STATE ACADEMIES OF SCIENCE

THE annual meeting of the Ohio Academy of Science will be held at Cleveland on May 8, 9 and 10.

The fortieth annual meeting of the North Carolina Academy of Science will be held on April 25 and 26 at Chapel Hill, under the presidency of Dr. Jasper L. Stuckey, professor of geology at the State College at Raleigh.

The West Virginia Academy of Science will hold its eighteenth annual meeting on April 25 and 26 at Alderson-Broaddus College, Philippi, W. Va. The exhibit feature will be enlarged this year. There will be about thirty-five scientific and commercial exhibits. Dr. J. E. Judson, professor of biology at the West

Virginia Wesleyan College, Buckhannon, is secretary.

The spring meeting of the Indiana Academy of Science will be held on Friday and Saturday, May 9 and 10, at Cannelton, Indiana, under the presidency of Dr. Paul Weatherwax, professor of botany at Indiana University. Cannelton is located in a region of considerable historic and geologic interest, and there will be conducted field trips in botany, geology and archeology. There will be a trip to Angel Mounds, where archeological excavation is now in progress.

THE Nevada Academy of Natural Sciences was formally organized at the University of Nevada on February 19, by representative professional and amateur zoologists, botanists and geologists of the state.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. W. B. Cannon, George Higginson professor of physiology at the Harvard Medical School, will be the first recipient of the Friedenwald Medal of the American Gastroenterological Association, which meets in Atlantic City on May 5. The award is made "in recognition of his pioneer utilization of the x-rays in gastroenterology, and his important contributions to the mechanics of digestion, to the elucidation of the sensations of hunger and thirst, and to the development of the science and practice of gastroenterology."

The Priestley Medal of the American Chemical Society was presented at the St. Louis meeting to Dr. Thomas Midgley, of Worthington, Ohio, vice-president of the Ethyl Gasoline Corporation and chairman of the board of directors of the corporation. The award was made in recognition of his discovery of tetra-ethyl lead as an anti-knock agent for gasoline and for his work on refrigerants used in air-conditioning.

Dr. John R. Dunning, associate professor of physics at Columbia University, has been awarded the Ernest Kempton Adams Research Fellowship. He will continue his study with the cyclotron of the properties of atomic nuclei and the interaction of neutrons.

The University of Bristol conferred on April 12 the degree of doctor of laws in absentia on Dr. James Bryant Conant, president of Harvard University and head of the American National Research Committee, which has been visiting England.

The University of Aberdeen will confer the doctorate of laws on Professor Arthur Wellesley Falconer, M.D., principal and vice-chancellor of the University of Capetown, South Africa.

At the Chicago meeting of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists, Dr. William K. Gregory, curator of ichthyology at the American Museum of Natural History and professor of paleontol-

ogy at Columbia University, was elected president, and Dr. Harry L. Shapiro, associate curator of physical anthropology at the museum, was elected vice-president.

Dr. Henry V. Howe, professor of geology and petroleum engineering and director of the School of Geology of the Louisiana State University, has been elected president of the Society of Economic Paleontologists and Mineralogists.

Officers of the University of Cincinnati Section of Sigma Xi for the years 1941-43 are: President, Dr. Louis Brand, professor of mathematics; Vice-president, Dr. Harold Kersten, associate professor of biophysics, and Secrteary-Treasurer, Dr. S. B. Arenson, professor of inorganic chemistry.

Dr. J. P. Baumberger, professor of physiology at Stanford University, has been granted leave of absence. From April 1 to December 31 he will serve as visiting professor in cytology at Washington University and research associate in the Barnard Free Skin and Cancer Hospital, St. Louis.

LAFAYETTE COLLEGE has received a grant of \$2,700 from the John and Mary Markle Foundation to support a study of the viscosity of the blood, which is being carried out under the direction of Professor Eugene C. Bingham, research professor of chemistry, and by Dr. R. R. Roepke, research assistant.

Dr. Max Farrand, now seventy-two years old, since 1927 director of the Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery at San Marino, Calif., has resigned, his resignation to take effect on July 1. He plans to devote his entire time to research work and writing.

HENRY L. WARD, since 1902 director of the Neville Public Museum at Green Bay, Wis., has presented his resignation to take effect in May. Mr. Ward was director of the Public Museum of Milwaukee from 1902