godfrey Huber, Harvard School of Public Health; Gaetano Salvemini, Harvard University; Francis Trow Spaulding, Harvard School of Education; A. Eugene Stanley, Fletcher School, Tufts College; Robert Ulich, Harvard School of Education; Laurence Leathe Winship, managing editor, The Boston Globe.

The Humanities: Warren Ortman Ault, Boston University; Giuseppe Antonio Borgese, University of Chicago; Archibald Thompson Davison, Harvard University; William E. Lingelbach, University of Pennsylvania; Walter Hamor Piston, Jr., Harvard University; James Bissett Pratt, Williams College.

FOREIGN HONORARY MEMBERS

Bernardo Alberto Houssay, University of Buenos Aires, and Jan Sibelius, Helsinki.

RECENT DEATHS AND MEMORIALS

Dr. Arthur Comings Langmuir, research and consulting chemist of New York, died on May 14 at the age of sixty-nine years.

Dr. Frank Albert Hayes, professor of soil science in the College of Agriculture at the University of Nebraska, in charge of soil surveys in the central northern Great Plains division of the Soil Survey, U. S. Department of Agriculture, died on May 13 at the age of forty-nine years.

Madison Monroe Garver, professor of physics at the Pennsylvania State College, died on May 11. He had been a member of the faculty from 1893 to 1925. He was also librarian in the School of Chemistry and Physics.

Dr. George Martin Hall, head of the department of geology of the University of Tennessee, who had also long been a member of the U. S. Geological Survey, died on April 28 at the age of forty-nine years.

Dr. Allen Kramer Krause, lecturer in medicine in the Johns Hopkins University, previously until his retirement in 1937 clinical professor of medicine in the Medical Schools of Stanford University and the University of Southern California and president of the Desert Sanatorium at Tucson, Ariz., known for his work on tuberculosis, died on May 12 at the age of sixty years.

Dr. Harry Nichols Whittford, manager for the last sixteen years of the crude rubber department of the Rubber Manufacturers' Association, Incorporated, who was from 1916 to 1923 professor of tropical forestry at Yale University, died on May 16 at the age of sixty-nine years.

Dr. Bruce Mayne, special expert, U. S. Public Health Service, died on April 30 at the age of fifty-eight years. Since 1931 he had been in charge of the Malaria Research Laboratory at Columbia, South Carolina

Dr. W. M. Scorr and Dr. Francis Griffith, of the British Ministry of Health, were killed in an air raid on April 16, when Dr. Griffith's house in London was directly hit by a bomb.

At the meeting of the Eastern Division of the American Philosophical Association to be held at Vassar College on December 29, 30 and 31, a plenary session in honor of the one hundredth anniversary of the birth of William James will be devoted to aspects of his work. Professors G. S. Brett, H. W. Schneider and D. C. Williams have been invited to read papers; Professor Ralph B. Perry will open the symposium with a brief appreciation of James.

In memory of the late Sir Frederick Grant Banting, a maple tree was planted on May 1 in mingled soil from several Canadian hospitals on the grounds of the Richmond Memorial Hospital, Prince Bay, S. I., as a part of National Hospital Day ceremonies. Dr. Milton Sills Lloyd, president of the medical staff, was in charge of the planting.