of the whole series of Gibson Island conferences. For the program and other details, see the *News Edition* of the American Chemical Society, April 10.

The demand for a new organization arises from the fact that x-ray and electron diffraction researches are scattered widely among various fields—chemistry, physics, mineralogy, metallurgy and others. The society will presumably sponsor meetings or conferences at which its members can get together and discuss their methods and mutual problems. The National Research Council Committee recommends to the society that it do not start a new journal at this time, but that it consider the possibility again at the end of the present emergency, in the event that the Zeitschrift für Kristallographie and the Strukturbericht remain Nazified or cease to exist. In the meantime, we suggest that, if the details can be worked out satisfactorily, the society distribute reprints of papers in its field by its members to its members.

Other possible function of the society, including some closely connected with the national defense program, will doubtless be considered by the officers and by the membership at the Gibson Island meeting.

> Maurice L. Huggins, Chairman, National Research Council Committee on X-Ray and Electron Diffraction

KODAK PARK, ROCHESTER, N. Y., MAY 15, 1941

THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE TRUSTEES OF SCIENCE SERVICE

At the annual meeting of the trustees of Science Service on May 1 Dr. Edwin G. Conklin, executive vice-president of the American Philosophical Society and professor emeritus of biology at Princeton University, was reelected president. Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory, was reelected vice-president and chairman of the executive committee of the board. O. W. Riegel, director of the Lee School of Journalism at Washington and Lee University, was reelected treasurer.

Frank R. Ford, editor of the Evansville, Indiana, Press, was elected a member of the governing board of trustees. Other Science Service trustees are: Dr. C. G. Abbot, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution; Dr. J. McKeen Cattell, editor of Science; Dr. Ross G. Harrison, Yale University; Dr. H. E. Howe, editor of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry; Dr. W. H. Howell, the Johns Hopkins University; A. H. Kirchhofer, managing editor of the Buffalo Evening News; Dr. R. A. Millikan, California Institute of Technology; H. L. Smithton, secretary of the E. W. Scripps Company; Neil H. Swanson, managing editor of the Baltimore Evening Sun; Dr. Warren S. Thompson,

Scripps Foundation for Research in Population Problems; Dr. Henry B. Ward, University of Illinois.

The trustees of Science Service are nominated by five scientific or journalistic bodies: the National Academy of Sciences, the National Research Council, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the journalistic profession and the E. W. Scripps Estate. Science Service is an institution not for profit which serves as an intermediary between the scientific world and the public. It is now in its twentieth year of operation.

MEDAL DAY AT THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

The presentation of medals by the Franklin Institute was held on the afternoon of May 21. A dinner in honor of the medalists was given in the evening. Those receiving the awards were as follows:

Certificate of Merit—Charles William Akers, president, Breeko Corporation, Nashville.

Longstreth Medal—Benjamin James Wilson, chief, mechanical division, Research Department, Leeds and Northrup Company, Philadelphia.

Wetherill Medal—Harold Stephen Black, Bell Telephone Laboratories, New York City.

Brown Medal—Willis Haviland Carrier, chairman of the board, Carrier Corporation, Syracuse.

Clark Medal—Raymond Mower Conner, director, Testing Laboratories, American Gas Association, Cleveland.

Levy Medal—John Moyes Lessells, associate professor of mechanical engineering, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Charles Winters MacGregor, associate professor of mechanical engineering, the Massachsetts Institute of Technology.

Potts Medal—Harold Eugene Edgerton, associate professor of electrical engineering, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Cresson Medal—The United States Navy, received by the Honorable Ralph A. Bard, assistant secretary of the Navy, Washington, D. C.

The Franklin Medal and Certificate of Honorary Membership—Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman, director, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, received by Sir Gerald Campbell, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary, the British Embassy, Washington, D. C.

The Franklin Medal and Certificate of Honorary Membership—Edwin Howard Armstrong, professor of electrical engineering, Columbia University.

THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, held on May 14, officers were elected for the year 1941-42:

President		Harlov	w Shapley
$Vice ext{-}presi$	dent for Class	IPercy	W. Bridgman